We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Canterbury Home”
Review of Tudor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tudor House
Ranked #28 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Greenwood, SC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My Canterbury Home”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I found The Tudor House in 2000 and have stayed there every year with my group because it is simply charming! The owners, Mamad and Mazi, are wonderfully gracious hosts and do everything to insure that we have a nice stay. This 500 year-old house is quaint with many modern conveniences and all of the historical charm. This guest house is located on Best Lane inside the city center and in close walking distance to all that Canterbury has to offer. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and a great value for the money. The breakfast is delicious and cooked to order while you enjoy the beautiful decor of the breakfast room. Of course there is also wi-fi so that we can stay connected to our family and friends while on holiday. I LOVE The Tudor House and would never stay anywhere else. I can't wait to be back next spring with another group and trek back to the time of Becket, Henry II, Canterbury Cathedral, and the Tudors. Adieu until next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenwood_SCTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    22
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
35
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Spent there 2 nights and loved it, as my husband and 6 yrs old daughter did. B&B is in the very heart of the old city. The family room ("K") is clean, large and comfortable, with ensuite restroom + bathroom of exclusive usage on the same floor. Small area with armchairs and coffee/tea facilities much appreciated. Guests are adorable, exquisite, and gave us precious hints about the city (not the same hints as always, they were specific, interesting, particular). I would recommend Tudor House and I definitely hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunni47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Regardless of the good localisation and the tidiness of the place, the owner, who is also responsible to 'welcoming' the guests is a rude and nasty person.
Despite me and my colleagues (we were staying there to attend to a 3 days conference with a intense social program) had told him that would not be possible to check-in before 7pm, as they request in their thousand rules, he passed the whole time complaining about the time that we arrived.
But as it was not enough, in the last night when we arrived at the hotel after our closing party of the conference, he was awake, waiting for us just to disqualify and devalue us for the time that we arrived, for the way that we walk through the hotel, for our age and nationality!!!UNBELIEVABLE!!!!
This guy is definitely running the wrong business!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plarrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We spent the weekend with one of my best friends at the Tudor House!
The gentleman who welcomed us was very nice and explained us how everything works and gave us some handy information.
Room was very confortable and clean, but most of all we appreciate the unbeatable location! Just right in the city centre!
Full English breakfast in the morning was amazing! Congrats to the landlady!

I recommend it if you look for a traditional and charm place very well located!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieta_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkspur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Right in the center of the old part of the city, this little bed and breakfast was a jewel in a medieval crown! One could not ask for more - incredibly kind, helpful and friendly owners, clean rooms, and fantastic breakfast. It was the best value for our trip, but also one of the best memories of Canterbury!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The owners are so sweet!!!! And the breakfast was so nice & so much food. They served OJ & hot drinks & cold cereal & a whole plateful of hot food of traditional English breakfast. Plus a fresh apple at the end. Mmmm! What a great way to start the day. They also remembered how we preferred our eggs cooked the second morning. The great breakfast made the place an even better value than just the reasonably priced room. The rooms were very clean & the B&B was perfectly located. The owners also gave great suggestions for activities & seeing the cathedral for free by attending the evening song, which was enjoyable anyway. What a perfect weekend in Canterbury!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my parents for my graduation. The hotel is in a central location which makes it perfect for getting about, it even has pizza express next door if you're hungry! The rooms are very tidy and clean and fit in well with the rest of the b&b. The only downside is that it was a little bit noisey at night, but this soon died down. We probably heard it more because our room was at the front of the b&b. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning and the owners were extremely friendly and they let us check in early.
I would recommend this b&b!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseRizzo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Millers Arms
The Millers Arms
#4 of 75 in Canterbury
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White House
The White House
#6 of 75 in Canterbury
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Property: Tudor House
Address: 6 Best Lane, Canterbury CT1 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing