We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Guesthouse and Wonderful Hosts!”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #6 of 72 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at the White House during on of the busiest times of the year for Canterbury for our daughter's graduation. The White House was such an oasis of calm from all of the hustle and bustle, but also amazingly convenient as we were 5 minutes walking distance from all we needed. Adrian & Sharon are amazing hosts, being personable and engaging as well as helpful and going above and beyond. We decided to travel to the coast after our stay in Canterbury and they not only gave us some great recommendations of places to stay, but called around to the places and inquired as to availability and even made our booking arrangements! I cannot imagine there is a better place to stay in Canterbury and it will always be our first choice when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lei G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our third visit to The White House, perfectly positioned for the town centre.
Our 2nd time in room no 2. Rather small, not particularly comfortable, double bed in rather small room.
Single room no 5 better, but the same price
Very welcoming & first class breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurencemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Amazing welcome, the service was great, the room nice, bright. Clean. Came down for one night but wished it was longer, loved Canterbury, but the white house made the weeken, thank you will be recommending and will come again. Choice and quality of breakfast is excellent , thank

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misde46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Only stayed one night as we were there for my daughters graduation but have absolutely no complaints. Room was lovely, very clean and well decorated. On suite was spotless and large bed very comfortable. Unable to take advantage of the cooked breakfast as we had to leave very early the next morning but Adrian got up early to make sure we had something to eat before we left which was much appreciated. Would recommend this B & B for anyone staying in Canterbury. Not one bad thing to say about either the room or the service. Thanks for making our stay in Canterbury special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The White House was recommended to us by our son who has walked past it many times and thought it was his idea of a perfect B&B. We thought so too, although only just off the main street, and in the old part of Canterbury, it was surprisingly quiet and loved the stylish and thoughtful decor, everything you could possibly want including Wi-Fi and even an ironing board should you need it. Breakfast was yummy and plentiful and served with great gusto by Adrian, who couldn't have done more to make us feel at home. Lovely place, not cheap but worth every penny.

Colin & Heather

Room Tip: We accepted the room we were given and found it very comfortable. Book as soon as you can, I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very well presented and contemporary B&B in heart of Canterbury. Warm welcome and very well appointed facilities. Best B&B shower I've had in years. Service was great and Adrian was always on hand to help. Breakfast was perfect, very well cooked and presented. The place was spotless but the 'making up your room' service on Saturday was almost too efficient - I barely recognised the place on my return.

Would not recommend you leave anything behind but if you do, as I did, you'll find Adrian very efficient in getting it back to you, at your desk, within 48 hours. Much appreciated.

Certainly would return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: I saw a number of the rooms and they were all of a high standard. Noise was not a problem at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballym040612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We chose The White House based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. Based in a great location with everything close by, the White House is tastefully decorated and welcoming. Although the room was not going to be ready until mid afternoon, Adrian took our bags in mid morning. We were met with a warm welcome and provided with helpful information regarding Canterbury. I had mentioned to Adrian when booking some months ago that we were coming to Canterbury for our wedding anniversary. He must have made a note of this as a bottle of bubbly was in our room with a card, a kind and thoughtful touch.

I would definetly stay at the White House whenever we go to Canterbury again and would have no hesitation in recommending this fab place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipflop8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
337 reviews
0 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £88 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. Located in the city centre in an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, accommodation is especially suited to guests seeking a smaller intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children or infants) Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, with contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral or to take in a show at the stunning Marlowe Theatre. We do not have on site parking but offer a concessionary rate of £6.00 for 24 hours in the public car park opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing