We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and serene”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #7 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
essex, uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central and serene”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This hotel is tucked behind the High Street away from any noise. We were lucky to have a room at the back, which overlooked the new Marlowe Theatre - a wonderful building and well worth a visit to one of its productions. Parking is in the public car park which is only 50 yards from the road you are in. A daily ticket can be obtained from the Hotel. Beware of your sat nav directions - ours sent us to dead ends, but just follow signs for the car park and you will be fine.

Our host, Adrain Olney was very welcoming and made our stay most enjoyable. His wife was busy with the lovely cooked breakfasts, so we did not meet her, but Adrian did a very good job front of house. There is a calm that permeates this hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. Our only minor issue would be lack of hangers and a chest of drawers, but we were only there for two days so it was not a problem.

In terms of location, this is perfect if you want to explore. You are 100 yards from the High Street, a walkable distance from the station if you come by train, and if you are lucky enough to be going to the Theatre you are minutes away. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room number 4, which has a metal four poster bed, lovely large shower and is at the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    50
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
208
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

If you are staying in Canterbury, you want to stay here. It's cosy, it's well-located, the breakfast is great, the beds comfortable, the host is personable and accommodating... there is nothing that could possibly make a stay at the White House (or anywhere, for that matter) any better than it already is.

The only reason you would want to stay anywhere else would be if the White House were already fully booked. And it might be, because everyone who stays there will probably want to come back. Book in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

As this was our first visit to Canterbury we had no idea what to expect. When we arrived at the White House we were greeted by Adrian who was right at the door to welcome us to his B & B. He made us feel right at home from the very start. You couldn't ask for a better host. It was very clean and comfortable with a delicious breakfast. The location is just a stones throw from the City Centre; a two minute walk and you are in the middle of Canterbury and all the shops and restaurants so the location is perfect. i would highly recommend this B & B if you plan on coming to Canterbury.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Sorry about the late review...It's our first visit to Canterbury and we arrived in the morning so wanted to leave our luggage in the B&B before exploring the city. The White House is centrally located and only minutes of walking distance to the old town centre, cathedral, etc. Adrian was an excellent and welcoming host with a good sense of humour, he even gave us an early check-in and made us really feel at home by showing and explaining everything of the room. The room we stayed was Room 1 which was spacious, clean, and beautifully furnished with tasteful decor, a big comfy queen bed and all necessities( even complimentary bottles of water, hot chocolate and biscuits were provided ). Room 1 was located just off the first stairway landing with a fire door, separated from all other rooms, and had a nice view of the garden and Marlowe Theatre from the window, so we enjoy a quiet and relaxing stay without any disturbance. We both had freshly and well cooked full English breakfast after having a very good night's sleep. A buffet table was also provided so we could help ourselves for juices, milks, cereals, butters/jams, and yogurts. We did enjoy our stay in the White House and regret that we stayed for only one night. Thank you Adrian! Don't be hesitated to stay here if having any chance to visit Canterbury.

Room Tip: Definitely Room 1! You won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed over on Saturday night with our friends. Rooms were fantastic - very well decorated and very clean. Service was great and the traditional breakfast was very tasty - proper sausages and everything!

Located right on the doorstep of the main high street and loads of bars, cafes and restaurants, I would definitely recommend this to anyone thinking of visiting Canterbury.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fool_For_A_Lifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was my second visit and I had no hesitation in booking again. Perfectly situated, welcomimg hosts - nothing too much trouble - lovely property with modern feel. Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Enjoyable quality breakfast (didn't have the cooked breakfast but it looked good and there was a good selection). My room (5) had everything in I needed so no complaints and I will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My wife & I had a lovely stay at the White House which is located just a stones throw from the main high st. Upon arrival our host Adrian explained the parking arrangements which at £6 for 24 hours we thought was excellent value given how close it is to the B&B and the town centre.
The building has been updated with both style & sensitivity and our room (6) was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and had a great shower. We had a restful sleep after a busy day & night in lovely Canterbury followed by a hearty breakfast.

Adrian proved to be was informative and charming so ignore the negative reviews as they are petty & unnecessary.
We will definitely book again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mph_Westcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. Located in the city centre in an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, accommodation is especially suited to guests seeking a smaller intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children or infants) Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, with contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral or to take in a show at the stunning Marlowe Theatre. We do not have on site parking but offer a concessionary rate of £6.00 for 24 hours in the public car park opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing