We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White House
Nearby Hotels
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Broome Park Hotel(Barham)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$117
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
321
56
4
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
56
4
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhigh streetcar parkmarlowe theatrequiet streetboutique hotelparking arrangementsa stones throwcentral locationguest housea lovely place to staybreakfast was deliciousvisit canterbury againexcellent hostscomfortable bedsyogurtfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Excellent Location, very close to good carpark, quiet street but a minutes walk from the town centre. Very clean and modern. We had a superior room in the back, it was roomy, comfortable, lovely bed and good sized ensuite. Breakfast was very pleasant, good quality and enough food. The host was friendly and attentative but not overbearing. Seriously, I can't fault this place.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 on the back, recommended, but given the location I suspect front or back of house makes little difference.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rooms were comfortable and clean, food was delicious. The White House location is just about perfect; only steps to the busiest parts of the town, but situated in a quiet alley off the main road. Adrian was a friendly, attentive, and helpful host, even going the extra mile to lend power adapters when we accidentally left ours behind. Highly recommend to all travelers in Canterbury!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jtedesco5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hard to fault the White House. Owner contacted me a couple of days prior to staying to check arrangements/preferences. Allowed to leave luggage early so that we could look round town unencumbered. Very clean and comfortable bedroom. Good choice for breakfast. Owner up for a bit of a chat. Very tasteful decor which is sympathetic to the style and period of the building.

Room Tip: We had a rom at the back which was very peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Last week we stayed for 4 days at The White House in Canterbury. A very nice B&B to stay for a short break, a warm welcome by the host. He was very helpful and attentive. Very nice and clean room, good breakfast and a good location in the centre of Canterbury. The White House is close to shops, restaurants and city centre. Our host Adrian was always interested in where we wanted to go and what we would like to see. He had some nice suggestions of places to visit. Adrian was also interested where we had dinner to night before and whether we liked it. We would certainly recommend to stay at The White House for a short stay, Can't wait to go another time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed here with a colleague as we'd got a course at the University. From booking, to arriving, to leaving the Proprietor Adrian was fantastic, he called me a couple of days before to check we were happy with directions and to give advice about sat navs and low and behold we nearly got lost but had pulled in just opposite a white house, to which Adrian came out and introduced himself, help us with our luggage and guided us to the car park. (the name and colour of the building should have given it away that we were in the right place!)
I'm not generally a fan of B&B's, they always seem to have hideous red carpets and deep fried breakfasts...well this is no ordinary B&B. The decor was amazing, attention to detail, beautiful accessories, a very comfy bed and an amazingly clean bathroom. I didn't think it could get better, then we had breakfast. Started with juice, cereals, fruit and yoghurts then there was a choice between cooked breakfasts - I had poached egg on a bed of mushrooms served on whole grain toast with a grilled tomato, my friend had scrambled egg with smoked salmon, we both had the full English the next day. Absolutely delicious! Perfectly situated for the centre of Canterbury or for exploring Herne Bay and Whitstable - my only complaint would be the noise of the seagulls but I'm a city girl so not used to it!
Would definitely recommend and hope to go back with my husband.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank loubieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews