We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, friendly B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very welcoming reception when we arrived after a long drive. Checked in quickly and given a key and directions up to our room. The room was clean and tidy, and the decoration felt very 'homey'. We had a room at the front on the 2nd floor. There was no noise from the road outside but we had the windows closed. It may be noisier in the summer with the windows open but the room seemed to have an air con unit.
There was tea/coffee/biscuits in the room which were restocked every day. The bed was made every day while we were at breakfast. The bathroom was clean and the shower was massive! Twice the size of a normal shower.
There was free wifi which we connected to in the room - makes a change from having to sit in reception to get wifi signal!
The hostess was extremely nice to us throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very at home. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order - fresh local ingredients too and definitely butchers sausages and bacon.
The location was a short walk from the town and the area felt very safe.
Small flat screen TV in the room gave access to plenty of freeview channels.

We had a lovely stay at this B&B - couldn't fault it on any aspect. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingdivauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    27
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
64
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Yorke Lodge is in a good location; the centre of Canterbury is about fifteen to twenty minutes walk. We would stay there again; maybe Vicky is like Marmite. One of our group took a dislike to her, so we can appreciate "Eurosclerosis's" review. The rooms we had were lovely; well-equipped and spacious and clean. The breakfasts were very good and the lady serving us on the Sunday morning was very jolly and nothing was too much trouble - sorry I didn't ask her name now. We were glad of the off-street parking as we were able to walk everywhere and so not be worried about the car. We found Canterbury an amazing place, with its history and literary interests. It is a student city; we found the students fantastic. Both Canterbury residents and the students were friendly and welcoming. We touched the tip of the iceberg in our visits to "things to do", so we shall return to Canterbury. Apparently there are at least 48 public houses!! The B&B does apparently allow dogs; not many do. So that could be a bonus for dog owners.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back during the warmer months as they would be quieter when the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We live in the Netherlands and pop over to Kent easily with the euro tunnel. When we stay in Canterbury this is our place to stay. We feel comfortable in any of the rooms available especially the suite with the poster bed. The entire town house give us immediately the feeling of being in old England in a tasteful way. It is also easy to get into the main part of town to get the shopping underway. Off street parking is also an added value. Vicky, the host lady always makes us feel comfortable and offers local timely tips to make each stay a bit different each time.

Room Tip: The suite room is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Overall I found that the host lady, Victoria, was very rude. She did absolutely nothing to make me feel welcome, every request seemed like a burden, such as a wake up call, organizing a cab, and even the breakfast order. I recall coming down for breakfast and being rudely informed by Victoria that I could not sit there. The room was very clean but tiny.

A bad experience from start to finish...not what I expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurosclerosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

What makes this B&B feel special are the little touches that give a feel of luxury. Decoratively it couldn't be faulted.

I had a couple of minor gripes. There is some road noise if your room is at the front of the building - not excessive but foam earplugs were provided! Breakfast is not served until 8.00am. Ok if you are on holiday but too late for me when on business. Aside from this, Yorke Lodge is a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for four nights this week. We could not fault it. The room was gorgeous and extremely comfortable & well stocked. Our host, Vicky, was extremely friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of breakfasts, full English, cereals, veggie, gluten free, fruits, yogurts, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, fresh coffee, teas. Our room was tidied, the bed was made, bathroom cleaned and restocked daily.
The house is literally a 10 minute walk from the city centre - we timed it!! Although the road was very busy the house seemed very quite, especially if you had a room at the back.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are possibly a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phlebo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
140 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

York House is a great choice in Canterbury. It is about a 10 minute walk from the city wall and 15 or 20 from the cathedral. Our room on the second floor was bright, comfortable and spotless. Breakfast was excellent. The owner, Vicki, is wonderfully upbeat and friendly and gave us great advice about restaurants and sites to visit in Kent. I don't think you could find a better overall spot in Canterbury.

Room Tip: The road outside is busy but the drapes are heavy enough to mask any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 London Rd, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast is located only 10 minutes stroll to the City Centre & Cathedral. Built in 1887 the house still retains many of its original features today. Now with 8 en suite bedrooms this is a quintessential Victorian Villa. Facilities include elegant breakfast room and sun terrace. All bedrooms recently refurbished & offer a comfortable ‘home from home’ feel but with all the modern day extras you would expect to see in a hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing