We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great placeto stay, great location and very welcoming staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ersham Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ersham Lodge Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Bramley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great placeto stay, great location and very welcoming staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

Extremely pleasant stay in Canterbury. The staff (owner and wife) could not do enough for us and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The front room (complete with four poster) was great.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moodleymuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
16
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

Plus points:

Large double room
Very warm, despite freezing temperatures outside
Generous, large cooked breakfast, with plenty of cereals, fresh fruit, and unlimited tea/cofee, juice and toast
Magazines to read in reception
Offered map and directions to old city on arrival
Clean en-suite

Minus points:

Was asked to decide what wanted for breakfast next day as soon as arrived after a long journey.
Room decor and furnishings very dated.
Secondary glazing on windows, with traffic noise and some symptoms of damp in the window area.
Room not dirty but could have been cleaner - dust in several places and dirty hospitality tray.
En-suite was in dire need of replacement, except for the electric shower.
3% supplement for payment by credit card and 50p for debit card was not disclosed at the time of booking. Paid by cash in the end and was not offered a receipt.
Had to walk through an underpass to get to old city - there was a begger there during the day - good lighting but did not feel very safe late at night on return to hotel

  • Liked — fairly central location
  • Disliked — dated decor
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farmra1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Neath, Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

Had one night in the Ersham in Oct 2008.
Close to Canterbury centre, only about 15 mins walk and you are in the main street. Our room was facing the road it`s situated on and there was some noise from traffic at night, though it didn't keep me awake.
Small car park at front of hotel. It was a right squeeze to park my Mondeo, though it was very handy to be able to leave the car at the hotel car park while we went into town to look around on the day we left.
Staff were very friendly & helpful and breakfast good.
Room was large, a bit dated and had seen better days but then I guess that`s part of the charm of these places ?

Good :
location
on site parking (though see below)
staff friendly
breakfast
reasonable price
recpetion well stocked with tourist leaflets

Bad :
noise from road in night
dated decor and slightly shabby room
car park was very cramped

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Carlos-Neath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

We had a family of 5 staying in a room that must have been designed for 3 at most. Beds were cramped together but the real downer was the 'bathroom' - or should I call it a 'bath wardrobe' ? A shower, vanity and toilet in the space normally used to hang up a coat.
Breakfast was nice though - usual English breakfast. And handy location with a 5 minute stroll inside the Canterbury walls. I think we paid 150 Euros - does not stack up against most of the other accommodation we had.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coco080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

was ruined and also our wedding breakfast with our friends the next day.. didn't even have one!!

We spent 20 mins in our wedding regalia (a very heavy dress) on the doorstep ringing the nightbell (my husband was told he didn't need to take his key) and the next morning the rudeness of Elaine (the owner) astounded me and upset me so much that I went to my parents house on an empty stomach!. We gave them a fair bit of business (4 rooms for 2 nights) and were treated with no respect. Totally unprofessional and like I said ruined,what should have been a special time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Most things but mainly attitude of owners
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ershamCanterbury, owner at Ersham Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2008
It is disappointing to receive a spiteful review from a guest for whom we made such considerable efforts and put ourselves out for. We happily prepared a complimentary turkish breakfast on both mornings, as requested, and were at great pains to make all the guests as welcome and comfortable as possible. This slanderous review cannot be ignored. The groom and guests had all been extremely happy until the groom returned with the bride [who was totally inebriated] at 2.00pm/early hours of Sunday morning without the door key, ringing the door bell and banging the front door shouting and swearing at the top of her voice, upsetting our other sleeping guests that were not part of the wedding party. The groom had purposefully left his key because he was going to rely on his best man to let him in after the wedding celebrations. Having been let in by her other guests [that she should have waited for ], and then having tried to pick a fight with some of those guests , they told her to go to bed. She then proceeded to deface the guest book on the front reception desk. No mention of the gift of a bottle of champagne and bouquet of flowers that we placed in her room. Apologies were made to us by the best man and remainder of the guests for the apalling behaviour of the bride the following morning . The bride when confronted by my wife the following morning at breakfast, retreated from the breakfast room to retrieve the guest book she had removed and then left the premises having contacted her mother to come and pay her room account.. The groom and his party were extremely pleasant guests and very well behaved, and thanked us on several occasions for our hospitality before they departed on the Sunday morning. It is a shame that what should have been [and on the whole was] such a happy occasion should be marred by the actions of just one person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atglen PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

For those looking for a home away from home while in Canterbury please consider Ersham Lodge. We were provided very nice rooms, an excellent breakfast, and informed advice during our recent stay. All e-mail contacts were handled expeditiously and they even helped us tremendously with our airport transfers. The location can not be beat, five minutes and you are in Old Canterbury, five more and you are at the Cathedral. A nice place in a beautiful city.

  • Liked — Great staff and better location
  • Disliked — Small shower
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2007

Only last week we again visited the excellent Ersham Lodge Hotel only to find out that we were some of the last guests to stay with the owners Sheila and Steve. We have been using Ersham Lodge now for over eight years and we have always found the place to be very welcoming, superbly clean and like home from home.
The new owners Elaine and David Kemp previously owned another hotel in Canterbury and have 'stepped up' to the bigger Ersham Lodge, they have a hard act to follow.
The Ersham Lodge is perfectly located for a short walk into Canterbury centre, and is not so big that the guests just become anonomous in the building, it is really like staying around a friends house.
The Ersham Lodge is recommended to everybody who is looking for a quality stay for a very affordable and realistic price.
Good luck to Elaine and David, we will certainly be checking them out before too long.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank SeaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ersham Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ersham Lodge Hotel

Property: Ersham Lodge Hotel
Address: 12 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ersham Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing