We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #7 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caribbean
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Quirky looking from the outside, this white house just steps away from the bustling, shop filled pedestrian high street is both perfectly located and perfectly appointed. Our room with king bed had crisp white sheets, was super comfortable and clean. Tea & Coffee making facilities, complimentary bottled water, and rain shower shower head in the bathroom all made my day! Downstairs, the living room is set up with tables of 2 and 4 for breakfast of which there are 3 different hot choices made to order plus cereal, juice, coffee and tea. The layout is such that you are not obliged to socialise with the other guests if you don't feel like it which I liked. Breakfast is served from 8am - 9am. Other reviewers have pretty much explained all there is to know. Adrian is an excellent host - friendly, helpful and professional. Although check out time is 11am he was kind enough to keep our bags until we were ready to leave Canterbury at 4. We will most definitely return to the White House should we ever return to Canterbury.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natmicstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    47
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
196
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nowhersville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

In a great location for all the amenities in the town,with sa great welcome from Adrian, just 2 minutes walk from St. Peters Street the main area for drink and vittles.
Can be a bit noisy at night as the pubs empty out, only noticed because of the window being open due to warm evenings.
Car Parking is available in a Council car park that is 1 minute from hotel, but get the parking vouchers from mine host Adrian, £5 all day or £1.50 for 6pm till 10am next day.
Did see several Traffic Wardens patrolling the local district, so dont think you can get away with it

Room Tip: Breakfast was a bit sparse, you got one of everything, so it was a good job they did not have baked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent a weekend using The White House as the base for a birthday celebration in and around Canterbury. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIPs and stayed in a very comfortable room, our breakfasts were individually cooked as each person ordered it, the coffee was excellent and our hosts Adrian and Sharon couldn't do enough for us. we will be visiting Canterbury again and definitely staying at 'The White House

Room Tip: Just tell Adrain what you require and leave it to him
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLAPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This B&B has recently come under new ownership and has been transformed to a warm, inviting guest house furnished with luxurious amenities.

The bedroom I stayed in was well apportioned with recently replaced en suite facilities. The TV had enough channels to find something on (not always easy these days) and the room had a sturdy desk and chair allowing me work unencumbered.

Rarely for this day and age a black out blind was in place allowing the room to be kept cool as the sun set. A nice touch.

Rarely have I received such a warm and friendly welcome in the UK. Breakfast was good with a full array of cooked options accompanied by a pleasing buffet of lighter options.

Incredible value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Spent the weekend at the White House with 12 friends and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. All the rooms were to a high standard and as frequent visitors to Canterbury we would deffinately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

My husband and I visited Canterbury for the first time between Olympic events and stayed at the White House. Great choice of B & B: warm, friendly, comfortable and very convenient for all the local amenities, yet very peaceful too.
I would highly recommend a short break in this lovely city and if you do go a stay at the White House is recommended too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Spent two lovely days in Canterbury. The White House was perfect. Close to the centre ( yet quiet ), nice clean fresh rooms, good breakfast, attentive helpful owners. Good local knowledge and advice. Couldn't ask for more, will certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. The property is an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, originally reputed to have been the retirement home of Queen Victoria's Head Coachman and built in 1825. Our 4 Star Highly Commended accommodation is especially suited to discerning guests seeking a small intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children) and its ideal location, within the City walls, is an added bonus for those who enjoy soaking up the vibrant atmosphere of a University city and who appreciate good old fashioned personal service to the impersonality of national hotel chains. Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, soft pillows, with cool contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the best shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral and perhaps take in a show at the stunning new Marlowe Theatre.Parking couldn't be easier - across the road in the Pound Lane Car Park - with concessionary vouchers available to our guests at £6.00 for 24 hours ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing