We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Canterbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Warm welcome; all the staff professional and friendly.
Everywhere spotless and good quality.
Breakfast offered a great choice and the food and service were of a high standard.
Fabulous location but feel signposting could be clearer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nijari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We were very pleased to read your post regarding your recent stay with us at the Lodge, and I have shared your comments with the team concerning breakfast, housekeeping and guest service.

We do note your concern regarding signage, and I do reiterate our response to an earlier review to assist any future guests in locating us below-

As we have two entrances that open at different times as stated, we are restricted by the size of sign permitted on the road in placing comprehensive entrance signage. I am sorry this affected your stay with us.

"Unfortunately the only downside to our unique location directly opposite the Cathedral can be access to the Lodge. As the Cathedral was originally a monastery as well as a church, it is walled and we are located within the Cathedral Precincts which has only 2 gates accessible by car. The Postern gate is open until 6pm, after which the Christchurch gate is used for access. Both gates are situated on Burgate. As an added confusion if our post code is entered into a sat nav device the driver is misdirected and will miss the entrances on Burgate. We do advise all guests using sat nav to locate us to enter “Burgate, Canterbury” to ensure they are correctly directed by their device. The Postern gate is less than 100m down Burgate, on the right immediately after the Thomas Ingoldsby public house. The Christchurch gate is several hundred metres further down Burgate, located in the cobbled Butter Market square, and is quite unmistakeable as a large 16th Century gate with huge oak doors. We do apologise for any issues you experienced in finding us, we post these comments here to assist with any future guest looking to stay with us to find us more easily. We do hope that the difficulty in finding us is more than compensated by our unique location and views."

I do hope this assists future guests, and thank you for highlighting your concern to us.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

The positives are.... the staff -professional, friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfasts -great choice and cooked to order so fresh. The location and the come and go as you please access to the cathedral that it gives. Less good... in the Annexe/Burgate where we stopped the rooms, although recently refurbished to a high standard, are very poor at insulating you from the noise of other people in their rooms and opening and the and closing of doors sounds really loudly. Perhaps we we unlucky that on 2 of the 3 nights we stopped our fellow guests, for whatever reasons, did not seem to want to go along with the tranquility of the surroundings. That said, the staff were very good and the night porter was assertive enough to ensure that sleep was possible. Overall recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Review,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lodge with the rest of the Tripadvisor community. We were very pleased to read your comments regarding breakfast, our refurbished Burgate bedrooms and our team. We were, however, concerned to hear that your stay had been disturbed by guests less thoughtful than yourselves. The Burgate annexe is a brick built building, and we have not experienced disturbance issues caused by other guests in that location previously, however I note the night porter on duty took appropriate action when you contacted them regarding noise. Our reception desk is manned 24 hours a day to assist with any requests, I am very sorry you needed to do this to ensure a peaceful stay. I do hope we can welcome you back to the Lodge in the near future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night. Place is very difficult to find (turn right immediately after the Weatherspoons pub) but well worth the search. Fabulous location with very secure parking right in the heart of the old town. The rooms are very small but fully equipped and spotlessly clean. Perfect for a short stay. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast freshly cooked and plenty of it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Reviwer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed our breakfast offering and found the housekeeping standard to be so high.

Unfortunately the only downside to our unique location directly opposite the Cathedral can be access to the Lodge. As the Cathedral was originally a monastery as well as a church, it is walled and we are located within the Cathedral Precincts which has only 2 gates accessible by car. The Postern gate is open until 6pm, after which the Christchurch gate is used for access. Both gates are situated on Burgate. As an added confusion if our post code is entered into a sat nav device the driver is misdirected and will miss the entrances on Burgate. We do advise all guests using sat nav to locate us to enter “Burgate, Canterbury” to ensure they are correctly directed by their device. The Postern gate is less than 100m down Burgate, on the right immediately after the Thomas Ingoldsby public house. The Christchurch gate is several hundred metres further down Burgate, located in the cobbled Butter Market square, and is quite unmistakeable as a large 16th Century gate with huge oak doors. We do apologise for any issues you experienced in finding us, we post these comments here to assist with any future guest looking to stay with us to find us more easily. We do hope that the difficulty in finding us is more than compensated by our unique location and views.

I will ensure your comments are shared with the team.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Canterbury cathedral lodge was an unexpected surprise for me and my friend. We were expecting an old hotel but was met by a modern and very efficiently run hotel, in the midst of the history of the place and the cathedral itself. The staff were very accommodating and efficient and everyone greeted you with a smile. The room we had had windows overlooking the cathedral and it was a sight to behold especially at night! Food was good. It was a haven for people who wanted to have peace and tranquility. Centrally located, it was near most restaurants and shops in the town. Would be glad to return there again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view of the cathedral. A bit more expensive, but its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cesd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing such a positive review. Your feedback is much appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed such a tranquil stay. We do feel fortunate that the award-winning design of our contemporary hotel is beautifully juxtaposed in the Precincts beside the Cathedral itself, something which ensures that the views from the Lodge bedrooms are also a highlight!

We do hope that you return soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Cathedral lodge boasts the best location in town: contained within the grounds of the Canterbury Cathedral, it's very pleasant to say the least. Prices are not bad and on offer is a clean, functional room. The facilities are fairly basic, but you're not looking at 5 stars here. That said, for business purposes, the room has everything you'd need.

The staff are very polite and helpful, offering explanations for your stay, and point out the maps of the city centre were you can even get discounts in some of the restaurants for staying at the hotel.

Breakfast is served as part of the cost of the room and is pretty decent.

The location of the hotel is what makes it, as mentioned you're in the grounds of the cathedral which is super (and free to enter when staying at the hotel): but being right in the centre of Canterbury there is so much choice for food, shopping, site-seeing within walking distance, no... hopping distance.

This is now the second time I have stayed and the Cathedral Lodge will be my choice for the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay – it is always wonderful to hear from a return guest and we are delighted that you plan to do so again! We are indeed fortunate to enjoy such a central City location and within the Lodge our bedrooms have been recently redecorated. Whilst they are simply furnished, I do hope that you will agree that this has been done to a high standard, with the highlight being the Cathedral view from the window.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Super hotel, staff and location. Rooms with a cathedral view are superb. Breakfast is too! Go to a service in the cathedral if you get the chance. The arrangements for accessing the hotel after 21.00 hrs are worth noting before you venture out for the evening. Try Cafe des Amis, a great Mexican...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for leaving such a positive and succinct review!

Guests are of course able to access the hotel at any time, but do need to ring the doorbell on the Christchurch Gate after 9pm for entrance – something which many guests feel adds to the charm of staying within the Cathedral Precincts! Residents are also eligible to discounts in a number of restaurants in the City centre and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a great meal at one of these.

We do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

As a birthday treat I booked a room to follow a lovely night out with family and friends.

Rachel and her tea, of reception staff were fantastic from start to finish making sure that our stay was perfect. I had mentioned to Rachel that I would like to have glass of fizz whilst getting ready, Rachel arranged for an ice bucket and glasses to be in my room on arrival.

The bedroom was lovely, the bed was comfortable and the shower was great.

Breakfast was very nice and served by friendly staff.

A real delight to hear the cathedral bells ring whilst I prepared for my day.

Thank you Rachel and the girls.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and one of you is tall the twin beds can be arranged to HUGE doubles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us here at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Rachel and the team.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £95 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing