We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home and hearth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our trip of a lifetime was made even more special by this choice of accommodation. The balance of professionalism and warmth made our stay comfortable, relaxing and incredibly convenient. The choice of options for breakfast, pleased all three generations of our family and the tips and hints given by our gracious hostess were invaluable. Both Canterbury West rail station and the bus services were walking distance as well as the town itself if the weather is great. We recommend Yorke Lodge to anyone looking for the best experience of hospitality in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Good location being only a short walk into Canterbury (though road at the front a bit noisy if you're not used to traffic), friendly staff, lovely rooms - well decorated and spotlessly clean. Decent cooked breakfast but thought the continental breakfast (two 'supermarket' croissants and two half slices of pre-packed cheese) could have been better. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Yorke Lodge is well situated; just a 10 minute walk to the town and some excellent restaurants.
The room was excellent, well decorated and clean overlooking the rear garden, the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was very good.

I would recommend Yorke Lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Upon arrival at the Yorke Lodge we were welcomed by the friendly proprietor Vicky. She could not have been more helpful. Our room was on the 3rd floor. It was a bit small but quite lovely. But, the real treat was when we arrived at breakfast the next morning. You are first served cereals, pastries, toasts, coffee or tea. Then, your full English breakfast arrives. The breakfast room is lovely. And, as the week progressed we stayed longer and longer each morning in the breakfast room. Vicky suggested a walking tour of Canterbury which we took and also some restaurants for dinner. She is absolutely the perfect hostess. Loved the B&B and would definitely return. Highly recommend the Yorke Lodge.

Room Tip: I suggest a room that is not facing the street. The Lodge did not have A/C and with the windows ope...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at Yorke Lodge for 4 nights and found it to be an excellent B&B.

It is situated very close to town and is an east 10 minute walk to the beautiful city of Canterbury
.
The standard of the accommodation is exceptionally high. The room we had was very tastefully decorated with good quality linen and a very comfortable bed which gave us a restful night sleep. The bathroom was very clean, and the shower head had a very strong flow. The bath towels were very large and there were even bath robes for our use.

The breakfast was very nice with an ample selection of continental and cooked foods.

Vicky, the owner was very pleasant and most helpful with tourist information.

There are heaps of things to do in Canterbury, like hiring a punt down the Stour Canal or visiting the nearby beaches.

We would highly recommend staying here, at Yorke Lodge, and would certainly come back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I were in Canterbury for a weekend's sporting event. Room was excellent for a small junior double. Very clean, well appointed, comfortable, excellent shower and lovely view over back garden. Breakfast was fine (we only had cereals/toast). Could be improved if porridge and thick sliced granary toast was offered. Our experience was marred however as we returned to our room after a short breakfast on check-out day to find a lady had let her self in our room to change the bedding! All our bags were around with items we hadn't packed (this was 0915 and we weren't checking out until 10am). I do not feel it is proper to enter the room to change bedding before we had checked out. Also note that there are only 4 parking spaces. We could park in the GP surgery next door as it was a weekend but weekday visitors may be unlucky with parking and roadside parking is 4 hours max during the day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ajwardHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend booked the junior standard suite to stay in Canterbury (our university town) over the Jubilee weekend. We booked at the Yorke lodge as it was one of the cheaper rooms that was close to the city centre - our room being cheaper than the travelodge.
When we arrived - we had such a lovely surprise - I was unaware that the B&B was a 5 star AA one - the rooms were beautifully decorated - the ensuite had all brand new shower, sink and toilet. Though we had booked to smallest and cheapest room - there was no expense spared with the lovely decor - the bed was big and tall and very comfortable - there were enough pillows - usually a rarity in cheaper hotels. The breakfast was delicious and the lady running the hotel was very warm and friendly.
The hotel's website really lets it down - we weren't expecting much after visiting thewebsite but its so much nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 50 London Rd, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £81 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a family run B&B located only 10 minutes stroll to the City Centre & Cathedral. Built in 1887 the house still retains many of its original features today. Now with 8 en suite bedrooms this is a quintessential Victorian Villa. Facilities include elegant breakfast room and sun terrace. All bedrooms recently refurbished & offer a comfortable ‘home from home’ feel but with all the modern day extras you would expect to see in a hotel. The B&B is dog friendly, has a lovely garden and is a peaceful oasis if you'd prefer not to be right in the city centre. Vicky O’Shea has owned and run Yorke Lodge for over 15 years and loves welcoming guests every day. You can be assured of a warm welcome, local knowledge and friendly, personal service throughout your stay. We are adding a conservatory in 2017 which will further enhance your stay at any time of year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing