We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to LOTS of history”
Review of Tudor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tudor House
Ranked #30 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Frisco, TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very close to LOTS of history”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Tudor House is just a few feet from the High Street in the middle of Canterbury. We had a double room and the room and furnishings were very good. The owner was very attentive to our needs. The one shortcoming which must be recognized before making a reservation is that there is NO parking near by. If there is street construction, which during our stay, there was, you may not even be able to drive to it to drop off your luggage. Parking is nearby at a city owned car park. If you can't drive up to the Tudor House, you will have to "drag your bags" from & to the car park. Since we couldn't get to the place, the owner found us in a car park & guided us to the one nearest the B&B and helped us with our bags to and from his place. I would recommend it for anyone physically able to do that.

One cannot get any closer to the heart of Canterbury & it's many centuries of history than the Tudor House.

Room Tip: Getting to all rooms starts with, "first take your luggage up a very narrow staircase." I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    22
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
35
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in October while visiting our daughter who is at Kent Uni. Unfortunately, we had to change our booking date, but this was not a problem and we stayed on a Friday night. The owner could not have done more for us, in terms of ideas of where to visit and what was on. The breakfast was very nice to and set us up for the day very nicely. We would definitely stay again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tr0tties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Mazi, our host was most welcoming and friendly. Great location near the Cathedral, in the centre of Canterbury. Mazi was great with maps and directions for all our sightseeing. He made good suggestions for historical places to visit. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. We were on the second floor and there is no lift, however as the house was originally built in the 16th Century that lack of lift is not a surprise. Mazi did help carry up our rather heavy bags.

I loved the age of the house and it's character.

Breakfast was super, hot and lots to eat all served by our congenial host. If we are ever back in Canterbury, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front. Quiet street, no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The location of this B&B is perfect, right in the centre of the city in a quiet side street. We had a warm welcome and loved the building as soon as we saw it. It is truly traditional and very charming. The room was perfectly presented, felt clean and cared for. Had everything we needed and an iron was supplied on request. The only thing that could have been improved is the shower but it wasn't a big issue. Breakfast was amazing and service throughout was attentive to our every need. A Fantastic stay in Canterbury made even better by this brilliant B&B!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 745Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Tudor House is well situated close to the cathedral in Canterbury. There is no parking, but we were provided with a voucher and directions to a public parking lot a short distance away. When we first made arrangements we needed an extra bed in our room for a child. The hosts were concerned that we might feel cramped, but compared to some "historic" hotels on the continent, space was not really a problem. The breakfast was very nice and there was free WiFi. The only complaint would be noise at night and in the morning (which is certainly out of the hosts' control). The first night we were there, Wednesday, was very noisy until midnight with lots of tourists (pilgrims?) on the street. Then, in the morning, workmen started on the building across the street at 7AM. The strange thing though was that the next night, Thursday, was absolutely quiet. So noise is unpredictable. If you are a light sleeper, you may want a room off the street. Overall we're happy we stayed at Tudor house.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Definitely recommend Tudor House !! We had a lovely time there, received a very warm welcome from our host, had room number 4 on the second floor (very Canterbury-looking, comfy, cosy and very quiet).
Great breakfast, very complete and home made.
Next time we plan to stay in Canterbury, we know where to go :)
Thank you Mazi !!!

Room Tip: Room n.4 was perfect - nice street view + fireplace !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSJ7517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

i recently return to The Tudor House in Canterbury for my fourth annual visit. It was as good as ever. Mamad and Mazi run, a quiet, neat and tidy guest house. It is ideally located in the centre of the city. The Cathedral is a mere 5 minute walk away. The rooms are well furnished and while the facilities are shared, they are spotless and close at hand. The owners Mamad and Mazi are really friendly and hospitable. Try the Tudor house; you wont regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimgordon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White House
The White House
#7 of 75 in Canterbury
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Millers Arms
The Millers Arms
#4 of 75 in Canterbury
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Lodge
Greyfriars Lodge
#66 of 75 in Canterbury
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
#67 of 75 in Canterbury
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#40 of 75 in Canterbury
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Property: Tudor House
Address: 6 Best Lane, Canterbury CT1 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing