We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White House
Nearby Hotels
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
323
56
4
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
56
4
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetcar parkmarlowe theatrequiet streetboutique hotelparking arrangementsa stones throwcentral locationguest housea lovely place to staybreakfast was deliciousvisit canterbury againexcellent hostscomfortable bedsyogurtfull englishsuperb location
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Words alone cannot do The White House justice, you simply have to stay there to see for yourself how elegant and peaceful it is and how welcoming and warm Mr & Mrs Olney are.
They made our stay extra special with their thoughtfulness and generosity, we stayed on Valentine's night and were greeted in our room with a red rose, box of chocolates and little card.
We are looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen-Cronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Lovely and clean very friendly with a great choice for breakfast and most helpful host, right in the centre of Canterbury near all amenities, nice to find a single room that was less expensive than the double sixth no extra supplementary charge.

Room Tip: Just a nice stay
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks very exclusive from the outside, it felt like quite a privilege to be staying for the night!

The welcome was friendly. The room was small but perfectly formed with a large en suite bathroom including a huge bath and a shower. The bed was comfy and the room spotlessly clean and well decorated. The only downside was being at the front on the first floor I was woken by noisy (drunk) passersby in the early hours a few times which was a shame but not the fault of the hotel or owners.

The breakfast was lovely, a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, juices and yoghurt with a cooked breakfast and toast on request. The dining room is a pretty setting with fresh roses on the table.

The location couldn't be better for Canterbury, a few steps and you're on the main street. I would stay again and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Claire_Leanne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

A wonderful weekend visit to Canterbury and a super boutique style B&B. Beautiful character building in a central location just off the main drag. Exceptional taste with the decor inside and out. Lovely hosts and we'd love to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesaundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for a single night in February while visiting our daughter at CCU and watching a concert in the cathedral. Honestly, I can't think of anything but good things to say about the place.
We were warmly welcomed on our arrival (but not over-warmly like some places) and the room - advertised as "snug" - was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. We were able to come and go as we pleased but felt that if we had any questions the on-site owners were easy to approach.
The location, in a side street from Canterbury's main shopping area was convenient for the attractions, shops and restaurants. (If there is one this I could complain about it was that this meant that we we woken in the night by drunken students passing but this was not the hotel's fault and I was instantly asleep again in the super-comfortable bed!)
Breakfast was excellently cooked on-demand with a small buffet of cerials and juices also available.
This hotel is a little gem and my only reservation about prainsing it so highly is that by encouraging visitors I might find it harder to book next time!

Room Tip: The rooms face either the road or the Marlowe Theatre - I don;t know if either would be quieter?
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdCraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews