We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best location in canterbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

If you want to stay in a quiet but cental location of Canterbury, then this is it. The lodge itself is very hard to find, however once you find it, it is worth all the hassle of getting lost several times!! The lodge is very peaceful, staff are friendly. Rooms are fine, clean and have everything you need for a short stay, however the bed was quite uncomfortable, very soft and sunk in the middle, but it was only for one night so we coped. A room with a view of the catherdral stunning.There was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast, cooked and continental. The best part for us was after 9pm people staying at the lodge could wander the grounds until 11pm. This was amazing. Looking at the catherdral all lit up at night with no other people around was stunning and very romantic. Me and my partner will definantly return to the lodge soon and stay longer next time. Parking our car in a public car park outside the Catherdral grounds made us feel a little uneasy, however you can reserve spaces within the grounds if you ring the Lodge in advance. They only have 15 spaces so we may be lucky next time we visit. Our car was fine by the way in the public car park!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judotlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2011

Thank you for posting your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was sorry to hear you had difficulty finding the hotel and that the mattress was not to your liking. Please accept my reassurances that we are trying our utmost to improve directional signage on the approach to the hotel. We were pleased you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

Because I often travel alone I prefer hotels with good Tripadvisor reviews.
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is one of those hotels you want to return to.
i stayed here for six nights during a teachers language trainings course in Canterbury.
The hotel is very comfortable, nice cosy room and a great view from my bedroom window.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is extensive with an excellent choice. The hotel is situated on the grounds of the Canterbury Cathedral. You receive a card to show security when you return to the hotel after 9.p.m.
An excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. It always pleasing to hear our customers have enjoyed their stay. Our aim is to provide a high level of service and facilities and we were delighted to learn we met your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the country.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Very friendly & helpful staff.
Great breakfast, super location

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelista15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in September.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Lodge is a new conference and acommodation centre in the cathedral grounds. It has approx 30 rooms which have tea making facilities and tv, plus en suite. Rooms are on a bed and breakfast basis, but there is a library or the garden where you can chill out and order any of the small selection of drinks available. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We were not able to park in the cathedral grounds as all the spaces were gone, but were able to purchase a daily 24 hr £5 parking ticket from reception, for the public car park just outside the cathedral walls and this was not an inconvenience. It was lovely to have the grounds to yourself once the main gates had been locked, which meant that you could walk around the grounds in the morning or evening, when the public are not allowed in. Your lodge pass allows you to have unlimited access to the cathedral during visiting hours, and allows you to come and go of an evening as and when you wish, through the main gate into the busy street. You will not need an alarm clock as the Cathedral bells will wake you, but they do not chime too early to be a nuisance. However my only complaint is at breakfast, where the food was lovely but the staff need to notice when things like scrambled eggs or bacon are getting low and replenish them quicker so that guests are not left waiting such a long time. The Lodge is somewhere I would definitely stay in again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sued416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is a truly wonderful place to stay once you find it. The traffic complexity of Canterbury is tiring, but once there all is forgotten. The Lodge was spotless, and our welcome was warm and lovely. We really liked our room, which was very quiet and supplied with everything we needed. I am sorry to read that others had problems with sound, because we felt we were the only ones in the building, it was so serene and quiet. We felt very safe here too. And the locations is simply awesome. We appreciated the buffet breakfast too. The cathedral passes were a wonderful extra. Thank you so much! We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 July 2011

Dear Reviewer,

It is so rewarding for us to hear that your experience at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge was everything you hoped it would be. My sincere thanks for taking the time so review the Lodge and for letting us know that our efforts are appreciated!

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lodge on your next visit to the UK.

kindest regards

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

To be staying so close and to have a view of the Cathedral from our bedroom window was great. The room was not that big but we were only there for one night so it wasn't a problem for us. The best thing though is the staff - all very friendly and helpful (especially Tom the night Security Guard who was there on our return from dinner - a lovely man!). We thought the breakfast was excellent. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and families.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bex67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. It is always pleasing to learn our guests have received excellent customer service. Please be assured that I will be sharing your feedback with Tom and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Having read the other reviews before we arrived at this hotel, we were prepared for not being able to find it easily. (I am reasonably good at navigating and finding places, so whilst prepared, I was shocked when even with the help of my trusted iPhone, took about half an hour driving round trying to find it). So I'll give you a hint!...

You need to drive down a road on the left when travelling along the A28 in a North-Easterly fashion, called Burgate. There is a Wetherspoons pub (Thomas Ingoldsby) on the right-hand side (easily missable if you're unaware to look for it). Go past the pub. There will be an entrance on the right-hand side of the road, with a blue gate. There is an arrow on the floor, which indicates that it's an exit, but it's both (it's traffic lighted further in), and there will be a man in a hut, with a barrier. This is where you will need to go through if you arrive before the gates close, so that you can drop off your bags at reception, and collect your car parking pass (unless you are very lucky to book early and get a reserved space inside the grounds).

Unfortunately this was not the case with us - we had booked 2 car passes at £5 per 24hours, and had to park in one of the city car parks, which I wasn't keen on doing particularly as you lose sight of the car. I was hoping that it hadn't been broken into whilst we were staying at the hotel. We were fortunate enough however to get a space in the Queningate car park, outside the city walls, but just at the end of Burgate and to the left, so not too far to walk.

The hotel itself was very nice. Reminded me a little of a cross-between somewhere you went and stayed on a school trip, and a french campanile hotel! I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room itself - and we were very lucky to have one of the largest rooms, with a bay window on the ground floor.

Everywhere was very clean and tidy and modern, (but with some 'old' styling - eg. the window frames) however as we were visiting in a heatwave, I was disappointed that the only air cooling on offer was the ventilation from the windows! The bathroom was nice, but it would have been better to have had a bit more lighting in the shower end of the bathroom.

I did find my bed a little bit too soft, and slightly uncomfortable the second night I stayed on it, but I do wonder whether that was mainly me being uncomfortable due to the heat - so won't mark them down on that!

Breakfast (being the only meal that they offer at this hotel) was of a very decent standard - and comparable to other hotels I've stayed at. Hot and cold buffet style, pastries, juice, and plenty of tea and coffee.

I was impressed that reception automatically gave out the wireless code on a card with your keycards, and grounds pass/shopping discount card, without having to ask for it - and the code lasted the whole stay. Connection speed was very good.

The location of the hotel was superb. For those that enjoy historic buildings and cathedrals/religious sites, then this would be highly recommended. We were encouraged to visit the Cathedral - well worth the tour, and we even sat in on an evening service when we heard the bells sound, after a cup of tea in our room.

We were told that the gates to the Cathedral grounds closed at 9pm, and we would be entitled to walk the grounds until 11pm at night. After that is not allowed! (Whilst I didn't want to walk the grounds after 11pm, I did find this restriction quite odd!) Seeing as the hotel only provides breakfast, we got lunch and dinner in town. However, if you come back after 9pm, you need to go to the entrance from the square (where Sun Street meets Burgate, opposite Strada), and security will let you through the tiny door within a door upon production of your pass.

As I may have mentioned - the location of the hotel could not have been better. We did not use the car for 2 whole days, and walked up and down all the streets within the city walls. So many shops and restaurants!! I'm definitely going to have to come back.

The only annoying things about this hotel is finding it in the first place, not being able to leave your car within easy reach of the hotel, despite it appearing like there was plenty of parking available within the grounds, and the time restrictions for coming back of an evening.

Room Tip: Ask for the bay window on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience and were happy with the quality of accommodation.

I am sorry the hot temperatures made your room uncomfortable. We have now purchased fans for all bedrooms.

Please accept my apologies for the difficulty you experienced whilst trying to locate us. I appreciate the entrance is not obvious for visitors who aren’t familiar with Canterbury. We have tried to make the process of finding us a simple as possible with the Satnav and written instruction links contained on our website “Find Us” page.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £96 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing