We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”
Review of Castle House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

One site of the hotel is, due to the trafic, a bit noisy, the other site is acceptable quit. The rooms are spacious, the beds a bit too hard for comfort. Breakfast is fine. Free on-site parking. A short walk to Canterbury High Street. Good price for what you get. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boudewijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    112
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
92
142
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel, yes it is on a busy roundabout but we had room 7, which overlooked the roundabout and with the double glazing we never heard any noise. Very good sized bedroom and the Bathroom had a lovely shower. Pity we only had an overnight stay, another one to return to in the near future I hope. Breakfast was really nice and very friendly people both on reception and in the breakfast room. Recommended. If car park full, there is a pay car park across the road. It takes about 10 minutes (if that) to walk to Canterbury Cathedral, very easy for centre of town.

Room Tip: Number 7 overlooks the roundabout but with the double glazing, no noise was heard by us. No air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithofBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is near a busy roundabout but did not affect our stay. Opposite is the Norman castle ruin and a short walk along is the River Stour leading into Canterbury. To the right of the hotel is the Dane John Gardens with surrounding Norman wall, Bandstand and refreshment kiost, etc. Beautifully kept. Large parking area and very helpful friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had a double-fronted room on the first floor which overlooked the the car park and castle ruin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredAstaire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We Spent 2 nights here and chose the deluxe room with 4 poster bed, which I must say looked amazing, and was Spotlessly clean. The only downside was that the room could defiantly of done with air conditioning as the windows did not open because of the extra glazing to stop the road noise, although there was a fan to keep you cool. We found a great restaurant within 5 mins walking distance called Pinnochios, which had excellent food. The Hotel Breakfast was outstanding with cereals, yogurts, muffins, pastries, fruit juices and well as the full English cooked breakfast with toast, tea and coffee. I would stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone.
Janine

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janinetcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for one night in August 2014 found the hotel very welcoming. Our room was very clean and quiet, even though it overlooked a busy road. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre and all the amenities. The breakfast was excellent. All in all a nice place to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountain445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed one night for my daughter's graduation in the cathedral. We had two lovely rooms, the rear facing one was better because the front faces onto a roundabout and would be noisy if you opened the windows so was very hot. There is adequate parking and the location is perfect, opposite the castle and just a short walk to the cathedral.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room away from the roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great hotel! Very good room, beds and accomodations!
The staff was really friendly and helpful!
Very close to the Cathedral and tourist area.
The room was really clean and the bathroom was great also.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Hotel

Property: Castle House Hotel
Address: 28 Castle Street, Canterbury CT1 2PT, England (Formerly Canterbury Castle House Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle House Hotel is located five minutes from Canterbury High Street and is built astride the ancient city walls of Canterbury and standing in the shadow of Henry II's Great Keep itself - reputedly the third largest in the Kingdom . This unique building is your choice for a bed and breakfast experience, steeped in history. Castle House Hotel is an architectural gem and a scheduled ancient monument. The main house was built in the 1730s, incorporating part of the Norman city walls, the Roman Worthgate, and the only visible remaining section of the original city moat, now of course drained of water. Here, surrounded by Georgian opulence and decoration of the highest standard, you are just a few minutes' short walk from the whole of the mediaeval city: the magnificent Cathedral; the maze of winding streets and the romantic ruins of the Castle and city walls... Book your room at Castle House Hotel and history and convenience will combine to make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. All our rooms have been decorated to the highest standards, benefit from en suite or private facilities, and provide you with every modern comfort from contemporary flat screen digital TV to high speed wireless broadband at no extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Castle House Guest House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing