We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B's we've stayed in. Very high standard.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best B&B's we've stayed in. Very high standard.”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at Yorke Lodge for 4 nights and found it to be an excellent B&B.

It is situated very close to town and is an east 10 minute walk to the beautiful city of Canterbury
.
The standard of the accommodation is exceptionally high. The room we had was very tastefully decorated with good quality linen and a very comfortable bed which gave us a restful night sleep. The bathroom was very clean, and the shower head had a very strong flow. The bath towels were very large and there were even bath robes for our use.

The breakfast was very nice with an ample selection of continental and cooked foods.

Vicky, the owner was very pleasant and most helpful with tourist information.

There are heaps of things to do in Canterbury, like hiring a punt down the Stour Canal or visiting the nearby beaches.

We would highly recommend staying here, at Yorke Lodge, and would certainly come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    27
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
68
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I were in Canterbury for a weekend's sporting event. Room was excellent for a small junior double. Very clean, well appointed, comfortable, excellent shower and lovely view over back garden. Breakfast was fine (we only had cereals/toast). Could be improved if porridge and thick sliced granary toast was offered. Our experience was marred however as we returned to our room after a short breakfast on check-out day to find a lady had let her self in our room to change the bedding! All our bags were around with items we hadn't packed (this was 0915 and we weren't checking out until 10am). I do not feel it is proper to enter the room to change bedding before we had checked out. Also note that there are only 4 parking spaces. We could park in the GP surgery next door as it was a weekend but weekday visitors may be unlucky with parking and roadside parking is 4 hours max during the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajwardHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend booked the junior standard suite to stay in Canterbury (our university town) over the Jubilee weekend. We booked at the Yorke lodge as it was one of the cheaper rooms that was close to the city centre - our room being cheaper than the travelodge.
When we arrived - we had such a lovely surprise - I was unaware that the B&B was a 5 star AA one - the rooms were beautifully decorated - the ensuite had all brand new shower, sink and toilet. Though we had booked to smallest and cheapest room - there was no expense spared with the lovely decor - the bed was big and tall and very comfortable - there were enough pillows - usually a rarity in cheaper hotels. The breakfast was delicious and the lady running the hotel was very warm and friendly.
The hotel's website really lets it down - we weren't expecting much after visiting thewebsite but its so much nicer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Pleasant stay but needs to be clearer on pricing policy. I was quoted a price for family room which I understood was the total price as I had confirmed there were 2 children - there was no mention of extra £15 per night per child then. On booking out I was charged extra £30 per night. So just a warning to other guests - confirm your price by email.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 835DPaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed three nights at the Yorke Lodge B&B and were really impressed with the whole ambience of the place. We stayed in room 2, on the first floor, at the back of the house, overlooking the garden with a magnificent magnolia tree in full bloom. The room was very spacious and well appointed, as was the en-suite bathroom, which included bathrobes. A nice selection of fruit and creals for breakfast before tucking into a hearty full english. Management and staff were really friendly and made you feel right at home. The Lodge is only a few minutes walk from the town centre, through the west gate, with it's lovely gardens. The town iteslf was buzzing with students and tourists and more eating places than I have ever seen. No matter what your taste in food, you'll find it here. Our favourite was Cafe des Amis, just outside the entrance to the west gate, which serves Mexican/Spanish fare. All in all we had a wonderful time and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house will be quieter, as the front of the house is on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsx276e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Last weekend my Mum and I stayed here, as we wished to visit family in the area. It was such a convenient spot for everything in the City, without requiring the car. The owner was charming and very welcoming. The guest house was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. We had a lovely bedroom which had every facility and was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was delicious too. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just returned home from a stay at this fantastic B and B. I can't recommend it enough - spotlessly clean, felt instantly welcome, the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable.

The room was recently decorated to a high standard and there were some nice touches eg dressing gowns, shampoo, conditioner, bottled water in our room with a large selection of different tea bags, hot chocolate and coffee.

Free wi-fi was available and free parking also.

We had breakfast in the conservatory - a selection of cereals, followed by a full English breakfast and homemade marmalade.

It was an approx 10 minute walk into the centre of Canterbury.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
422 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 London Rd, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a family run B&B located only 10 minutes stroll to the City Centre & Cathedral. Built in 1887 the house still retains many of its original features today. Now with 8 en suite bedrooms this is a quintessential Victorian Villa. Facilities include elegant breakfast room and sun terrace. All bedrooms recently refurbished & offer a comfortable ‘home from home’ feel but with all the modern day extras you would expect to see in a hotel. The B&B is dog friendly, has a lovely garden and is a peaceful oasis if you'd prefer not to be right in the city centre. Vicky O’Shea has owned and run Yorke Lodge for over 15 years and loves welcoming guests every day. You can be assured of a warm welcome, local knowledge and friendly, personal service throughout your stay. We are adding a conservatory in 2017 which will further enhance your stay at any time of year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing