We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here in the precincts of the Cathedral. The room, though not large, was tastefully furnished and very comfortable with a window seat looking out over the cathedral and gardens. The view of the floodlit Cathedral at night was stunning. Conveniently, we had a parking place in the grounds so exploring the town centre on foot couldn't have been easier. Access to the Cathedral was included in the tariff which also offered 10-20% reductions in local restaurants. Breakfast in the refectory was excellent. We will definitely return for a longer stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank IM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Such a fantastic review – thank you! It is always lovely to receive such lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you when you return.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is our second visit to the CCL. We love the location. Staff are helpful and friendly and breakfast is very good. Rooms are clean. We never run out of things to do in the area and will doubtless return. It's important to point out that this is a small hotel and does not offer a full range of international hotel chain facilities. However our American visitors were very happy staying here with us and really enjoyed the fact that it was different from their usual experience. This time we took several rooms and the apartment in the Burgate wing of the hotel. It is not attached to the main building, but rather across a small side street in a separate building. The most important thing to note is that it's on the 3rd floor above some conference facilities, and therefore up three flights of steps, which might not suit everyone. The apartment has a smart, fully featured kitchen with barstool seating for two. There is a small lounge area with TV that doubles up as a single room. A huge double bedroom, and a fair sized twin room. Decor is similar to the rest of the hotel. Bathroom a little basic, but clean and spacious. Views from the two main bedrooms are over a busy shopping street. Being on the 3rd floor this was not an issue except at 7am when the glass recycling containers were emptied! We slept with windows shut thereafter. We will definitely return again. NB: Staying at the CCL entitles residents to a range of discounts in the city, which is one of the reasons we stay here. Look carefully at the list because we missed out on a few bargains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing such a comprehensive and helpful review for future guests. We are delighted that you chose to stay here again with your visitors and that all enjoyed their stay! We do hope that you are able to return soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I really wanted to love this place but honestly I can only call it average. One's location cant be better as it is the only hotel on the precincts of Canterbury Cathedral. Only taxis can get here to drop off, and you need to ring the bell after 9pm and show them a pass to get in and out but in Canterbury there arent a lot of choices in the historic center. First the good. The building itself is stunning from the outside and the dining room is very pretty and their breakfast is made to order and exceptional. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. It is very quiet also. The bad: there is no temperature control in the rooms if you wanted AC for example, and our room only had a shower though I dont know if there are rooms with tubs. The rooms are a bit tight so a rollaway for our 9 year old son barely fit. Also the bed for the adults was really a double, not a queen or a king. As well the mattress was soft and sagged outward so I felt I was sliding off my edge of the bed. The TV is fine, and the internet is not fast, ie about 3-4mbps but it is free. The furnishings in the room and bathroom again are clean and reasonably modern but have a 1980's dorm feel about them. I guess one cant be too fussy depending on where you are but if in America a typical Sheraton, Westin, etc, would have really comfy beds, good tv and internet and temperature control, it is hard to give this up at times. So I think this place overally is probably one of the best places to stay in Canterbury proper but is not a luxury venue, but a modern-ish comfortable but somewhat generic trappings in the rooms but with a great breakfast and view of the cathedral.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral and choose the 2nd floor over 1st if you can (there are only 2 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimparklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay. Our team take great pride in providing excellent customer service and we are fortunate to enjoy such a beautiful location within the Cathedral Precincts.

As with many hotels in the UK, we unfortunately do not provide air conditioning in the rooms and you quite rightly state that the majority of our bathrooms are fitted with showers, however if preferable a bedroom in the Burgate annexe can be chosen with a bath, if stated at the time of booking. I would however like to assure you that all of our bedrooms have been refurbished recently and our standard sized beds and mattresses are checked on a regular basis. If you would like to contact a member of our reservations team to advise of the room that you stayed in, they would be pleased to have this checked again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and loved everything about it. Rooms were clean and a good size for me and my two daughters and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we wanted a hotel in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a fantastic review and we do hope that you do stay with us again if you decide to return to the area!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in August.
Didn't realise we had to book parking which meant leaving the car in a public car park which was not ideal and paying the hotel £6 for the privilege.A bit annoying as there were 3 or 4 spaces available after the area had been closed off.
The rooms are lovely. Small bathtoom, shower only.. The beds. Oh dear. Way way too springy and soft. Feels like 5000 people have jumped on the bed before you've got in it. Terrible night sleep and sore back. I was going to mention it at check out but wasn't asked how our stay was.

Breakfast was yummy and plentiful.

Location I absolutely could not fault. Was lovely to have the area closed off from the public at around 9 and have a wander in the empty grounds.

Staying at the hotel you benefit from free entry to the cathedral and discounts at local restaurants but ultimately that bed would stop us returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twinmum84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location within the Precincts of Canterbury Cathedral.

We do have a limited number of on-site parking spaces that must be pre-booked in advance and as an alternative to this, we are also able to issue parking permits for the nearby council owned car parks. These discounted permits are pre-purchased from the council and I can confirm that we sell them on at cost price. Whilst it may appear that Precincts parking spaces remained unallocated after hours, it is most likely that these were reserved for one of the numerous Cathedral related events that take place throughout the day.

Whilst the majority of bedrooms are equipment with en-suite showers, it is also possible to request a bath when booking in our adjacent Burgate building, if preferable. Our bedrooms have all recently been refurbished and beds are regularly checked with mattresses being replaced as necessary. I am therefore extremely sorry that this you did not find it to be satisfactory on this occasion. Should you wish to contact a member of the Reception team and advise of your room number, we would be pleased to check the room in question. With this in mind I do hope that you would consider staying again in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three days in august, enjoyed the area. The hotel is nice and very clean, but rooms are quite small. We found the bed small and not very comfortable.
As other reviewers say, the location couldn't be better and we found the staff very friendly and helpful.
Our main problem though was the noise from the street - as the weather was hot we had to keep the windows open and didn't get a good night sleep for three nights. Not blaming the hotel for this, but definitely worth considering if booking somewhere so central.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel with its unique location and the team here will certainly be pleased with your kind comments on service.

I am however disappointed to find that you were not completely satisfied and would like to take this opportunity to address your concerns. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is located within the residential Precincts, which is closed to the public after 9pm. I therefore suspect that you were situated in our Annexe, which is located in the adjacent Burgate building. This has only recently been refurbished and does include standard size beds, but these bedrooms do overlook a street and I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the street noise when the windows were open, on this occasion. Whilst this is something that is unfortunately beyond our control, we do price this as our ‘value’ accommodation accordingly.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Fantastic location, very good service and good breakfast. No ac, but nights were cool even in July. The staff is very attentive. A bit difficult to find until you realize hotel is inside the locked Cathedral grounds.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank walkeronearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such lovely comments! We are fortunate to be located within the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, but are of course always happy to provide directions to our guests in advance of arrival. We do hope that you are able to return again in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,071 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £96 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing