We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights only. The hotel is within the Cathedral grounds & very secure for this reason. You are given a pass to be able to gain access to the hotel & grounds after cathedral visiting hours have finished.

Hotel car parking spaces are limited but we had booked one in advance, luckily. It is quite a jaunt from the nearest public car park & because the streets in town are so busy & narrow it wouldn't have been easy to transfer luggage had we not have done so. The extra charge for the parking space was £5 for the visit & very well worth it.

The vehicular entrance to the hotel was very hard to find as it is a narrow gap in between buildings with no signage. I had to get out of the car in the end to ask directions from a cathedral steward. We were informed by the hotel reception when we eventually arrived that they had asked the council if they could put a sign up to indicate the entrance, but permission had been refused.

The room was small but adequate for a 2 night stay. There was adequate hanging space & hangers but no drawer space. There was a cupboard which we used instead. The bed was small & not particularly comfortable.

The bathroom was again small but adequate with a good shower. Complimentary toiletries were provided & towels were changed each day.

Soft furnishings in the room were very nice but the best thing about the room was the stunning view of the Cathedral!

Breakfast choice was very good. Everything from cereals, juices, danish pastries, hams, cheeses, fruit plus the traditional english cooked option.

I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deflepgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always pleasing to hear our guests have received a high level of customer care. Your feedback about the lack of signage is valuable as we are currently in the process of re-submitting a further application to the Council.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed just one night but will certainly be back. The lodge is situated in the precincts of the Cathedral and in the very centre of this great city. A modern building using traditional materials it is cosy and comfortable rather than luxurious but what a location. Going out for dinner in the evening (not available at the lodge) you have to ring the bell at the huge wooden door to be let in, to find yourself in the private world of the precincts, where in the day it was full with tourists, with the Cathedral lit up before you; magical! You can park there (if reserved) and do not have to pay the normal entrance fee to visit. you also get discounts on local restaurants and attractions. If you are a light sleeper the bells may be a problem, but I loved it, and the sound of the morning service. Breakfast was a good buffet and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussex_wanderers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, you have really summed up what makes staying at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge so special. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will be seeing you again soon.

My very best wishes

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed for two nights at the end of August. The best thing about this hotel is the location, being within the cathedral grounds, being able to enter the cathedral itself as often as you like and being able to walk around the grounds at night. The hotel library and garden are also nice additions.

The hotel dinning room has large glass windows all along one side of the room and as the weather was good during our stay this meant both me and my girlfriend found breakfast uncomfortable as without any blinds we became uncomfortably hot and the sun in our eyes. The food itself was fine, a breakfast buffet offering cooked and continental.

The downside of our stay was the cleanliness of the hotel, we're realistic and don't expect hotels to be spotless. Before entering our room the windowsills inside the corridor were filthy, with dead insects and dirt which had clearly not been cleaned for some time, we could not help notice this every time we entered and left our room.

Inside the room the valance around the bed was covered in stains, not even sure how you get this so dirty and covered in fluids. The bed cover also was stained. One day on returning to our room the cleaner had even left their spray for us to use to finish the job in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David0681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

We are grateful for all constructive comments received. The corridors do get cleaned daily, including dusting and hoovering, however, as you mentioned in particularly nice weather the corridor windows are left open. This can lead to dust from outside coming in along with unwanted winged pests!

I have passed all of your comments onto our housekeeping team and sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

My very best wishes

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Overall the place is lovely and the staff are welcoming. Breakfast was brilliant with everything you could possible want and you can not beat the location and seeing the cathedral lit up at night was incredible - because of the location and being able to get so close to the cathedral at all times is well worth staying at this hotel.
A couple of negatives - very very hard to find, there was no signage directing us to where we needed to be, the beds were quite small but overall the rooms had everything you needed for a comfortable stay - the only other negative was that the fire alarm went off at 5.30am - which obviously was not the fault of the hotel but an explanation or an apology would have been nice.
Book parking before you go as it is limited.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

We have been seeking permission for some time to have city signage directing guests to the Hotel, but unfortunately our requests have been denied. All we can do is advise guests to follow signage to The Cathedral as we use the same vehicle entrance.

I am sorry to hear that no apology was made for the fire alarm, it is an unfortunate necessity and we do usually try to display a notice of apology and explanation where possible. Having spoken to reception, they were unfortunately so busy with a group check out that they didn’t get the chance to do this on this particular morning.

I hope this did not spoil your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge again soon.

kind regards


Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Thanks to a previous review we easily found the lodge : its entry is at Postern Gate off Burgate. The location is so wonderful, right beside the Cathedral, and thus also in the midst of Canterbury centre. Our room was great too, enough space large enough bed very tidy hotel tasty breakfast buffet. We'll return !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepetrapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind comments, so nice to hear that you will be returning to the Lodge next time you visit Canterbury. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

my very best wishes

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge Hotel for three nights earlier this month, as a 'self-arranged' city break. Our first interest was the Cathedral - to tour it in detail, and to experience an act of worship there, and for this purpose the Cathedral Lodge Hotel could not have been more convenient, nor more comfortable.

Access to the hotel looks daunting, but amply repays initial 'homework' on Google Maps and Streetview - and we found the target (the Cathedral main gate) first time and without difficulty (turn left off the ring road into Burgate and the highly ornate and medieval Cathedral Gate is a few hundred yards down on the right, next door to Starbucks - where's the problem?)

We were fortunate in being able to book car parking (£5 per day) outside the hotel in the cathedral precinct. The reception staff were at all times pleasant, intelligent, and could not have been more helpful; and our room was simply but elegantly furnished, exceedingly well equipped, very clean, and with a lovely view of the cathedral. There was free WiFi - but this wasn't obviously secure and so I was careful to restrict my internet use to reading email, and viewing the details of possible attractions in Canterbury.

The breakfast room was spacious, airy, and well-lit. The buffet breakfast was all that one could expect - including a hot buffet comprising all the usual 'full English' suspects, and a welcome 'fish of the day' option. My wife enjoyed an excellent kipper.

The one other public room was a modest library, with further 'public' internet access, - although we had no reason to make use of this.

On the Saturday we were there there were one, or possibly two, weddings - it all got rather confusing! One - or possibly both - receptions were held in the conference centre adjacent to the hotel - and we were apprehensive when the unremitting thud of drums penetrated the hotel, and our room, for much of the evening. We needn't have feared, for all went quiet at about 2315, as promised (all quiet in the close after 11.00 at night!)

The cathedral is a magnificent monument and testament to much of English history (and therefore a 'must be seen') - but as a christian church we were less convinced. Do they really need to raise FOUR MILLION pounds for TWO new organs - whilst so many are starving in the Horn of Africa?

Nonetheless - that in no way reflects on the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge Hotel, which is both excellent and modest - a very pleasing combination.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulVinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It's so nice to hear that we are getting things right and that our guests show their apprieciation by writing such nice reviews. We are very grateful.

kind regards

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Friends and I stayed at the Lodge from 26 to 27 August and had a lovely, relaxed time.
We'd read previous reviews and found some of them a bit wanting.
First; the problem of finding it, still true, I'm afraid. Once you get there, they give you a detailed City map so, with a bit of luck, you can get back but it would be nice to have such a detailed map, large scale, on their websiter The hotel, naturally, want to put up signs but the City won't let them. Shame!
Secondly, getting into the secure Cathedral compound at night, after 9.00 pm. Not the slightest problem. You go to the North gate, ring the bell and the cheery security guard welcomes you in.
Thirdly, no bar. They don't need one. There's the splendid library with the receptionist outside the door. She has a good enough list of wines, beers and spirits which she is all too pleased to bring to you in a much more tranquil place than any noisy bar.
Yes, of course there are compromises. The beds are a bit narrow, the bedsise tables a bit low and chamfered so things fall off. Not all rooms have a view of the Cathedral by day and spectacularly so by night but mine did. It was thrilling.
Prof Geoffrey Broadbent, guest of Dr R James.

Room Tip: No idea, it was luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 August 2011

Dear Prof Broadbent,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Lodge.
I am so pleased that you where happy with all aspects of your stay. I am sorry to say that you are correct about your comment regarding City Signage. We have tried in vain, to gain permission to have The Lodge signposted in The City. However, The Cathedral is signposted, so if you follow signs for the Cathedral, you will find us too. Guests visiting us for the first time find it hard to believe just how close to The Cathedral we are!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

warmest regards

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
2,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £96 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing