We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every regard”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #6 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My family had a superb experience at the White House. The rooms were comfortable, the food was tasty, and our host was accommodating (and humorous). Just as important, The White House in conveniently located for both train access and access to the heart of Canterbury.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We chose this B&B off the back of its excellent Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. It is right in the centre of town, yet down a quiet lane, so does not suffer from traffic noise. The owners are fantastically hospitable and cook a mean full English! The room was lovely and had heaps of charm. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were invited to attended our friends birthday meal at the end of November , so we looked far and wide for the right hotel. The White House was recommended to us as the place to stay. We found it to be a beautiful we'll run family boutique style accommodation, the room was tastefully decorated,comfortable, clean and well laid out, It is right in the heart of Canterbury and Adrian was very helpful with where to go and what to see. The hotel catered for everything right down to the tasty breakfast, the number of personal touches including the welcoming bottle of sparking to celebrate my birthday which was a few days earlier . We had a fantastic stay and will be going back. Well done Adrian and Sharon

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were one of four couples booked into 4 standard double rooms for the weekend. We arrived in Canterbury at 2pm intending to park the car and spend the afternoon in Canterbury. We weren't bothered about checking in but did need a car parking permit from the White House.
We are a well travelled couple and can honestly say we have never before received such a rude and brusque reception, conducted on the doorstep. We felt properly 'told off' by Adrian for arriving 3 hours earlier than expected and the fact that he did not know our names. It turned out that our friends who made the booking had advised him of our party's estimated arrival time but we were unaware if this and it certainly didn't justify such an off hand reception.

He then sought to compose himself and 'welcome' us inside and insisted on booking us in. He told us the rooms were ready and he had allocated the rooms to our party and had given the slightly nicer room to the couple who had made the booking-we were ok with this. The other rooms he assured us were equivalent. However we did not find this to be the case. He gave us room 6 - the smallest double room (we saw our friend’s rooms) on the top floor at the front of the house. It had a small double bed and small en suite and nowhere to dry the towels. But for us the worst aspect was the noise from distant traffic and a few passers by in the early hours.

Our friends who were given the room next door -no 7 -said Adrian told them they looked like a nice couple and asked them if they would like a quiet room! Room 7 is a larger room more attractively decorated and as promised quiet.

On the last morning at breakfast we mentioned the noise and that we hadn't slept well on either night and that perhaps a room at the back of the house would have suited us better. Adrian agreed that the rooms at the back of the house were quieter than the front. His response to "it would have been good to have had a choice of room" was met with a curt “management decision " as he walked off!!

So, what's good about the White House? it's spotlessly clean, attractive decor and in a perfect location for exploring all that Canterbury has to offer. We enjoyed evensong on Saturday at 3.15 at the Cathedral (free admission). We had two very reasonably priced meals at Leonora's Kitchen and Cafe Mauresque. We particularly liked Leonora's kitchen - small and relaxed, delicious home cooking.

We had a fab weekend despite our experience with Adrian. We won't be returning to the White House due to his odd manner and his sarcastic sense of humour which at times barely disguised his obvious irritation eg late comers for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lap56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time last night. Excellent accommodation in the heart of Canterbury but without the late night noise!
Welcoming hosts and first class breakfast.
Recommend this B&B to anyone looking to spend some time in Canterbury.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank lol710udr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a lovely place to stay - location is perfect right in the centre of the city. Parking arrangements are good - very close by, and at a reasonable price. Accommodation of a very high standard, décor good. Breakfast of good standard with very efficient, friendly service. Adrian is an excellent host.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeisureDayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Adrian and Sharon have been most welcoming and accommodating. Brilliant location in the heart of the city but away from the hustle and bustle. Gorgeous decor and the room was spacious and finished to a very high standard. A little bit of luxury. Breakfast was excellent, as was the whole stay. Highly recommend this charming b and b. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#1 of 74 in Canterbury
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £90 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. Located in the city centre in an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, accommodation is especially suited to guests seeking a smaller intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children or infants) Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, with contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral or to take in a show at the stunning Marlowe Theatre. We do not have on site parking but offer a concessionary rate of £6.00 for 24 hours in the public car park opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing