We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“House & Stables” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“House & Stables”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Castle House is very conveniently located for walking into the city centre as well as for travelling out for day trips (my family and I travelled to Dover and back very easily). The staff is friendly and the accommodation is quite nice. My husband and I (30s) stayed in what is clearly the converted stables of the house and my parents (60+) stayed in the main house. Their room was larger with higher ceilings and, in reality, a triple room, as it had a spare single bed, though we paid the same rate for the night. The downside was that we stayed during the May heat wave. Whilst we didn't expect air conditioning, there also weren't fans to be found (which another B&B we stayed in did have, so could be reasonably provided.) It made for some hot nights but that's hardly within the hotel's control. Our stables room was a bit hotter, as the room was a bit smaller with lower ceilings but the fun of staying somewhere with charm was certainly worth it. The rooms were clean, comfortable and pleasant. The main house room had a grand charm to it which added to the experience. The breakfast was par for the course in the lovely main house dining room, with cold options as well as a hot menu made to order. Should we find ourselves in Canterbury again, we'd likely consider staying here again; however, we'd request a room(s) in the main house. We dined at Pinocchio's Italian just down the street - convenient and delicious for dinner - and happily happened upon Canteen in the city centre for lunch. We highly recommend both restaurants which are both reviewed on Trip Advisor and worth a look.

Room Tip: After doing some price comparison, we decided to book directly with the hotel and so gained a cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrsybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    111
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
90
138
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Bearing in mind that this is a guest house this was a great place to stay. The staff were always smiling and helpful. There was ample free parking and the location is ideal for walking into the centre. We stayed in room 8 a large room on the ground floor with double glazing. The bathroom was ample with a bath and shower.The hangars were nice and the sort where the management assume you will not steal them. Another plus was the free WiFi in the bedroom
This building was a conversion from an old mansion but when it was done they did not try to crowd too many rooms in. Because of this we appreciated the space. This included large window sills in bedroom and bathroom giving plenty of room to put things on. I did not go upstairs so I cannot say anything about the other rooms.
Breakfast was served at the table and cooked to order and the quality of the ingredients and cooking was good.

Room Tip: Room 8 on the ground floor is quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This our favourite place to stay in Canterbury and we go back 2 or 3 times a year.
The staff are wonderful and always remember us.
Excellent rooms for the price - we wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissP89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I really do not want to think we had a bad experience BUT is this really a four star establishment? The toilet seat was not 'square'! the furnishings did not have a four star feel and we were not happy to find a used cotton bud in the room!
Breakfast really good and staff very polite and helpful. Car parking a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcb110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The staff here really goes all out to be helpful and friendly. The inn has lots of charm and is super clean. I would LOVE to go back here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nederdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for one night over Christmas. The hotel is very well located close the city centre and train station. The rooms are full of character and even though the hotel is close to a busy road, the windows are double glazed and there is hardly any noise. The breakfast is excellent - a real English breakfast. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My three friends and I shared a comfortable family room. Great linen on the bed, good breakfast in the morning with amiable, helpful staff. Great location just a five minute walk from the high street. Lovely, large shower room. All four of us were very impressed and thought the family room was great value for money for a weekend break. Although we were there in February we could tell that the garden would be lovely in the summer. Even a proper hairdryer was supplied We would all recommend this guest house - it felt more like a hotel than some mid-range hotels!

The TV was not tuned into digital which we thought was a little retrograde. Other than that no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Hotel

Property: Castle House Hotel
Address: 28 Castle Street, Canterbury CT1 2PT, England (Formerly Canterbury Castle House Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle House Hotel Castle House Hotel is built astride the ancient city walls of Canterbury and standing in the shadow of Henry II's Great Keep itself - reputedly the third largest in the Kingdom . This unique building is your choice for a bed and breakfast experience, steeped in history. Castle House Hotel is an architectural gem and a scheduled ancient monument. The main house was built in the 1730s, incorporating part of the Norman city walls, the Roman Worthgate, and the only visible remaining section of the original city moat, now of course drained of water. Here, surrounded by Georgian opulence and decoration of the highest standard, you are just a few minutes' short walk from the whole of the mediaeval city: the magnificent Cathedral; the maze of winding streets and the romantic ruins of the Castle and city walls... Book your room at Castle House Hotel and history and convenience will combine to make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. All our rooms have been decorated to the highest standards, benefit from en suite or private facilities, and provide you with every modern comfort from contemporary flat screen digital TV to high speed wireless broadband at no extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Castle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Castle House Guest House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing