We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Millers Arms(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City of Canterbury B&B(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,268)
Filter reviews
1,268 results
Traveller rating
827
336
72
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
336
72
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree entryunique locationcanterbury cathedralmain gatering the belllit up at nightbreakfast was excellentkipperswedding receptionmodern hotelbedroom windowthe heart of the cityeggs benedictfull english breakfastdouble bedstayed for one nightcomfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
825 - 830 of 1,268 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and really appreciated the exceptionally peaceful location. The staff were wonderfully friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our hotel room was small, but perfectly adequate for a short break. We loved the view of the cathedral from our window, and the opportunity to visit the cathedral as often as we liked, included in the price of our stay. We took full advantage of this and visited every day of our three day stay. I liked the toiletries provided, and was impressed that the tea, coffee and sugars were all fair trade. I was pleased to find complimentary shortbread biscuits in our room. I don't eat chocolate so it was nice to find biscuits I could eat, and a lovely touch to find biscuits at all, which don't always feature even in more expensive hotels than this one. Breakfasts had plenty of choice for veggies and the staff at breakfast were also very friendly and helpful. It was a short walk to the hotel from the railway station, and the hotel is also very well situated to enjoy the amazing medieval town. The only reason I have not given a '5' to the hotel is that whenever we turned the shower on (or when people in other rooms turned their showers on) there was a loud squealing noise that lasted for a little while (just while the water was running) before going quiet again. This didn't cause hardly any disturbance, but it was a little alarming at first. It certainly would not put me off staying at this hotel again, though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinTheCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us during your break to Canterbury and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time here.

Please accept my apologies regarding the shower – I can quite appreciate that this would have been a rather unexpected sound. A member of our Reception team are always on hand to resolve any issues and would have been pleased to try to do so if they were aware of the situation. If you would like to contact them and advise of your room number please do so, as we will investigate further to avoid disturbance to future guests.

We have recently upgraded to the handmade biscuits you refer to which are supplied by a local Kentish bakery ‘Bonnie Shortie’, so it is wonderful hear that these are proving popular!

We do hope to see you return soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great hotel and staff very helpful. Full marks. Why stay anywhere else when you can stay on the grounds of England's premier historic site. Great location and could not be more central. Great value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive and succinct review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst visiting Canterbury.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If this hotel was in any other location it would be seen as a purely business 4* hotel with moderately high nightly rates. However it is is within the Cathedral grounds with great views of the building from every window. Being able to go out and within about 30 strides you are looking at one of the most amazing historic buildings in England is quite incredible. The rooms are small but have everything you need. Customer service is top notch and the breakfast was very enjoyable too.

A must visit if not for the location alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank si101London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

We are indeed fortunate to occupy such a spectacular location within the Cathedral precincts, so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed this!

Many thanks for taking the time review your sat with us and we do hope to see you return.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

second visit here. stayed in 112 on ground floor with views of cathedral roof. lots of french visitors, plus peregrine falcon perched on spire.

hotel still of good standard though you pay a premium for the location, which is well worth it.

breakfast staff still need training, this time our toast order got lost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks taking the time to review your second visit to us – we are thrilled to hear you returned again!

We do place a great emphasis on training and are currently in the process of refreshing this with the whole Breakfast team to ensure that our consistently good standards of service are maintained. Unfortunately however errors do occur on occasion, so please do accept my apologies that you toast was forgotten.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you for a third stay in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here to visit our son at University. Initially I was somewhat frustrated that my wife had booked me into a "conference centre"! You know the score! Heavily used rooms, terrible toiletries that you wouldn't even use to clean the loo and the dreaded shower curtain! Only bettered by rubbish stodgy food cooked by a 16 year old with a working knowledge of microwaves!

BUT! Not here in Canterbury!

This place exudes warmth, cleanliness, attention to detail and an amazing breakfast that was cooked to order! No more wet scrambled eggs in some soulless container staying warm accompanied by beans that had become one cement like red covering! Oh no this breakfast was one of the best I have had considering that last week I was IN SF at the Mark Hopkins a true 5 star and this "conference centre" beat it hands down.

From check in to leaving we were made to feel "valued". Our room although small was furnished in modern colours and had everything we needed for a one night stay. The view of the Cathedral was spectacular, especially at night and the WiFi was fast and easy to access for our IPAD.

They make the simple things seem easy and with this central location it is incredibly hard to better. We will stay again soon, although I don't think our son will be best pleased that we are "invading" his University experience. The next time we visit we will stay here and not tell him!

Canterbury Cathedral Lodge you deserve all the plaudits and to the gentleman who offered me his umbrella to help me to the car in a downpour then thank you! That is service you would expect from The Savoy. Well done.

Room Tip: Unless you are at The Abode don't waste your money staying anywhere else in Canterbury. This is much more quiet and in a better location with views!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such kind comments! The team here take great pride in working here and continually strive to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable stay, so we are delighted to hear that this has been the case for you and your wife. We have recently improved and extended our breakfast offering, so your feedback is most helpful when reviewing how well this is being received.

We look forward to welcoming back when you next visit your son.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews