We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Broome Park Hotel(Barham)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$117
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
817
335
71
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
335
71
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree entryunique locationcanterbury cathedralmain gatering the belllit up at nightbreakfast was excellentkipperswedding receptionmodern hotelbedroom windowthe heart of the cityeggs benedictfull english breakfastdouble bedstayed for one nightcomfortable room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
813 - 818 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My boyfriend and I, stayed here for a night early this week for a quick getaway.

The staff are fantastic, they are all extremley polite and attentive. The staff at breakfast were also extremley good (although they did forget the black pudding i ordered!)

The room was good, although a little small it was extremley comfortable and clean and it was so peaceful and quiet.

The location was brilliant, with free entry to the cathedral (must-see) it's absoutley beautiful, and the main highstreet is literally seconds away.

The breakfast was also very enjoyable, and extremley tasty.

I would defenitley return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing feedback on your recent getaway – it is wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please do accept my apologies that your black pudding was forgotten on this occasion – we make sure this is not the case when you return!

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We opted t stay here for the second leg of our 3 part Honeymoon, We were very pleased with our choice. The situ of the hotel is breathtaking, with most rooms benefitting from cathedral views. Hotel clean and tidy with warm, attentive staff,

Rooms are small and slightly overpriced but the location makes up for this shortfall. When you take in to account that you hvae free access to the cathedral and grounds much later than pulic opening you can forgive the price for a small room. That said the rooms were perfectly adequate. we only stayed one evening before moving on but enjoyed ourselves none the less.

Breakfast was lovely with a vast array of continental options and a hot menu.

Pros and many, Cons are minimal but the pillows were not fantastic and the surprising lack of a toilet brush and bath for the room rate. I know a toilet brush is an odd thing to miss but we were surprised with the lack of such an essential.

Perfect location to explore the Catherdral and City.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuddingPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to spend part of your Honeymoon with us!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and were able to appreciate our special location within the Precincts. You are absolutely right that our rates include Cathedral entry and a full English breakfast, so on most occasions with these inclusions, we are actually less expensive than other 4* Canterbury City centre hotels.

Thank you also for your comment regarding the lack of a toilet brush. We continually monitor feedback in order to take on board our guests’ views; however I hope you will understand that we specifically choose not to place a toilet brush in the bathrooms as it is not possible to provide it in a 100% hygienically fresh state for each new arriving guest.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and really appreciated the exceptionally peaceful location. The staff were wonderfully friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our hotel room was small, but perfectly adequate for a short break. We loved the view of the cathedral from our window, and the opportunity to visit the cathedral as often as we liked, included in the price of our stay. We took full advantage of this and visited every day of our three day stay. I liked the toiletries provided, and was impressed that the tea, coffee and sugars were all fair trade. I was pleased to find complimentary shortbread biscuits in our room. I don't eat chocolate so it was nice to find biscuits I could eat, and a lovely touch to find biscuits at all, which don't always feature even in more expensive hotels than this one. Breakfasts had plenty of choice for veggies and the staff at breakfast were also very friendly and helpful. It was a short walk to the hotel from the railway station, and the hotel is also very well situated to enjoy the amazing medieval town. The only reason I have not given a '5' to the hotel is that whenever we turned the shower on (or when people in other rooms turned their showers on) there was a loud squealing noise that lasted for a little while (just while the water was running) before going quiet again. This didn't cause hardly any disturbance, but it was a little alarming at first. It certainly would not put me off staying at this hotel again, though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinTheCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us during your break to Canterbury and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time here.

Please accept my apologies regarding the shower – I can quite appreciate that this would have been a rather unexpected sound. A member of our Reception team are always on hand to resolve any issues and would have been pleased to try to do so if they were aware of the situation. If you would like to contact them and advise of your room number please do so, as we will investigate further to avoid disturbance to future guests.

We have recently upgraded to the handmade biscuits you refer to which are supplied by a local Kentish bakery ‘Bonnie Shortie’, so it is wonderful hear that these are proving popular!

We do hope to see you return soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great hotel and staff very helpful. Full marks. Why stay anywhere else when you can stay on the grounds of England's premier historic site. Great location and could not be more central. Great value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive and succinct review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst visiting Canterbury.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If this hotel was in any other location it would be seen as a purely business 4* hotel with moderately high nightly rates. However it is is within the Cathedral grounds with great views of the building from every window. Being able to go out and within about 30 strides you are looking at one of the most amazing historic buildings in England is quite incredible. The rooms are small but have everything you need. Customer service is top notch and the breakfast was very enjoyable too.

A must visit if not for the location alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank si101London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

We are indeed fortunate to occupy such a spectacular location within the Cathedral precincts, so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed this!

Many thanks for taking the time review your sat with us and we do hope to see you return.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews