We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Once we found the Postern Gate off Burgate it was easy! Parked outside the 'Lodge' just across from the Cathedral. Staff were friendly and efficient, even helping us in with our luggage from the car to our rooms - no mean feat as we had a boot full!!! The rooms were delightful and overlooked the courtyard.
The location is second to none - being right in the middle of the old part of the city is just wonderful. It was lovely at night to be able to wander and take in the beauty of the Cathedral.
Breakfast in the dining room with the sun streaming in was a very pleasant start to the day and sitting in the Library enjoying the quiet after a busy day was equally delightful.
We found everything about the 'Lodge' exceeded our expectations and our stay in Canterbury was one we will remember fondly for a very long time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is always pleasing to hear our guests have received good quality customer service and that we have met their expectations. Please accept my reassurances that I will be sharing your kind comments with the rest of the team.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
There are newer reviews for Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

If you want to stay in a quiet but cental location of Canterbury, then this is it. The lodge itself is very hard to find, however once you find it, it is worth all the hassle of getting lost several times!! The lodge is very peaceful, staff are friendly. Rooms are fine, clean and have everything you need for a short stay, however the bed was quite uncomfortable, very soft and sunk in the middle, but it was only for one night so we coped. A room with a view of the catherdral stunning.There was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast, cooked and continental. The best part for us was after 9pm people staying at the lodge could wander the grounds until 11pm. This was amazing. Looking at the catherdral all lit up at night with no other people around was stunning and very romantic. Me and my partner will definantly return to the lodge soon and stay longer next time. Parking our car in a public car park outside the Catherdral grounds made us feel a little uneasy, however you can reserve spaces within the grounds if you ring the Lodge in advance. They only have 15 spaces so we may be lucky next time we visit. Our car was fine by the way in the public car park!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judotlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2011

Thank you for posting your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was sorry to hear you had difficulty finding the hotel and that the mattress was not to your liking. Please accept my reassurances that we are trying our utmost to improve directional signage on the approach to the hotel. We were pleased you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Because I often travel alone I prefer hotels with good Tripadvisor reviews.
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is one of those hotels you want to return to.
i stayed here for six nights during a teachers language trainings course in Canterbury.
The hotel is very comfortable, nice cosy room and a great view from my bedroom window.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is extensive with an excellent choice. The hotel is situated on the grounds of the Canterbury Cathedral. You receive a card to show security when you return to the hotel after 9.p.m.
An excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. It always pleasing to hear our customers have enjoyed their stay. Our aim is to provide a high level of service and facilities and we were delighted to learn we met your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the country.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Very friendly & helpful staff.
Great breakfast, super location

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelista15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in September.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Lodge is a new conference and acommodation centre in the cathedral grounds. It has approx 30 rooms which have tea making facilities and tv, plus en suite. Rooms are on a bed and breakfast basis, but there is a library or the garden where you can chill out and order any of the small selection of drinks available. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We were not able to park in the cathedral grounds as all the spaces were gone, but were able to purchase a daily 24 hr £5 parking ticket from reception, for the public car park just outside the cathedral walls and this was not an inconvenience. It was lovely to have the grounds to yourself once the main gates had been locked, which meant that you could walk around the grounds in the morning or evening, when the public are not allowed in. Your lodge pass allows you to have unlimited access to the cathedral during visiting hours, and allows you to come and go of an evening as and when you wish, through the main gate into the busy street. You will not need an alarm clock as the Cathedral bells will wake you, but they do not chime too early to be a nuisance. However my only complaint is at breakfast, where the food was lovely but the staff need to notice when things like scrambled eggs or bacon are getting low and replenish them quicker so that guests are not left waiting such a long time. The Lodge is somewhere I would definitely stay in again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sued416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is a truly wonderful place to stay once you find it. The traffic complexity of Canterbury is tiring, but once there all is forgotten. The Lodge was spotless, and our welcome was warm and lovely. We really liked our room, which was very quiet and supplied with everything we needed. I am sorry to read that others had problems with sound, because we felt we were the only ones in the building, it was so serene and quiet. We felt very safe here too. And the locations is simply awesome. We appreciated the buffet breakfast too. The cathedral passes were a wonderful extra. Thank you so much! We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 July 2011

Dear Reviewer,

It is so rewarding for us to hear that your experience at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge was everything you hoped it would be. My sincere thanks for taking the time so review the Lodge and for letting us know that our efforts are appreciated!

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lodge on your next visit to the UK.

kindest regards

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

To be staying so close and to have a view of the Cathedral from our bedroom window was great. The room was not that big but we were only there for one night so it wasn't a problem for us. The best thing though is the staff - all very friendly and helpful (especially Tom the night Security Guard who was there on our return from dinner - a lovely man!). We thought the breakfast was excellent. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and families.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bex67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. It is always pleasing to learn our guests have received excellent customer service. Please be assured that I will be sharing your feedback with Tom and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £93 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing