We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“slow service”
Review of Thyme

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thyme
Ranked #226 of 369 Restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: British, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If you’re here for the day, you should try to make time for Canterbury’s famous cathedral, as well as the less famous but equally impressive St Martin’s Church and St Augustine’s Abbey. Or you could work up an appetite for dinner at Thyme with a punt on the River Stour or some leisurely shopping on King’s Mile or Whitefriars.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
621 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“slow service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

staff very pleasant, the meals were nt that good, and the price was on the high side, we ordered our meals, and the starters came,they were quite nice mushrooms, the main meal followed about 90mins later, not very good really , the steaks were nice, the mixed grill was not so nice, would I go back , not sure, certainly won t rush back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanerobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    10
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very nice”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we visited the restaurant as we live nearby and the hotel is new to the city. we were very impressed, the waiter could not be more helpful , he was friendly and polite and looked after us very well.
The food was lovely , it was fresh , hot and tasty and the portion sizes were excellant,We also felt the prices were good value for the quality of the food. We would happily visit again and would recommend Thyme to our friends and any visitors to Canterbury

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icelady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A restaurant to avoid unless tired”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We ate here on the day we arrived at the hotel for which this is the restaurant and breakfast room. We were a little tired and chose this for convenience as it was already quite late. In retrospect a mistake as a little effort would surely have found us something better. We both had the fish and chips. Clearly not freshly made and probably pre-battered and straight out of the deep freeze. I have had much, much better fish and chips than this - just not good at all. The desserts were little better with the berries of one dessert still hard and frozen - so they definitely were out of the freezer. This is not really a restaurant in the traditional sense. They serve up poor quality pub-style food with little of no culinary content. The only thing you could say to its advantage was that it was cheap - and so it should be!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Der_Reisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was staying at the premier inn for a number of weeks with a number of colleagues, the food was really good and cooked really well. The staff were really good and payed attention too you even when they were busy. Ben/Ryan and Alice were really nice and efficient and jack and Patrick at the bar were friendly and always remembered what you drank :) highly red omen this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emjri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
388 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Average Food Overpriced”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Was staying at the Premier Inn and came here for dinner with my family. The food was average and a little overpriced for the quality. The service was very good though. Our waitress was friendly and efficient and good with the kids. Fine if you are staying in the hotel and want a quick meal but I'm sure you could do better in town, which is a five minute walk from the hotel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thyme also viewed

 
Pett Bottom, Canterbury
 
Bishopsbourne, Canterbury
 

Been to Thyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing