We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like i had returned to Istanbul!”
Review of A La Turka

A La Turka
Ranked #12 of 372 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I felt like i had returned to Istanbul!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Being somewhat of a glutton, and an ardent admirer of Turkish Cuisine - i zoned in on this place as soon as i found it online. The experience was absolutely amazing, and the food was fabulous. The restaurant is pretty busy on weekends, so i would advise a prior reservation.
The taste is authentic, and it truly feels like one is sitting on the shores of the Bosphorus in Istanbul. This is indeed a place you wont regret!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    99
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food in Canterbury”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

3 of us went to A la Turka for dinner last Sunday evening. We didn't book but there was space available. We decided to sit in the quiet, secluded garden. We had the Sharing Meze and grill for 3, it was excellent and there was plenty of delicious food. The service was excellent too and we didn't have to wait long for the starters either.With drinks I got change for £50, great value. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner Outside”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I walk past this restaurant several times a week and it's easy to miss as it's small and sandwiched in between quite a few shops but it's well worth finding. The food is fresh, plentiful and really tasty and the staff are friendly, lovely and perfectly attentive without crowding you. We had a lovely chat with the chef who enthusiastically let us know about some of the ingredients and we will most certainly be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank booeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wont go again”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

after hearing raving reviews I was so disappointed when I actually got to sample a la turka.
food was terrible, dry and bland. you could tell it was really cheap meat aswell.
we were sitting in the garden and by the time we got the attention of a waitress everyone had almost finished eating and we had already waited so long for the food i didn't want to wait for something else.
fair play they took my meal of the bill but i still wasted a few hours and left hungry.

all in all service not that good and food wasn't much better!!

i would also advise you not to sit in the garden if you are a non smoker! if we had known they would allow people to smoke while you are eating your food we wouldn't have sat outside.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank pollypockets18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“small but good..”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

this is a newish restaurant to canterbury, we have eaten here a couple of times and found the food to be tasty and generous, the restaurant is quite small and the other side of the westgate towers, however is worth the walk...there are two turkish restaurants in canterbury and this is the one to choose..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willmkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A La Turka also viewed

 

Been to A La Turka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing