We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Excellent choice of hotel when stopping overnight Sunday, after bringing our son down to the university to start his first year.Booked only a couple of days before+ what a find. Brilliant room 302 with ample space for double bed ,settee + 2 chairs. Large bathroom, only drawback no shower due to the sloping ceiling over the bath that soon filled for a relaxing soak before we went out for a meal. Will definitely be staying again several times over the next 3 years. Excellent service throughout from the staff on reception and in the dining room at breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for choosing to stay with on the University run! We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in our Burgate accommodation. If you do prefer a shower next time, please do specify when you book and we will be pleased to allocate a different room if available.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    318
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
166
688
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed overnight at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and booked their 'apartment' room 306 which consisted of a small sitting room, fully functional kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms. Took advantage of the parking options within the cathedral grounds which was invaluable as they are secured at night which is far better than just leaving the car in a cark park in the city.

The apartment was pleasant rather than opulent and does back onto a service road which means there is some noise from outside but not an issue. The beds can be made up as twin or queen double but would benefit from locking together when made up as a double to avoid the two halves drifting apart. Breakfast was in a newish dining room and was very pleasant.

You also qualify for free admission to the Cathedral together with negotiated discounts from various restaurants in the city which we used and worked well plus 10% off in the Cathedral shop. If you go I would suggest you try the Goods Shed or Piccolo's. I will stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: There are two blocks in the older value block there is a road behind which gives some noise also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and so pleased to hear that you plan to return when you next visit Canterbury.

Please accept our apologise if the beds had not been correctly locked together when you stayed and I will forward your comments onto Housekeeping.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Situated within the Cathedral grounds (and with special privileges as guests) this small hotel is absolutely superb. The friendly welcome at Reception after our journey was sincere and much appreciated. Our room was excellent and had views of the Cathedral itself. The service at breakfast was disappointing but the quality of food was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LANGFIELD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time! I am however very sorry to hear that the service at breakfast was not up to our usual high standard, as this is an area where we usually receive very favourable comments. We will certainly investigate further, but I am of course pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Situated in the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, our stay also include free entry into the Cathedral itself.
The rooms are comfy and quiet, not large, but adequate for a couple of nights stay.
The bathroom has a shower and unfortunately no bath, but it is a good shower. Again the shower room is small, but adequate.
Breakfast is very good, a help yourself continental choice, and you order whatever you want cooked.
The rooms on the top floor have better views of the Cathedral.
You need to book your parking space and parking is a little tricky as the parking lines have all but disappeared so there is a lot of wasted space, as cars are nt parked properly. But the security staff found us an alternative spot and we moved our car closer to the hotel later in the day.
A very short walk to the high street, you could not be more central.
The staff are friendly and informative.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolQ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to find that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your comments, which I will of course share with the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Spent 1 night here for my birthday. The lodge is situated right in the centre of Canterbury next to the stunning Canterbury Cathedral which we had wonderful views off from our window.

Staff were very helpful and polite and the breakfast was delicious. Room was quite small but perfectly formed and there is no bath. Very clean and tidy. Well worth a visit plus you get free entrance to the Cathedral and the grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandareLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us! We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the free entrance to the Cathedral whilst staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maldon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Service excellent. Rooms clean. Food lovely. Comfortable stay. Good value for money. Romantic and very historic. A priviledge to be able to stay in such a wonderful place, full of passion and solace. Loved it. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sageff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Such a fantastic review – thank you! We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your enthusiasm with future guests.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely small hotel located on the cathedral grounds, which was quite fun and gives you free access to the cathedral as well as the grounds after hours. Reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was small and plain, but clean, well designed, and had beautiful views if the cathedral from a window seat. Unfortunately, I found the twin bed to be quite uncomfortable and slept poorly. Additionally, the room was very cold at night and changing the radiator settings didn't do anything. Breakfast was good, scrambled eggs really excellent, though the bacon was a bit salty. Overall,I really tried to like this hitel, but slept so poorly I could not. Probably would not stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. Whilst we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed many elements of your stay, I am concerned to hear that you experienced some problems.

Our Housekeeping team do regularly check that the beds are in a good condition, so I am sorry to hear that you did not sleep well on this occasion and I will of course pass on your comments. Temperature can be manually adjusted on the radiators and we have not been notified of any faults with them, however if you had notified Reception during your stay we would have been pleased to investigate and remedy if necessary.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing