We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff!”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We have just come back from a couple of nights at the Lodge. There could not be a more perfect place to stay in Canterbury. The staff on reception are cheerful ,friendly and helpful .
When a member of staff at breakfast noted my husbands Lactofree milk said ' Ring us next time we will provide it for you'.Maps were provided of the city and suggestions about were to eat were given.We shall definitely stay there next time we go to Canterbury.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleABedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. It is always pleasing to hear that our guests have received excellent customer service. Please be assured that I will be sharing your feedback with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    305
    67
    18
    10
See reviews for
159
666
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

There are only 30 rooms in the lodge next to the cathedral . The rooms are comfotable although the double bed is small for 2 people. The wi fi signal is weak and did not work all the time.
The room was very quiet and overlooked a beautiful courtyard. The bathroom was basic but Ok . Great block out curtains on the windows and the windows can be opened ( no air con) so could sleep with windows open. Breakfast could be improved with fresh fruit, berries, melons etc better quality yoghurt and cereals, muesli, porridge etc and grain bread

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered with the Wi-Fi signal. Since receiving your review, we have tested the signal, but have not managed to identify any weak spots. I have also spoken with our Chef and Restaurant Manager to ensure a full selection of breads are available on a daily basis.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to pass on your constructive comments and if you happen to visit Canterbury again we hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2011

On our last day of a driving road trip visiting cathedrals in the southern part of England, we entered Canterbury in the late afternoon. We were lucky enough to have just walked into the Cathedral Lodge and booked a room for one night. (We felt that that in itself was a little miracle.) The grounds were just beautiful with the gardens in bloom, and the view from our room of the Cathedral was particularly special. We heard the church bells (softly) and even a bit of the choir singing Evensong. The room was absolutely clean and comfortable. The receptionist both in the evening and the morning were extremely kind and courteous. One special feature, we wondered into the Library for International Studies located across from the reception desk, and looked at classic books, i.e. Canterbury Tales, published in the mid 1800's!!! Collections of works by Shakespeare, Browning, etc were there, to my daughter's delight, as well as books on mysticism, and history. I could not say enough about this wonderful place, and God bless them!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to learn you received a warm welcome and were happy with the quality of your accommodation.

It is so nice to hear our guests enjoy staying with us and have managed to make use of books contained within the Library. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Gaddesden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We somehow managed to get a room at this wonderful hotel at short notice. Nestled within the precincys of the Cathedral, this has to be one of the best kept secrets. Faultless.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always worth checking for availability, as we sometimes receive last minute cancellations. We were thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Booked hotel last minute but our room was excellent with amazing views over the cathedral. The staff were all friendly and helpful and answered all our questions. And the location is FANTASTIC. Right next to the cathedral and right in the centre of town. We will definitely stay there again and hopefully for more than 1 night next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamarTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Please acccept my sincere thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a good experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

my very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Canterbury Cathedral Lodge overlooks Canterbury Cathedral in the cathedral close. The rooms are clean and modern, and the Lodge provides a sumptuous breakfast. You have to go to the library to use WiFi but that wasn't a problem since the library was pleasant and comfortable. You are steps from old Canterbury, which is filled with attractive shops. The least attractive part was pulling our luggage over cobbled streets to the cathedral gate. We would stay there again if we returned to Canterbury.

Room Tip: Contact them early to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank always5over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We were pleased to hear you loved the location and had an enjoyable experience. I can confirm our free wi-fi service should cover all areas of the building. I am sorry if this was not functioning correctly during you stay with us.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to pass on your constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This hotel is certainly unique in it's location but it took quite a while to find it. We had to phone to get directions to guide us in as we had driven around the ring road a couple of times - is there any possibility of having a sign for the hotel put up on the ring road? Even more confusion when we drove through into the grounds as the man on the barrier wasn't exactly forthcoming with his directions. We paid an extra £5 for parking but Reception handed us an A4 sheet of paper and told us to park (if there was a space) in the entrance road. Luckily someone was just leaving so we grabbed their space fast but did we actually need to pay extra for parking?? We stayed in the annexe part of the hotel and our double room was lovely with great views of the cathedral and nice comfy beds. My Mum was in the single room next to us which although on the small side (which she is used to as a single traveller) was adequate for her stay. Breakfast was excellent and the staff helpful and ready with a smile (especially the young lady on duty on Sunday morning) - nice clean restuarant/breakfast room. All in all this was good value for money and you cannot beat where it is for being right in the heat of the city.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Thank you for posting your recent review. It is always pleasing to receive such positive comments from our guests, especially as we always strive to deliver the highest quality of service. Please be assured that I will be sharing your feedback with the rest of the team.
With reference to your suggestion regarding signage, I can confirm a previous application to the Council for additional directional signage was declined. Your feedback is invaluable and will hopefully aid our case when we ask the Council to consider reviewing their decision.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing