We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Correct some misconceptions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Correct some misconceptions”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Friends and I stayed at the Lodge from 26 to 27 August and had a lovely, relaxed time.
We'd read previous reviews and found some of them a bit wanting.
First; the problem of finding it, still true, I'm afraid. Once you get there, they give you a detailed City map so, with a bit of luck, you can get back but it would be nice to have such a detailed map, large scale, on their websiter The hotel, naturally, want to put up signs but the City won't let them. Shame!
Secondly, getting into the secure Cathedral compound at night, after 9.00 pm. Not the slightest problem. You go to the North gate, ring the bell and the cheery security guard welcomes you in.
Thirdly, no bar. They don't need one. There's the splendid library with the receptionist outside the door. She has a good enough list of wines, beers and spirits which she is all too pleased to bring to you in a much more tranquil place than any noisy bar.
Yes, of course there are compromises. The beds are a bit narrow, the bedsise tables a bit low and chamfered so things fall off. Not all rooms have a view of the Cathedral by day and spectacularly so by night but mine did. It was thrilling.
Prof Geoffrey Broadbent, guest of Dr R James.

Room Tip: No idea, it was luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Prof Broadbent,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Lodge.
I am so pleased that you where happy with all aspects of your stay. I am sorry to say that you are correct about your comment regarding City Signage. We have tried in vain, to gain permission to have The Lodge signposted in The City. However, The Cathedral is signposted, so if you follow signs for the Cathedral, you will find us too. Guests visiting us for the first time find it hard to believe just how close to The Cathedral we are!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

warmest regards

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    309
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
163
678
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My two teenage children and I stayed here for one night. Decided on a whim to 'do' Canterbury so this was a last minute booking. It's a delightful little hotel in a fabulous location and perfect for exploring Canterbury. The rooms were perfect for our needs - modern and spotless - and very reasonably priced. Finding the hotel, and then parking, is a little tricky, but is more than compensated for by the surroundings of the hotel. The beautiful cathedral is a stone's throw away. We were able to explore and go to Evensong with little effort. Beautifully quiet and peaceful at night after the gates are shut. The breakfast was very nice and beautifully served. Only gripe there was that the 'hot' food was a little tepid - but that's not exactly unusual these days of buffet style breakfasts. The staff were all friendly and helpful. I would have loved to have stayed longer and if I go to Canterbury again, I'll definitely be staying here if I can.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JECW_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Lodge. I'm glad to hear that you where able to book a room at short notice. It is always worth checking our availablility!

We serve a buffet style English Breakfast so that guest can be served promptly and get exactly what they want. This is monitored and replenished regularly however, we are always happy to replenish on request.

I am delighted to hear that we will be your preferred choice of hotel on your next visit to Canterbury and we look forward to seeing you again.

my very best wishes.

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge in July. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were very clean and functional, and the breakfast was quite acceptable. The location, however, inside the walls and on the cathedral grounds is truly exceptional. The Lodge provides you with free admission to the Cathedral, and discounts at some area restaurants and pubs. When the gates close at night, the grounds are not open to the public, and those srtaying at the Lodge have the area to themselves. We spent a good part of one evening walking around the Cathedral bathed in moonlight all by ourselves. The Lodge is also located in the city center just off the main square - very convenient. The only slight problem is that if you are driving, finding the Lodge can be a little challenging. I would suggest calling ahead and getting very specific directions. While in Canterbury, we loved the Roman Museum and the guided walking tours offered by the Tourist Center off the main square. We were less excited with the small boat tours, which were very short and not all that enlightening.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am please you took advantage of the wonderful Cathedral Grounds at Night. We are very lucky to be in such a special location and are delighted we can share this with our guests.

Many thanks for your kind words.

my very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Simple furnishings and bathroom but clean and quiet with nice breakfast. The cathedral is awesome and the grounds are nice to enjoy after dinner. Walk outside the gates to all the shops and restaurants. A lovely place to stay the night before departing from Dover for a cruise. The taxi from Canterbury to Dover is about 30 minutes or less.

Room Tip: Get room with view of Cathedral. No air-conditioning but they brought in fans and it was pleasant in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue44044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear reviewer,

I am delighted that your stay with us was a comfortable break during your travels . Our distance from Dover does make us and ideal location for a stop over when travelling to and from Europe.

We look forward to welcoming back to the Lodge again soon.

my very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here for one night during our visit to Canterbury. If you want to stay next to the Cathedral then this is the place to be. We were very frustrated while trying to find the Lodge as it is not easy. I found a very helpful gentleman in a nearby shop who was able to provide us with directions. Once we finally found the gate, there was some confusion as our name had been marked off of the list at the Security Gate. The Guard was very kind and gave us a pass to proceed to the Lodge. Once inside we were told that we would not be able to park inside and were given a pass to an outside lot. Luckily we only had two rolling cases as we did have to travel quite a ways back to the Lodge. The mattress was very uncomfortable and we did not rest well. Breakfast the next morning was quite hectic and many items were not available. The view of the Cathedral was fantastic. The young lady on the desk in the evening was delightful and so very helpful. It was a great location for visiting the Cathedral.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the2Dacys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your constructive feedback. I was disappointed to hear about the difficulty you experienced whilst trying to locate the hotel and for any confusion caused over your parking arrangements. Guests who do not have allocated parking within the grounds, are always welcome to drop their luggage off at the hotel before parking their vehicle in the public car parks. I apologise the mattress was not to your liking and if some items were unavailable during breakfast. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of the team at the hotel to ensure the necessary corrective measures are taken.

I was delighted you found the receptionist helpful and that you liked the location of the hotel. If you return to Canterbury in the future, we hope you may afford us another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The location is outstanding being within the precincts. When the gate is shut at 9pm and all visitors have gone, you can wander and enjoy the peace in the precincts. Also before gate opens in the morning. You also get free entry to the Cathedral. If arranged beforehand there is some parking available in the precincts too. The room was fine (though bed perhaps a bit short) and well equipped, ours was actually a disabled room and they seem to have several. Breakfast good, better than expected, though only bread was sliced for toast. Good cooked selection.
As very central in the city, excellent for shops. They recommend restaurants some of which give discount for guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milbyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent feedback of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. Please accept my reassurances that all bedrooms within the hotel have a standard length mattress. I have noted your comments about a lack of bread selection at Breakfast and will address this matter with our Food & Beverage Manager. I was pleased to learn all other aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We booked an overnight stay here and were very impressed. Where else in Canterbury could you have such a wonderful view of the Cathedral and be able to hear the hypnotic sound of Evensong?
The staff were friendly and helpful and the room, whilst compact, very comfortable. We would hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winifredholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were thrilled to hear that you were impressed with the hotel and enjoyed its unique location. Please accept my reassurances that I will be sharing the contents of your review with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,877 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing