We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canterbury Cathedral Lodge - AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at CCL during our visit to Canterbury. We were there for a wedding. There were four adults and 3 toddlers. The hotel accomodated for us really well. We stayed in the 2 bed apartment on the second floor. It was a gorgeous apartment with a kitchen and a small living room too. There was ample space for the kids to run and play. The staff were so helpful from first booking to checkout and very courteous. They brought us extra milk at night for the kids bottles as we had run out and made our stay very comfortable generally.

Will defintely stay there again and would recommend without hesitation.

Thank you to all the staff at CCL.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShahSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and I will be sure to share you kind comments with the rest of the team! We do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Lodge is in the Precincts of Canterbury Cathedral. As a guest you gain access to the Cathedral as often as you like during your stay.

The rooms are smallish but comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV (Freeview). No air conditioning but the windows open and there is a fan that can be used - although a shortage of power sockets could make this a little tricky. The beds are singles or (small) doubles. I found the bed and bedding to be comfortable.

Breakfast is in a pleasant room with options around a continental or an English cooked breakfast ordered from a wide range of items on the menu and freshly cooked and delivered to your table.

Wifi is available - the access instructions are added to your guest card. You need to take this card with you if you leave the site - it will have to be shown to gain readmission.

Limited car parking available on site. The instructions for gaining access could be clarified by pointing out that during the day this is via the Postern Gate (the sign outside indicating that this is for authorised persons only - but that means you provided that you have pre-booked parking).

One of the benefits of this location is that it is quiet and peaceful (as might be expected from the proximity of its neighbour bell ringing practice and choir/organ practice might be noticed until around 21.00).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selsdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing such a glowing review & we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

Please accept my apologies if access to/from the Postern Gate was not clearly explained on this occasion, as we would usually clarify this to all guests who have booked parking with us and are able to send a map to guests in advance of arrival.

We do hope that you will be able to return again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were in Canterbury with family and decided to stay in this great central location.

The accommodation is situated within the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral including parking.

The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and happy to help you in any way they can.

Rooms are comfortable but a bit hot without air conditioning. Some of the interior is starting to get tired - in our room the bathroom extractor fan wasn't working and bizarrely there was no light above the show so it was a bit dark!

Our room (214) had two singles pushed together which was fine for us but the bed was very soft and we struggled to get a good nights sleep because of this.

Breakfast was OK, a good choice of hot and cold food but the cooked breakfast was a bit on the sparse side and not great quality.

Overall the stay was fine, the real advantage is ringing the bell to get into the grounds when you return from a night in the town and walking past the lit up cathedral - beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna-and-Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for commenting on your recent stay and we are delighted that you found our team to be helpful and enjoyed our location within the Precincts of the Cathedral.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with our breakfast offering as we have recently extended our Continental selection and freshly cook our full English breakfast to order.
All of our bedrooms including have undergone recent full refurbishment and our beds are regularly checked to ensure they are of a higg standard – if there were any specific items you felt were under-par we would very much appreciate hearing from you directly so this feedback can be addressed.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel was suggested to us as we were attending a function in Canterbury - so location and quality were not essential! However we could not have asked for more. The hotel is located within the grounds of the Cathedral and therefore the views (Cathedral side) are amazing. Staff were exceptionally helpful, the rooms although not large, were exceptionally comfortable. Flat screen TV, tea, coffee AND hot chocolate - very welcome.

Breakfast was included and on arrival in the breakfast room I expected to see the usual array of dried bacon and hard eggs but another great surprise.. Continental breakfast laid out, fresh fruit and juice available. Then there was the extensive hot menu - the idea being you pick anything you like in any quantity and it gets delivered - freshly cooked. What more could you ask for?

Parking is limited and £5 for an overnight stay + you need to move before 11:0 but I suspect that was more down to the environment than the hotel.

Not only would I recommend this hotel - I'm currently trying to think of another reason to go!

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such glorious comments – the team will be thrilled!

You are absolutely correct that the parking times are due to our location within the Precincts where space is at a premium; however we are able to issue discounted tickets for local council car parks for our guests where required.

We look forward to seeing you again soon (fabulous New Year’s Eve celebration planned on our website if you are still looking for an excuse!).

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night on Bank Holiday Monday. The Hotel lives up to its tripadvisor rating in all areas. The location is beautiful; in the peaceful shadow of the Cathedral. The rooms are simply furnished but very clean and free wi-fi is a definite bonus. Great shower and good toiletries. My only slight gripe is that the mattress was too soft with springs quite prevalent. Staff are excellent; the lady at reception was so pleasant and helpful. Very good breakfast - all cooked to order. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing such wonderful feedback and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Although our mattresses are regularly checked by the Housekeeping team and replaced as required, I will certainly pass on your comments for us to investigate further.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent two nights at the lodge and were delighted by the stunning location and outstanding service. It is literally within the cathedral grounds, which means it is smack bang in the middle of ancient Canterbury and surrounded by sights, restaurants and excellent shops. We reserved car parking on site which was very cheap and convenient though the secure entrance is a bit tricky to find. Our first night was in a superior room with a view of the cathedral. Frankly it was a bit disappointing, smallish and in need of a refurb though it was spotlessly clean and had all the basics including tea and coffee. Our next night was in the rear rooms overlooking the street. We were concerned about street noise but it was fine in mid week and we actually preferred the cheaper, brighter room. Be aware though that the lodge is very much a conference centre and looks like one.
Our biggest surprise was the delightful breakfast room which boasted crisp white linen and an excellent cooked to order menu. We loved the Kent apple juice, tangy compote and locally sourced cooked breakfast. We were also delighted to find that the hotel had thoughtfully negotiated discounts at good local restaurants for guests. We enjoyed Cafe Marresque and chef Micheal Caines Old Brewery Tavern. A splendid place for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us when you visited Canterbury and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break. We are pleased to be able to offer discounts from several local restaurants and it is good to find that you were able to make use of them. I am however sorry to hear that you felt our main Lodge bedrooms tired as they have been recently refurbished, although we would concede that the most striking feature is the view of the Cathedral itself!

Whilst we are located within a contemporary building that sits alongside the historic Cathedral, we do cater for a wide range of guests including both business and leisure stay customers. We do feel that our hotel facilities manage to cater well for both groups, including those staying with us on a bed and breakfast basis. I hope that you found this reflected well from the range of facilities offered and in the bright Refectory where breakfast is served, the relaxing Library area and the beautiful Campanile Garden, which are all made available to our residential guests.

Thank you for your comments and we do hope that you are able to return soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just spent one night at this lovely hotel and would thoroughly recommend a visit. We paid in advance for parking, which meant on arrival we were able to access the grounds of the Cathedral with no problem prior to check-in. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. The room was comfortable (poor shower) and clean and the views were amazing - directly out onto the Cathedral. We found the access in and out of the grounds very easy with the passes supplied by the hotel and it was lovely being able to bypass the long queues, which seemed to quickly build up. Breakfast was very pleasant - restaurant style which makes a change from the usual buffet style and the service excellent. We would definitely return to both Canterbury and this hotel, if only for another lovely boat trip down the river! Can also recommend a lovely restaurant/pub nearby called "The Dolphin" which came recommended from a local bar, don't be put off from the outside as it is well worth the visit and the food delicious - even included a fantastic piano player (Sunday evening). Can't wait to go back.

All in all thoroughly enjoyable trip and would recommend a stay to all.

Room Tip: Must have a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Reviewer

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

Many thanks for the positive and helpful comments for future guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £96 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing