We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #7 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calne
Level Contributor
1 review
“Absolutely excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Excellent Hotel, tastefully decorated not just in the rooms but throughout the hotel, wonderfully big and extremely comfortable beds, gorgeous bathrooms. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast, Adrian was a lovely host, nothing was too much for him, friendly and thoughtful, great attention has obviously been paid to every detail a guest could want. Excellent location, tucked away down a charming side street but close to the shops, restaurants and pubs. We would unreservedly recommend this hotel and will definitely book there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs4Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    47
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
199
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Set in a beautiful old house which retains all of its original character The White House Hotel couldn't be in a better location of the city. Right in the middle of the centre yet tucked away in a small side lane away from any traffic or noise. Minutes away from great restaurants, bars and all kinds of shops. There is a safe and secure car park directly opposite for which the hotel provides Canterbury's cheapest parking rates.
Imaculate rooms and dining area, lovely big beds and spacious contemporary bathrooms. Great breakfast menu and incredibly charming, welcoming and proffesional service given from the hotels owner.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Canterbury. Its perfect for business or leisure and great value for money.
I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the country due to my work and this one is among the best yet !!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have just spent a lovely weekend in Canterbury and the White House Hotel just made is great. The property is in a really good location and the facilities are of a very high standard with nothing left out. Our room was very well furnished and there was nothing that we could want for. The owner was a very friendly host and the breakfast was freshly cooked to order with all of the choices you would expect from a large chain hotel - without a doubt we would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it!

Room Tip: Room 1 is away from all other rooms and very peaceful - that being said we haven't stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I was enchanted with The White House! Loved the tasteful decor throughout, the comfort of my en-suite room, the location in the heart of Canterbury - almost next door to the superb Marlowe Theatre - yet in a quiet, pretty street. Adrian was a very welcoming and helpful host. The breakfast was excellent and I really enjoyed the freshly-cooked food served in the attractive dining room. I'd recommend The White House to anyone wanting a lovely base (with a bit of interesting history attached) in Canterbury.

Room Tip: As a single traveller I had a room at the top of the house at the front, and found it very pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing 2 night stay at The White House and would like to extend our thanks to host Adrian for making our stay so comfortable. From the courtesy calls prior to our arrival, to a warm welcome on our arrival and excellent advice and friendly service throughout our stay we have nothing but high praise for this great place. The location is incredible, so close to the High Street without any of the possible noise. The nearby car park and £5 daily vouchers available at the hotel meant we did not have to think about our car throughout our stay. The room itself, Rm 1, was immaculate, beautifully decorated, had the biggest and most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and the pillows and duvets were soft and fluffy. The bathroom with large shower was lovely too. Breakfasts were delicious and served in a friendly manner. We certainly would have no hesitation to stay again if we were to be in Canterbury again and would certainly recommend The White House to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 1 was so peaceful - we were not once disturbed by noise of any kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalierankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Very nice and tastefully decorated B & B, quite difficult to find modern B & B with history! Plenty of B & Bs in Canterbury with the olde worlde feel - but this is not for me! Room 5 was really nice, everything needed and spolessly clean. The whole house has a lovely feel to it and Adrian was most welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble. I didn't have the cooked breakfast but there was a great choice if required and once again everything was tastefully done with a modern twist without compromising the history attached to the building. I would definitely recommend - especially so for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Compared to the hotels in Canterbury this B&B offers great value for money with comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with a variety of different pillows which I like.

If you're staying for longer than one night I would recommend one of the larger rooms.

Little things like no indiviual shampoo and conditioners, only two milk pots and no radiator in the bathroom (only a heated towel rail) prevent this from being rated 5/5, however overall we had a good stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emi_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. The property is an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, originally reputed to have been the retirement home of Queen Victoria's Head Coachman and built in 1825. Our 4 Star Highly Commended accommodation is especially suited to discerning guests seeking a small intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children) and its ideal location, within the City walls, is an added bonus for those who enjoy soaking up the vibrant atmosphere of a University city and who appreciate good old fashioned personal service to the impersonality of national hotel chains. Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, soft pillows, with cool contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the best shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral and perhaps take in a show at the stunning new Marlowe Theatre.Parking couldn't be easier - across the road in the Pound Lane Car Park - with concessionary vouchers available to our guests at £6.00 for 24 hours ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing