We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #6 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent a weekend using The White House as the base for a birthday celebration in and around Canterbury. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIPs and stayed in a very comfortable room, our breakfasts were individually cooked as each person ordered it, the coffee was excellent and our hosts Adrian and Sharon couldn't do enough for us. we will be visiting Canterbury again and definitely staying at 'The White House

Room Tip: Just tell Adrain what you require and leave it to him
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLAPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

This B&B has recently come under new ownership and has been transformed to a warm, inviting guest house furnished with luxurious amenities.

The bedroom I stayed in was well apportioned with recently replaced en suite facilities. The TV had enough channels to find something on (not always easy these days) and the room had a sturdy desk and chair allowing me work unencumbered.

Rarely for this day and age a black out blind was in place allowing the room to be kept cool as the sun set. A nice touch.

Rarely have I received such a warm and friendly welcome in the UK. Breakfast was good with a full array of cooked options accompanied by a pleasing buffet of lighter options.

Incredible value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Spent the weekend at the White House with 12 friends and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. All the rooms were to a high standard and as frequent visitors to Canterbury we would deffinately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My husband and I visited Canterbury for the first time between Olympic events and stayed at the White House. Great choice of B & B: warm, friendly, comfortable and very convenient for all the local amenities, yet very peaceful too.
I would highly recommend a short break in this lovely city and if you do go a stay at the White House is recommended too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Spent two lovely days in Canterbury. The White House was perfect. Close to the centre ( yet quiet ), nice clean fresh rooms, good breakfast, attentive helpful owners. Good local knowledge and advice. Couldn't ask for more, will certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst attending a wedding in Fordwich.

The location is excellent - it takes 60 seconds to stroll onto the high street.

The host was very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.

The room (top floor) was lovely, the bed comfy and the bathroom spotless.

It was nice to see a choice of hot breakfast options in addition to yoghurt, cereal etc. The cooked breakfast was very good and the produce used was of a good quality.

There is no parking outside the hotel - you will have to drop bags off and then get a voucher from the hotel (£5 per day) to park in a nearby car-park (a minute walk away). I think the £5 per day parking discount is offered by a lot of hotels etc in Canterbury.

Overall, an excellent experience and fully recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonosmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Daughter and I stayed in a twin room at the top of the house the night before Kent Uni open day.

The White House is sutuated on a road with double yellow lines but there was hardly any through traffic and Adrian was waiting for us on arrival to take luggage and direct us to car park around the corner but only a couple of minutes walk away if that. A minutes walk takes you into the centre of Canterbury so the location is perfect

The room was fine with a lovely en-suite shower room with good shower, tea tray and proper hairdryer.

Breakfast was cooked to order and served in the beautifully decorated breakfast room - can highly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. We needed to be away early that morning and Adrian was happy to serve breakfast a bit earlier.

The only downsides were :

1.The room overlooked a pedestrian walkway by the Marlow Theatre and we were awoken a couple of times by noisy revellers (but we did have the window open as it was a warm night)

2. There are damp patch stains on the ceiling - I live in a very old property myself so can very much sympathise with problems such properties bring, however, when i go away I like to forget about my damp problems not be reminded of them!

3. The TV remote didn't work properly. To be fair Adrian did his best and put new batteries in and demonstrated the he could make the channels change but his magic touch disappeared with him when he left the room!

4. Could hear all the plumbing noises of the room next door but appreciate this is an older property with original doors etc.

The above downsides make it seem like I'm being picky but lighter sleepers might prefer a quieter room.

Would happily stay here again and would rate this propery as 4.5/5 but TA don't let you have 4.5's!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodpecker-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £86 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. Located in the city centre in an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, accommodation is especially suited to guests seeking a smaller intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children or infants) Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, with contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral or to take in a show at the stunning Marlowe Theatre. We do not have on site parking but offer a concessionary rate of £6.00 for 24 hours in the public car park opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing