We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gay friendly and very comfortable b&b”

Clare Ellen Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clare Ellen Guest House
Ranked #27 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My boyfriend and I came to visit Canterbury and came across this fantastic place by chance - we received an incredibly warm welcome from the owner and his daughter, and the owner was fine about sorting us out a room with a double bed - the room had just been refurbished with a nice new bathroom . The hotel is a lovely old building with quite a bit of charm. The full English breakfast was great and they made my boyfriend an omelette when he asked. We were new here and the owner gave us lots of ideas for places to go and where to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jelli0ttuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night and found the hotel very clean, friendly and at a great location. As the B&B undergone recent refurbishment it is really well decorated with new soft carpet through out. Very good facilities and excellent choice of breakfast. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katerina112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A lovely friendly comfortable B&B. If you want a luxurious posh hotel you won't find it at Clare Ellen but if you want home from home comfort that's what you'll get. We booked a family room but were given a family room with bunk beds plus a single room for my 15 year old son who is a giant so would never have fitted in one of the bunk beds! The price was extremely reasonable & the breakfast was lovely. The beds were comfortable & I can imagine that having a fridge in the room is very handy for people staying for longer periods. The shower was really powerful.
Far enough out to be quite quiet but a nice walk into the centre. (about 15 minutes)
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliHB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in this clean and friendly guest house for two nights during Easter holiday, really impressed with this charming place in a quite location not far from train station. We were greeted by the owner when arrived, whom showed us around the guest house, gave us a copy of the Canterbury map and explained how to get to some of the historical places, best places to eat. Our room was clean, newly decorated with hair dryer, toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and TV. The bed was comfortable. All staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was healthy with fat trimmed off from bacons, all cooked to perfection and at right portion. The guest house has couple of parking spaces at the back which was off the road and safe. 10-15 mins walk to high street. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lixiang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Clare Ellen and found the B&B to be very good. Excellent off street parking at the rear of the property - a bonus when Canterbury is full of double yellow lines everywhere! The Owner was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and restaurants, albeit we had chosen the latter from TA reviews and were not disappointed. The room was very clean and tidy with nice furniture, albeit the bed was a touch on the hard side for our liking - albeit there is nothing like ones own bed!. Excellent choice of cooked breakfasts - from full English, through the variations such as a bacon sandwich etc, and the Owner was very accommodating to special requests regarding 'modifications' to the choice. Although there were cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt also available it would have been nice to have a few Danish pastries and/or croissants available just to give a bit more variety especially on a longer stay. But all-in-all a great place to stay, quiet and only 10 mins walk to the city.

Room Tip: Some (single) rooms may have an external bathroom - albeit still private usage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytravel4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Nice place, shame about the ultra early 10am check out time - WAY too early for a Sunday morning. Dinner and drinks on Saturday night meant that we were tired all day Sunday. Breakfast was 8-9 also a bit early for a weekend. Other than that very nice and very friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gnesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I came to settle my daughter into Kent University and stayed at the Clare Ellen Guest House for six days, after which I went to London and then came back for one night. I could not have felt more welcome. The proprietor was genuinely concerned for my comfort and even allowed me to leave some luggage when I went to London at no extra cost. This establishment is run professionally with just the right amount of homeliness to make even the most wary traveler feel safe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corinne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#9 of 73 in Canterbury
151 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
756 reviews
3.8 mi away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,034 reviews
6.9 mi away
Heathwood Lodge
Heathwood Lodge
#2 of 2 in Stelling Minnis
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare Ellen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Ellen Guest House

Address: 9 Victoria Road, Canterbury CT1 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £30 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing