We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley Perect For Every Type Of Traveler”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #7 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Set in a beautiful old house which retains all of its original character The White House Hotel couldn't be in a better location of the city. Right in the middle of the centre yet tucked away in a small side lane away from any traffic or noise. Minutes away from great restaurants, bars and all kinds of shops. There is a safe and secure car park directly opposite for which the hotel provides Canterbury's cheapest parking rates.
Imaculate rooms and dining area, lovely big beds and spacious contemporary bathrooms. Great breakfast menu and incredibly charming, welcoming and proffesional service given from the hotels owner.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Canterbury. Its perfect for business or leisure and great value for money.
I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the country due to my work and this one is among the best yet !!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have just spent a lovely weekend in Canterbury and the White House Hotel just made is great. The property is in a really good location and the facilities are of a very high standard with nothing left out. Our room was very well furnished and there was nothing that we could want for. The owner was a very friendly host and the breakfast was freshly cooked to order with all of the choices you would expect from a large chain hotel - without a doubt we would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it!

Room Tip: Room 1 is away from all other rooms and very peaceful - that being said we haven't stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I was enchanted with The White House! Loved the tasteful decor throughout, the comfort of my en-suite room, the location in the heart of Canterbury - almost next door to the superb Marlowe Theatre - yet in a quiet, pretty street. Adrian was a very welcoming and helpful host. The breakfast was excellent and I really enjoyed the freshly-cooked food served in the attractive dining room. I'd recommend The White House to anyone wanting a lovely base (with a bit of interesting history attached) in Canterbury.

Room Tip: As a single traveller I had a room at the top of the house at the front, and found it very pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing 2 night stay at The White House and would like to extend our thanks to host Adrian for making our stay so comfortable. From the courtesy calls prior to our arrival, to a warm welcome on our arrival and excellent advice and friendly service throughout our stay we have nothing but high praise for this great place. The location is incredible, so close to the High Street without any of the possible noise. The nearby car park and £5 daily vouchers available at the hotel meant we did not have to think about our car throughout our stay. The room itself, Rm 1, was immaculate, beautifully decorated, had the biggest and most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and the pillows and duvets were soft and fluffy. The bathroom with large shower was lovely too. Breakfasts were delicious and served in a friendly manner. We certainly would have no hesitation to stay again if we were to be in Canterbury again and would certainly recommend The White House to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 1 was so peaceful - we were not once disturbed by noise of any kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalierankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Very nice and tastefully decorated B & B, quite difficult to find modern B & B with history! Plenty of B & Bs in Canterbury with the olde worlde feel - but this is not for me! Room 5 was really nice, everything needed and spolessly clean. The whole house has a lovely feel to it and Adrian was most welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble. I didn't have the cooked breakfast but there was a great choice if required and once again everything was tastefully done with a modern twist without compromising the history attached to the building. I would definitely recommend - especially so for the location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Compared to the hotels in Canterbury this B&B offers great value for money with comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with a variety of different pillows which I like.

If you're staying for longer than one night I would recommend one of the larger rooms.

Little things like no indiviual shampoo and conditioners, only two milk pots and no radiator in the bathroom (only a heated towel rail) prevent this from being rated 5/5, however overall we had a good stay and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emi_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The White House is a beautiful old house with all modern amenities and furnishings, but retaining the character and charm of this listed building. It is within easy walking distance from the two railway stations and the bus station, in a peaceful side road, yet only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the main street.
Our on- suite room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The tea/coffee making facility in the room was complimented by the provision of bottled water. This is, in my opinion, an important facility but not one that is found in many such establishments.
Adrian, our host, was extremely attentive and helpful with his local knowledge. Breakfast was excellent; freshly and individually cooked using quality ingredients.
We enjoyed our three night stay and to sum up I would suggest you look at the excellent White House web site - what you see is what you will get.
There is an abundance of eating establishments in Canterbury, but if one is looking for a traditional style pub offering excellent freshly cooked food we would recommend the Millers' Arms; only a few minutes walk from the White House. Adrian will give you directions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2mercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
336 reviews
0 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £88 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. Located in the city centre in an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, accommodation is especially suited to guests seeking a smaller intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children or infants) Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, with contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral or to take in a show at the stunning Marlowe Theatre. We do not have on site parking but offer a concessionary rate of £6.00 for 24 hours in the public car park opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing