We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
121
27
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
27
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfront of the housecity centrebottled waterfour poster bedsuperior double roomfull englishus feel at homeoverlooking the gardenplace to stayguest househearty breakfastroom was spotlessthree nightsan enjoyable stayexcellent accommodationlittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and my stay couldn't have been better. The hostess is accommodating and friendly and recommended some wonderful local restaurants serving fresh local produce. Breakfast was most enjoyable and my need for a gluten-free diet was easily accommodated. . Easy access to the university and a short walk to the city centre makes this an ideal location.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the back garden which provided a lovely outlook.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Though not equivalent to a five-star hotel in terms of services, spaciousness, and amenities, this five-star B&B has well earned its rating and is priced competitively with its neighbours which offer similar but not quite as well executed features. (Perhaps that's why the University of Kent books its guests here.) The emphasis is on quiet comfort; any guests who were so loud as to be anti-social would not be tolerated, and reception closes by 10pm unless any guests have arranged a late check-in. Do not expect any hifi systems or televisions or loud bars - or in fact any bars at all! - here (though if you are looking for a pub, you can find one on St Dunstan's Street a few minutes' walk away, as just about everything in central Canterbury is but a few minutes' walk away). Every detail is top quality, well maintained, and spotlessly clean, from the comfortable beds to the snugly fitting shower door - and the maid nipped in every morning so that my bed was made up even before I had finished breakfast! If you have a chat with the very friendly proprietor she can tell you stories all about who else has been staying there and what they've been up to at the university. If you're a quietly social guest who really does want nothing but a comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast, at a price equivalent to those of neighbouring, somewhat lesser-rated B&B's, then this is the B&B for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We selected York via an Internet search we were travelling over with our daughter who was starting her first year at uni. What a good choice we made in every respect. The accommodation was excellent and the owner was so helpful. It is a difficult time as a parent taking your daughter to uni but staying at York lodge was so apt. Thank you Vichy for being the perfect host.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Transalpiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Vicki greeted us and she was effiecient and pleasant and you could see that she was proud of her establishment. She took us to our room at the top overlooking the gardens and we were very pleased immediately. Yorke Lodge is conveniently located to walk everywhere and it is a great room to come back to after you have been walking all day.

Breakfast was nicley laid out and met all our requirements.

Thank you Vicki for making our stay so pleasant during our two nights with you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les and Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our trip of a lifetime was made even more special by this choice of accommodation. The balance of professionalism and warmth made our stay comfortable, relaxing and incredibly convenient. The choice of options for breakfast, pleased all three generations of our family and the tips and hints given by our gracious hostess were invaluable. Both Canterbury West rail station and the bus services were walking distance as well as the town itself if the weather is great. We recommend Yorke Lodge to anyone looking for the best experience of hospitality in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews