We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location with lovely staff”
Review of Castle House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect location with lovely staff”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have just got home after a 4 night stay and we were in room 10 which is seperate from the main building. The room was lovely with everything you could need, tea coffee, tv and a very welcome fan which was very handy as it did get a bit warm, the en-suite was really big and the whole room was very clean. Breakfast was lovely and the staff will sort put pretty much whatever you want, big pots of tea and lovely toast, fresh coffee is also there. The location is perfect 10mins to the centre and cathedral. The hotel is positioned on a roundabout but this really isnt a problem its very handy actually as it picks up all of the routes. Consider buses to get around they go everywhere and very cheap no 4 to whitstable bay and the no 6 back, takes 20mins and worth a visit. Special thanks to Sarah who was very helpful and Tom in the bar. Try the Three Tuns pub 5 mins away on route to city centre for good food.

Room Tip: Its an old building with masses of character and a nice garden to sit in when the sun shines
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    116
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
93
144
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We are a family of four and had 2 nights in family room 16. When we checked in and were taken back outside to a outbuilding in the car park my heart sank but once in side I was pleasantly surprised! The quality of fittings and spaciousness of the room made up for the unpromising exterior. The kids were very impressed by the tv in the bathroom. The beds were really comfy. it was not noisy in this room as you are not backing on to the main road as you may be in the main hotel.The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were staying for a wedding and they reserved a parking space for us so we could shuttle back and forth from church/reception during the day and let us stay in the room to get ready with out disturbing us to make up the room etc.Breakfast was good too! Very handy for town centre as it is about 10 min walk max.

Room Tip: If you are a family ask for room 16!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Good : Very good staff. Breakfast very good. Excellent Internet connection.Great location.

Not so Good : Shower pressure quite poor. Very small TV for size of room. We paid £120 per night. I think £80 per night would have been more in keeping with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzanares el Real, Madrid
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A quiet and friendly hotel for a short visit. I had double room for single occupancy - would have been tight with two of us in that bed - in such a tight space! Room was nicely decorated and despite being on the main street, was quiet. The bathroom was small, but had everything and was very nice and clean. Only two moans - hairdryer was no-where near a mirror, which made things very difficult and the room was directly opposite the breakfast room, and there was a gap in the door - which although no-one could see in (I checked!) when I was in bed, I could see directly into the breakfast room - very disconcerting, and the smell of the coffee was somewhat nauseating. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating throughout my stay - I couldn't have asked for more - I will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queen04fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was a last minute booking for a 2 night stay so no surprise we did not get the best room. Ours was overlooking the main road and was a bit noisy, particularly during rush hours. Get an infacing room and you will have an excellent stay. Good sized comfortable well equipped rooms. Cotrary to Lastminute.com web site, reception is manned 24/7 and breakfast is included(and very good it is too)
Another big plus is they have parking for about a dozen cars. with local parking £1.10 per hour at anytime, this is a big bonus

Room Tip: Don't face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I travelled to Canterbury with three other girls and stayed for one night at the family room at the separate unit next to the car park.

When we were taken to the little building, I were not sure what to expect but once we were inside we were all hugely impressed. Really good price for such a well decorated and equipped clean room. The bathroom was also great with a built in TV above the bath! The bed was very soft and comfortable and it was great to have our own spacious unit.

The next morning, we went to the breakfast area which felt nice and breakfast was a real satisfactory.

When we left the place, I have left a bundle of paper and documents in the room and didn't realise until much later. When I phoned them the next day, the staff was really friendly and promised to call me back today. Not only did they phone me but also have kept my things and were happy to send them to me by Signed For post.

This hotel is a really friendly and high quality place and the staff go out of their ways to make you feel welcome. I thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are a group of four, ask for the family room in the separate building next to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukjjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here in the family room #6. The room was very nice and spacious. The shower was spacious and excellent. The toilet unfortunately made a lot of noise, but otherwise this was a nice bathroom, fitted into a large historic room. The linnen on the beds was nice. The double bed was rather narrow, but quite comfy. The single bed was perfect, but the extra bed was of poor quality; one of the wooden pieces under the matras simply broke. I want to mention that the receptionist spontaneously offered us a small price reduction for this inconvenience, which was much appreciated. I always highly value a constructive reaction to a remark or issue: this is for me where good management shows itself. And a reason for me to recommend this hotel.
In spite of the double windows, we still had quite a lot of traffic noise throughout the night. We were also disturbed by noisy neighboors walking the hall.
Breakfast was uneventful: good choice. Nothing special, except perhaps nice chocolate muffins (not made in-house, but who cares!).
It is great to have a safe private parking (CCTV).

Room Tip: Avoid road side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sablod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Hotel

Property: Castle House Hotel
Address: 28 Castle Street, Canterbury CT1 2PT, England (Formerly Canterbury Castle House Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle House Hotel is located five minutes from Canterbury High Street and is built astride the ancient city walls of Canterbury and standing in the shadow of Henry II's Great Keep itself - reputedly the third largest in the Kingdom . This unique building is your choice for a bed and breakfast experience, steeped in history. Castle House Hotel is an architectural gem and a scheduled ancient monument. The main house was built in the 1730s, incorporating part of the Norman city walls, the Roman Worthgate, and the only visible remaining section of the original city moat, now of course drained of water. Here, surrounded by Georgian opulence and decoration of the highest standard, you are just a few minutes' short walk from the whole of the mediaeval city: the magnificent Cathedral; the maze of winding streets and the romantic ruins of the Castle and city walls... Book your room at Castle House Hotel and history and convenience will combine to make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. All our rooms have been decorated to the highest standards, benefit from en suite or private facilities, and provide you with every modern comfort from contemporary flat screen digital TV to high speed wireless broadband at no extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Castle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Castle House Guest House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing