We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & comfy”

Clare Ellen Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clare Ellen Guest House
Ranked #24 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean & comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A lovely friendly comfortable B&B. If you want a luxurious posh hotel you won't find it at Clare Ellen but if you want home from home comfort that's what you'll get. We booked a family room but were given a family room with bunk beds plus a single room for my 15 year old son who is a giant so would never have fitted in one of the bunk beds! The price was extremely reasonable & the breakfast was lovely. The beds were comfortable & I can imagine that having a fridge in the room is very handy for people staying for longer periods. The shower was really powerful.
Far enough out to be quite quiet but a nice walk into the centre. (about 15 minutes)
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliHB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in this clean and friendly guest house for two nights during Easter holiday, really impressed with this charming place in a quite location not far from train station. We were greeted by the owner when arrived, whom showed us around the guest house, gave us a copy of the Canterbury map and explained how to get to some of the historical places, best places to eat. Our room was clean, newly decorated with hair dryer, toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and TV. The bed was comfortable. All staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was healthy with fat trimmed off from bacons, all cooked to perfection and at right portion. The guest house has couple of parking spaces at the back which was off the road and safe. 10-15 mins walk to high street. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lixiang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Clare Ellen and found the B&B to be very good. Excellent off street parking at the rear of the property - a bonus when Canterbury is full of double yellow lines everywhere! The Owner was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and restaurants, albeit we had chosen the latter from TA reviews and were not disappointed. The room was very clean and tidy with nice furniture, albeit the bed was a touch on the hard side for our liking - albeit there is nothing like ones own bed!. Excellent choice of cooked breakfasts - from full English, through the variations such as a bacon sandwich etc, and the Owner was very accommodating to special requests regarding 'modifications' to the choice. Although there were cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt also available it would have been nice to have a few Danish pastries and/or croissants available just to give a bit more variety especially on a longer stay. But all-in-all a great place to stay, quiet and only 10 mins walk to the city.

Room Tip: Some (single) rooms may have an external bathroom - albeit still private usage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravel4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Nice place, shame about the ultra early 10am check out time - WAY too early for a Sunday morning. Dinner and drinks on Saturday night meant that we were tired all day Sunday. Breakfast was 8-9 also a bit early for a weekend. Other than that very nice and very friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gnesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I came to settle my daughter into Kent University and stayed at the Clare Ellen Guest House for six days, after which I went to London and then came back for one night. I could not have felt more welcome. The proprietor was genuinely concerned for my comfort and even allowed me to leave some luggage when I went to London at no extra cost. This establishment is run professionally with just the right amount of homeliness to make even the most wary traveler feel safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corinne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benfleet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at the Clare Ellen Guest House for a three night break to explore Canterbury and the surrounding area.We found the staff very welcoming and helpful and our room was ready even though we were early.Off road parking for the car made life easier to transport our luggage to our room.We had a twin room to the front that was very clean and comfortable and also quiet at night.
Be aware that the internal staircases are quite steep and could be difficult for young families and older people.
The breakfast was outstanding and the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble!.All in all a very pleasant stay and would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Well, I can only say what I usually say! We return to the Clare Ellen every year, and love it. It is a good walk along Wincheap into the centre, but the price of the B&B reflects the location, and we quite enjoy the walk, watching the cathedral appear over the rooftops. I thought all the rooms were refurbished but reading some of the other reviews I was wrong. The rooms that are are fresh and clean white with green accents (used to be sugar pink!) and the fridge is a great idea - we buy fresh milk and orange juice for an early morning drink. Breakfast is a hearty full English, but they will try to accommodate you if you just want poached egg or similar. And there is free Wi-Fi. There is a small car park at the back, or street parking. We have never had any real difficulty parking here. The landlord and staff are very hands on, and so friendly. I would recommend the Clare Ellen without a doubt. It is a home from home

Room Tip: Room 3 ( a double) has a bath - as well as a shower. Great after a long country walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopTapir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kipps
Kipps
#2 of 18 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Duke Of Cumberland
0.9 mi away
YHA Canterbury
YHA Canterbury
#3 of 18 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare Ellen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Ellen Guest House

Property: Clare Ellen Guest House
Address: 9 Victoria Road, Canterbury CT1 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing