We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully located such a tranquil lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderfully located such a tranquil lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights it is in the grounds of the cathedral and at 2100 the grounds get locked to the public so you have it to yourself to wander the grounds and view the outside of the cathedral which is illuminated at night. The lodge is a quiet place to relax and contemplate. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Canterbury itself is lovely we will return and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to being able to welcome you back upon your return.

With thanks & regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    302
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
155
648
41
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed there for a week with my church choir, and we felt like we were in Buckingham Palace! The staff members were so helpful and friendly – they even delayed their lunch time on our first day there so that our rooms would be ready for us when we arrived. Their breakfast is like a restaurant – you order from a menu and they make each order individually. It’s not a fancy place, but it’s very clean and comfortable, and the Cathedral views from the windows are inspiring. No air conditioning, but even in August we didn’t need anything other than the clean fresh air blowing in our windows. The Lodge is inside the Cathedral Close, so you get a special pass to be able to go into the Cathedral without paying at any time. The Close doors shut at 9pm each night, but you just have to ring a bell and a doorman lets you in. We had a special treat on Thursday night when the Cathedral Change Ringers had their regular Thursday evening practice and rang the bells for us for an hour. Educational wing offers meeting rooms if needed.

Room Tip: There is a lift, so you can have accessible rooms on the first an second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Such fantastic comments, the team will be thrilled! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and thank you all for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback for our future guests is also much appreciated.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyke8
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and I would thoroughly this for anyone wishing to visit Canterbury. The room was comfortable, although beginning to look a bit tired in a few places. Location is perfect for the cathedral and visiting the city. Breakfast and service in general were first-class.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pyke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
All bedrooms have been recently refurbished and I would like to assure you that we regularly review our programme of maintenance to ensure that the high standard of our facilities are upheld.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

What a fantastically unique location. The accommodation was nice, clean and comfortable, but it did have a very uniformed travel lodge feel to it. Breakfast was really very good with lots of nice pleasant staff so that you didn't have long to wait. it was nice being able to get into the Cathedral without having to queue and the discount offered on various local restaurants was also a great bonus. So...... It's a good, clean, comfortable place to stay for the location and proximity to Canterbury's amenities.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hertfordshirejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the breakfast team. We are delighted that you were able to utilise the discounts available to our guests and I’m sue you will agree that one of the best features of the bedrooms is the wonderful Cathedral view from the window!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here in the precincts of the Cathedral. The room, though not large, was tastefully furnished and very comfortable with a window seat looking out over the cathedral and gardens. The view of the floodlit Cathedral at night was stunning. Conveniently, we had a parking place in the grounds so exploring the town centre on foot couldn't have been easier. Access to the Cathedral was included in the tariff which also offered 10-20% reductions in local restaurants. Breakfast in the refectory was excellent. We will definitely return for a longer stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Such a fantastic review – thank you! It is always lovely to receive such lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you when you return.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is our second visit to the CCL. We love the location. Staff are helpful and friendly and breakfast is very good. Rooms are clean. We never run out of things to do in the area and will doubtless return. It's important to point out that this is a small hotel and does not offer a full range of international hotel chain facilities. However our American visitors were very happy staying here with us and really enjoyed the fact that it was different from their usual experience. This time we took several rooms and the apartment in the Burgate wing of the hotel. It is not attached to the main building, but rather across a small side street in a separate building. The most important thing to note is that it's on the 3rd floor above some conference facilities, and therefore up three flights of steps, which might not suit everyone. The apartment has a smart, fully featured kitchen with barstool seating for two. There is a small lounge area with TV that doubles up as a single room. A huge double bedroom, and a fair sized twin room. Decor is similar to the rest of the hotel. Bathroom a little basic, but clean and spacious. Views from the two main bedrooms are over a busy shopping street. Being on the 3rd floor this was not an issue except at 7am when the glass recycling containers were emptied! We slept with windows shut thereafter. We will definitely return again. NB: Staying at the CCL entitles residents to a range of discounts in the city, which is one of the reasons we stay here. Look carefully at the list because we missed out on a few bargains.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing such a comprehensive and helpful review for future guests. We are delighted that you chose to stay here again with your visitors and that all enjoyed their stay! We do hope that you are able to return soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I really wanted to love this place but honestly I can only call it average. One's location cant be better as it is the only hotel on the precincts of Canterbury Cathedral. Only taxis can get here to drop off, and you need to ring the bell after 9pm and show them a pass to get in and out but in Canterbury there arent a lot of choices in the historic center. First the good. The building itself is stunning from the outside and the dining room is very pretty and their breakfast is made to order and exceptional. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. It is very quiet also. The bad: there is no temperature control in the rooms if you wanted AC for example, and our room only had a shower though I dont know if there are rooms with tubs. The rooms are a bit tight so a rollaway for our 9 year old son barely fit. Also the bed for the adults was really a double, not a queen or a king. As well the mattress was soft and sagged outward so I felt I was sliding off my edge of the bed. The TV is fine, and the internet is not fast, ie about 3-4mbps but it is free. The furnishings in the room and bathroom again are clean and reasonably modern but have a 1980's dorm feel about them. I guess one cant be too fussy depending on where you are but if in America a typical Sheraton, Westin, etc, would have really comfy beds, good tv and internet and temperature control, it is hard to give this up at times. So I think this place overally is probably one of the best places to stay in Canterbury proper but is not a luxury venue, but a modern-ish comfortable but somewhat generic trappings in the rooms but with a great breakfast and view of the cathedral.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral and choose the 2nd floor over 1st if you can (there are only 2 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimparklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay. Our team take great pride in providing excellent customer service and we are fortunate to enjoy such a beautiful location within the Cathedral Precincts.

As with many hotels in the UK, we unfortunately do not provide air conditioning in the rooms and you quite rightly state that the majority of our bathrooms are fitted with showers, however if preferable a bedroom in the Burgate annexe can be chosen with a bath, if stated at the time of booking. I would however like to assure you that all of our bedrooms have been refurbished recently and our standard sized beds and mattresses are checked on a regular basis. If you would like to contact a member of our reservations team to advise of the room that you stayed in, they would be pleased to have this checked again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing