We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location and lovely place”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #7 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great location and lovely place”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found our visit here to be just right. The location is part of what is great. While it is just around the corner from the busy High Street, the White House is on a fairly quiet street and feels a bit removed from the business of town. My elderly mother was able to easily walk to the theater, the Cathedral and all the sights but feel like she had a place to get away and relax. The host was friendly and helpful. I really appreciated his help in details like calling a cab when we needed one and thinking through options in town. Regarding the rooms, we had two and both were very comfortable. Personally, I loved the style of the renovation and I found everything I needed in the room. Overall, it was a great place at a good price in an ideal locations. Enjoy your time in Canterbury.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyonoakdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    49
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
202
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The white house has comfortable beds, cosy rooms and breakfast room, and outstanding customer service. I travel to Canterbury once or twice a year on business, and I never even think of booking anywhere else (unless the White House is full). The location is great for walking from rail station, and wandering around the town. Delicious breakfast served with a smile and just enough nice conversation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I'm always looking for smart, chic boutique accommodation whenever I'm travelling and search hard for the perfect city getaway.

I needed somewhere to stay last weekend (9th August) that was convenient to the train station and with decent proximity to the wedding venue (alas, not Canterbury cathedral - though that's literally a five minute walk from The Whitehouse).

The pictures on of the venue online don't quite do it justice. It's tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with a genuine attention to the detail. Great breakfast too!

My major praise for The Whitehouse though goes to Adrian, who runs it with his wife. I felt that I was being personally welcomed into their home and observed that Adrian took the time to get to understand the needs of his guests.

A great example of his exemplary customer service is the fact that he knew I was attending a wedding at Preston Court, 20 minutes away, and, knowing I was running to a very tight schedule, took it upon himself to not only order me a taxi in advance of my arrival but had realised that there was a couple also staying at the Whitehouse who by coincidence were attending the same wedding - he introduced us and we shared the taxi!

Make this beautiful Grade II listed Regency house the place of choice when visiting Canterbury.

Thank you

Paul

Room Tip: I stayed in a single room on the top floor which was lovely. I chatted to a couple who stayed all w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJReece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I recently visited Canterbury for a wedding and stayed at The White House for two nights. The b&b is lovely and we had a great stay. The owners could not have been more friendly or helpful - which made us feel very welcome.

The rooms are lovely and stylish. The Super King-size bed was also a big win!

The breakfasts each morning were also lovely - a choice of cereals, yoghurts, or a very yummy cooked breakfast.

One last thing to mention - the b&b is in a fab location - quiet road just off the main highstreet. Lots of restaurents nearby - as well as a car park.

We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My large family and I have enjoyed Adrian's warm hospitality in his hotel several times and loved it. At our last visit to Canterbury where we celebrated my daughter's graduation, one more time we revisited the hotel and enjoyed the personalized rooms, the very comfortable beds, the spotless en-suite bathrooms (I asked Adrian to the secret of such sparkle...), the delicious breakfast in the morning and the best coffee. A very special little hotel in a quiet location but a step away from the town centre and the most beautiful Cathedral. It should be everyone's choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annamaria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently spent a Saturday night here and loved the central location of the White House which offers high levels of comfort in a very tastefully decorated establishment. We were warmly welcomed and pleasantly surprised that our room was ready despite our early arrival. The only downside was that at night there was a lot of noise from the street which did not subside until after 3.00 am. Of course, this is something completely beyond the owners' control and is doubtless the price to be paid for such an excellent location. Next time we will be sure to request a room at the back of the property!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was the perfect place for my dad and I. After a long journey from London and staying in a very basic hotel in Kensington and Chelsea with poor service the warm welcome from Adrian was so refreshing. He was extremely helpful and went out of his way to help us with every little thing, finding a place to eat, booking taxis, getting our clothes ironed and shoes cleaned. I had a lot of luggage and he helped us carry everything to our room. This is the kind of hospitality and service one dreams about on holiday. The breakfast was delicious and I cannot stress on how great the service was! It is well located within minutes from the city centre and the famous Canterbury Cathedral. I would go back there in a heart beat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgym2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. The property is an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, originally reputed to have been the retirement home of Queen Victoria's Head Coachman and built in 1825. Our 4 Star Highly Commended accommodation is especially suited to discerning guests seeking a small intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children) and its ideal location, within the City walls, is an added bonus for those who enjoy soaking up the vibrant atmosphere of a University city and who appreciate good old fashioned personal service to the impersonality of national hotel chains. Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, soft pillows, with cool contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the best shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral and perhaps take in a show at the stunning new Marlowe Theatre.Parking couldn't be easier - across the road in the Pound Lane Car Park - with concessionary vouchers available to our guests at £6.00 for 24 hours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing