We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent location, service and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were looking for an overnight stay en route to Dover. When we saw this on TripAdvisor it looked too good to be true - but true it certainly was. We had a Value room which is in a separate builiding up two flights of stairs - no lift but no problem for us. The room was clean and comfortable with all the facilties one would expect. Breakfast was in the Refectory and a cold buffet was available - wide choice - together with table served cooked breakfast. the service was good as was the quality of the food.
We also booked parking in the Precinct for £5.00 which gave us secure city centre parking from 3.00 pm on day of arrival until 11.00 am on day of departure. The final bonus was free entry to the cathedral which would have cost us £18.00
All this for £65.00 and easy access to the all the facilties of the City centre. For £30.00 extra we could have had a room in the main Lodge which has a lift and larger recently refurbished rooms. For a quick overnight stay the Value room suited us just fine but the choice is yours.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat8562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Review,


Many thanks for your recent review of your stay at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. It's great to here that you enjoyed your stay in our value rooms, which are a perfect choice for short stay or guests on a budget.

Your kind comments are much appreciated by the whole team here at The Lodge.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    303
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
157
660
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

My partner and I stayed one night in September this year to attend a family funeral. We both found the lodge absolutely excellent and the (small) number of negative reviews on this site describe a place that is unrecognisable to us. Yes, neither the room, nor the bed was large but it was well-furnished, comfortable and with an unsurpassed view. Much more than adequate for a brief stay and for the price. Everything else was excellent. The setting is superb, especially the little garden overlooking the cathedral. The staff at reception and serving at breakfast were friendly and helpful. The library was a wonderful place to sit and read, offering an excellent alternative to TV in the bedroom. The price, with free entry to the cathedral, was excellent value, and the sauvignon chilling in the ice bucket on arrival - a full bar service is available - was also very reasonably priced.

In short, it was delightful, and the knowledge that one's bill supports the maintenance of the cathedral makes it even better. I have already recommended it widely to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear reviewer,


Thank you so much for your review and in acknowledging that our efforts are for such a wonderful cause.

We are delighted that your stay with us was everything you hoped it would be and are very grateful for your recommendation.

We hope to see you again soon.

My very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights only. The hotel is within the Cathedral grounds & very secure for this reason. You are given a pass to be able to gain access to the hotel & grounds after cathedral visiting hours have finished.

Hotel car parking spaces are limited but we had booked one in advance, luckily. It is quite a jaunt from the nearest public car park & because the streets in town are so busy & narrow it wouldn't have been easy to transfer luggage had we not have done so. The extra charge for the parking space was £5 for the visit & very well worth it.

The vehicular entrance to the hotel was very hard to find as it is a narrow gap in between buildings with no signage. I had to get out of the car in the end to ask directions from a cathedral steward. We were informed by the hotel reception when we eventually arrived that they had asked the council if they could put a sign up to indicate the entrance, but permission had been refused.

The room was small but adequate for a 2 night stay. There was adequate hanging space & hangers but no drawer space. There was a cupboard which we used instead. The bed was small & not particularly comfortable.

The bathroom was again small but adequate with a good shower. Complimentary toiletries were provided & towels were changed each day.

Soft furnishings in the room were very nice but the best thing about the room was the stunning view of the Cathedral!

Breakfast choice was very good. Everything from cereals, juices, danish pastries, hams, cheeses, fruit plus the traditional english cooked option.

I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deflepgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always pleasing to hear our guests have received a high level of customer care. Your feedback about the lack of signage is valuable as we are currently in the process of re-submitting a further application to the Council.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed just one night but will certainly be back. The lodge is situated in the precincts of the Cathedral and in the very centre of this great city. A modern building using traditional materials it is cosy and comfortable rather than luxurious but what a location. Going out for dinner in the evening (not available at the lodge) you have to ring the bell at the huge wooden door to be let in, to find yourself in the private world of the precincts, where in the day it was full with tourists, with the Cathedral lit up before you; magical! You can park there (if reserved) and do not have to pay the normal entrance fee to visit. you also get discounts on local restaurants and attractions. If you are a light sleeper the bells may be a problem, but I loved it, and the sound of the morning service. Breakfast was a good buffet and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussex_wanderers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, you have really summed up what makes staying at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge so special. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will be seeing you again soon.

My very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed for two nights at the end of August. The best thing about this hotel is the location, being within the cathedral grounds, being able to enter the cathedral itself as often as you like and being able to walk around the grounds at night. The hotel library and garden are also nice additions.

The hotel dinning room has large glass windows all along one side of the room and as the weather was good during our stay this meant both me and my girlfriend found breakfast uncomfortable as without any blinds we became uncomfortably hot and the sun in our eyes. The food itself was fine, a breakfast buffet offering cooked and continental.

The downside of our stay was the cleanliness of the hotel, we're realistic and don't expect hotels to be spotless. Before entering our room the windowsills inside the corridor were filthy, with dead insects and dirt which had clearly not been cleaned for some time, we could not help notice this every time we entered and left our room.

Inside the room the valance around the bed was covered in stains, not even sure how you get this so dirty and covered in fluids. The bed cover also was stained. One day on returning to our room the cleaner had even left their spray for us to use to finish the job in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David0681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We are grateful for all constructive comments received. The corridors do get cleaned daily, including dusting and hoovering, however, as you mentioned in particularly nice weather the corridor windows are left open. This can lead to dust from outside coming in along with unwanted winged pests!

I have passed all of your comments onto our housekeeping team and sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

My very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Overall the place is lovely and the staff are welcoming. Breakfast was brilliant with everything you could possible want and you can not beat the location and seeing the cathedral lit up at night was incredible - because of the location and being able to get so close to the cathedral at all times is well worth staying at this hotel.
A couple of negatives - very very hard to find, there was no signage directing us to where we needed to be, the beds were quite small but overall the rooms had everything you needed for a comfortable stay - the only other negative was that the fire alarm went off at 5.30am - which obviously was not the fault of the hotel but an explanation or an apology would have been nice.
Book parking before you go as it is limited.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

We have been seeking permission for some time to have city signage directing guests to the Hotel, but unfortunately our requests have been denied. All we can do is advise guests to follow signage to The Cathedral as we use the same vehicle entrance.

I am sorry to hear that no apology was made for the fire alarm, it is an unfortunate necessity and we do usually try to display a notice of apology and explanation where possible. Having spoken to reception, they were unfortunately so busy with a group check out that they didn’t get the chance to do this on this particular morning.

I hope this did not spoil your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge again soon.

kind regards


Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Thanks to a previous review we easily found the lodge : its entry is at Postern Gate off Burgate. The location is so wonderful, right beside the Cathedral, and thus also in the midst of Canterbury centre. Our room was great too, enough space large enough bed very tidy hotel tasty breakfast buffet. We'll return !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepetrapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind comments, so nice to hear that you will be returning to the Lodge next time you visit Canterbury. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

my very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing