We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, lovely evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful, lovely evening”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in the lodge one night after a cruise because we wanted to see the cathedral. What a lovely, peaceful place to stay! The staff was very helpful (although there's no one to help with baggage) and were able to secure a wheel chair for us through the Welcome Center. The breakfast was good, and the free wifi worked well. The gates to the entire cathedral property are locked at 9 p.m., and you have to have your pass to enter after that time. This keeps the noise to a minimum, and we were able to sleep with the windows open. The room was comfortable, and we had a nice view of the cathedral spires from our window. The spires are lit at night, which is a spectacular view.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are so pleased that you chose to stay with and are delighted that you found it to be a comfortable place from which to visit the Cathedral. Although we do not have a porter, Reception will be pleased to offer assistance if required.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    305
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
159
664
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a really good hotel within the cathedral grounds so very easy access to Canterbury town centre. The only problem we had was actually finding the place, SatNav cannot take you to the published post code due to Canterbury's one way and pedestrian streets. You need to find Burgate from the A28 ring road then turn into a tiny alley on the right just after the Thomas Ingoldsby pub, the security guard will then let you enter the cathedral grounds. We had a great room with view of the cathedral, breakfast was good and the library well worth a look. Added bonus was full access to the cathedral and a 10 or even 20% discount in many of the local cafes, restuarants and catherdal shop.

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend booking parking, it costs the same as the council parking and means you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieCynthia1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for the helpful review for future guests.

Our reservations team are always pleased to provide directions in advance and we usually find it helpful to use the following postcode for SatNav purposes: CT1 3HG. This will indeed take guests to the Burgate, where you take the next available right, following the signpost for the Postern Gate.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel was really, really lovely. I would recommend it to others and stay here again if I ever went to Canterbury to stay overnight.

The good points:
+ Excellent view of the inner courtyard of the hotel and the cathedral
+ Very quiet for the most part (there was one night when the church bells were ringing for a few minutes
+ Spacious bathroom and bedroom
+ Everything looked in great (new) condition and was all well laid out

The only bad point I can think of is that the in the morning it would have been nice to sit outside for breakfast, but the outside tables were all reserved. Very minor point though and to be honest, it really is the only bad thing I can say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and we do hope that you are able to return again in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a good hotel in a great location. Right in the grounds of the cathedral and lovely and quiet with nice gardens. The room itself was fine, nothing special but clean and with a nice view of the cathedral. The room rate includes unlimited access to the cathedral and grounds which is a bonus. The breakfast was good and cooked to order. The staff were friendly. I would recommend it for a stay in Canterbury and you are literally right next door to the main shopping streets too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us when you visited Canterbury, your feedback is much appreciated and we are so pleased to hear that you would recommend us to future guests.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed here with a large group (50+) while on a pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral. We stayed at the Lodge for one week and with regard to the staff and accommodations, everything was wonderful. Front desk staff were always friendly, helpful, solicitous and wanted to do everything they could to be of assistance to our group. The breakfast was absolutely delightful - anything you could possibly want, and cooked beautifully.

The reason this is a 4-star review as opposed to 5 is due to the sleep quality in our rooms, which were the Burgate rooms. Being a European hotel, the Lodge did not have air conditioning, which is fine since Kent is near the coast and usually cool at night. This meant we had to sleep with our windows open. Since the Burgate rooms (located in a separate building in the back of the main lodge) face one of the main streets, we were subjected to drunken revelers screaming outside until midnight or one in the morning.

We had the misfortune to be in town on A-levels results night (Google it if you don't know what it is) so on that evening I was yelling at university students out the window to shut up at around 3 in the morning. I know this is not the direct fault of the Lodge or its staff, but it is a definite drawback if you are looking to stay here. Whatever you do, avoid the Burgate rooms, especially if the university is in session!

Overall, it was lovely, would absolutely stay here again and recommend to anyone I knew who was coming to Canterbury.

Room Tip: Avoid Burgate rooms, whatever you do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing feedback on your recent visit whilst on pilgrimage to the Cathedral. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your group and really do appreciate the time taken to review your stay.

I am however sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed on this occasion. Whilst our Burgate accommodation is also located within the Precincts, one side does also overlook a street and although beyond our control, it is unfortunate that you were disturbed by student celebrations at this time.

We do hope to see you again if you ever return to Canterbury & thank you once again for the recommendation.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at CCL during our visit to Canterbury. We were there for a wedding. There were four adults and 3 toddlers. The hotel accomodated for us really well. We stayed in the 2 bed apartment on the second floor. It was a gorgeous apartment with a kitchen and a small living room too. There was ample space for the kids to run and play. The staff were so helpful from first booking to checkout and very courteous. They brought us extra milk at night for the kids bottles as we had run out and made our stay very comfortable generally.

Will defintely stay there again and would recommend without hesitation.

Thank you to all the staff at CCL.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShahSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and I will be sure to share you kind comments with the rest of the team! We do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Lodge is in the Precincts of Canterbury Cathedral. As a guest you gain access to the Cathedral as often as you like during your stay.

The rooms are smallish but comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV (Freeview). No air conditioning but the windows open and there is a fan that can be used - although a shortage of power sockets could make this a little tricky. The beds are singles or (small) doubles. I found the bed and bedding to be comfortable.

Breakfast is in a pleasant room with options around a continental or an English cooked breakfast ordered from a wide range of items on the menu and freshly cooked and delivered to your table.

Wifi is available - the access instructions are added to your guest card. You need to take this card with you if you leave the site - it will have to be shown to gain readmission.

Limited car parking available on site. The instructions for gaining access could be clarified by pointing out that during the day this is via the Postern Gate (the sign outside indicating that this is for authorised persons only - but that means you provided that you have pre-booked parking).

One of the benefits of this location is that it is quiet and peaceful (as might be expected from the proximity of its neighbour bell ringing practice and choir/organ practice might be noticed until around 21.00).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selsdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing such a glowing review & we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

Please accept my apologies if access to/from the Postern Gate was not clearly explained on this occasion, as we would usually clarify this to all guests who have booked parking with us and are able to send a map to guests in advance of arrival.

We do hope that you will be able to return again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing