We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside England
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Set in the very grounds of the cathedral with wonderful views across the garden. When the visitors have gone you can stroll around the grounds - particularly good at night when the edifice is illuminated. Lovely room also with spectacular view plus excellent staff and enormous breakfast and pass to the cathedral included - excellent value for money. A haven just off the very bustling city centre.

If you intend to go to any of the services this is the place - literally opposite the entrance to where they take place.

Room Tip: I imagine most rooms will have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsAllOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

Sincere thanks for taking the time to leave feedback for future guests and we do hope that you are able to return again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    309
    67
    20
    10
See reviews for
163
675
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

the Lodge is a good quality hotel, with well appointed rooms, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, and a lovely breakfast room which serves freshly cooked food. The library is also a really comfortable sitting area, with a good range of (mostly religious) books.

It's principal attraction, of course, is its location within the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, and it's well worth the price for that alone, Apart from 'free' admission to the cathedral, you have lovely views, and the opportunity to have uninterrupted views at all times, in a quiet haven away from the tourist bustle.

While they don't offer food, there are several good restaurants within a five minute walk, and they offer discounts at several of them.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay there, and recommend it unhesitatingly.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms - all (I think) look out over the Cathedral, though it's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymendus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing such a glowing review of your recent stay with us! The team here are immensely proud of our location within the beautiful Cathedral Precincts and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy the facilities.

Although we do not operate a daily restaurant we can cater for pre-booked groups, meetings and events and you are absolutely correct that all bedrooms in the main Lodge building offer a view of the Cathedral with the adjacent annex also being very close by.

We do hope that you are able to return again in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

This is the most tranquil and charming place to sty in Britain. The room are cosy but charming, the breakfasts are great nd the staff fantastic . This is my fourth stay and I can't wait until the next.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Simorjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing such a positive and succinct review. We are always thrilled to welcome return guests and we look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth stay!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 14th April. Friendly check-in and as we had pre-booked a parking space, that was fine - just outside the Lodge. Location was great, it was lovely to be so close to the Cathedral and to be able to 'get up close' to this magnificant building. Also really good to be able to walk to all the restaurants and places of interest.

Our room was very clean and well appointed, the bathroom was small, but at least it had space to put things.

Breakfast was excellent, well organised and very well cooked. Good choice of cold food - a very nice area and a great way to start your day.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your glowing 5 star review and taking the time to share it on Tripadvisor! I have passed on your comments to our Catering Manager and Head Housekeeper, who were very pleased to read your feedback.

I do hope you are able to return to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I spent 5 teenage years in the precccincts of the Cathedral and this.. nearly sixty years later was my first return. Finding the hotel yards from the South entrance to the Cathedral, set back in an excellently sensitive new building complex was the first treat; the second was the warmth of welcome from the staff. My wife and I were delighted with all we saw and the way we were treated.

Being dependent on "disabled" facilities, when booking by phone, I had explained my needs and every part of them was met. The room with twin beds was "luxuriously and tastefully" appointed with stunning views of the Cathedral Bell Harry Tower looking out on to an enclosed garden. Breakfast, taken in a sunny and spacious room was a treat.

A Hotel "passport" allows free access to the Cathedral and there is ample parking. 2 nights of treasured pleasure.

Room Tip: Talk to Reception (or email them) Rooms on the 1st floor have marginally better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant1austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are thrilled that you choose to stay with us when returning to visit the Cathedral and Precincts with you wife! Such a glowing and thoughtful review is much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

I will be certain to share your comments with the team and we do hope that stay with us again if you decide to return to Canterbury in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Warm welcome; all the staff professional and friendly.
Everywhere spotless and good quality.
Breakfast offered a great choice and the food and service were of a high standard.
Fabulous location but feel signposting could be clearer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nijari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We were very pleased to read your post regarding your recent stay with us at the Lodge, and I have shared your comments with the team concerning breakfast, housekeeping and guest service.

We do note your concern regarding signage, and I do reiterate our response to an earlier review to assist any future guests in locating us below-

As we have two entrances that open at different times as stated, we are restricted by the size of sign permitted on the road in placing comprehensive entrance signage. I am sorry this affected your stay with us.

"Unfortunately the only downside to our unique location directly opposite the Cathedral can be access to the Lodge. As the Cathedral was originally a monastery as well as a church, it is walled and we are located within the Cathedral Precincts which has only 2 gates accessible by car. The Postern gate is open until 6pm, after which the Christchurch gate is used for access. Both gates are situated on Burgate. As an added confusion if our post code is entered into a sat nav device the driver is misdirected and will miss the entrances on Burgate. We do advise all guests using sat nav to locate us to enter “Burgate, Canterbury” to ensure they are correctly directed by their device. The Postern gate is less than 100m down Burgate, on the right immediately after the Thomas Ingoldsby public house. The Christchurch gate is several hundred metres further down Burgate, located in the cobbled Butter Market square, and is quite unmistakeable as a large 16th Century gate with huge oak doors. We do apologise for any issues you experienced in finding us, we post these comments here to assist with any future guest looking to stay with us to find us more easily. We do hope that the difficulty in finding us is more than compensated by our unique location and views."

I do hope this assists future guests, and thank you for highlighting your concern to us.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The positives are.... the staff -professional, friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfasts -great choice and cooked to order so fresh. The location and the come and go as you please access to the cathedral that it gives. Less good... in the Annexe/Burgate where we stopped the rooms, although recently refurbished to a high standard, are very poor at insulating you from the noise of other people in their rooms and opening and the and closing of doors sounds really loudly. Perhaps we we unlucky that on 2 of the 3 nights we stopped our fellow guests, for whatever reasons, did not seem to want to go along with the tranquility of the surroundings. That said, the staff were very good and the night porter was assertive enough to ensure that sleep was possible. Overall recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Review,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lodge with the rest of the Tripadvisor community. We were very pleased to read your comments regarding breakfast, our refurbished Burgate bedrooms and our team. We were, however, concerned to hear that your stay had been disturbed by guests less thoughtful than yourselves. The Burgate annexe is a brick built building, and we have not experienced disturbance issues caused by other guests in that location previously, however I note the night porter on duty took appropriate action when you contacted them regarding noise. Our reception desk is manned 24 hours a day to assist with any requests, I am very sorry you needed to do this to ensure a peaceful stay. I do hope we can welcome you back to the Lodge in the near future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing