We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Canterbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Canterbury”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is the best place to stay in Canterbury. It is within the Cathedral grounds and very quiet. Rooms are not huge, but well equiped. Breakfast is standard but clean, good and also quiet. You stay in a quiet and guarded area in the middle of the city! If you come back after closing hours of the Cathedral grounds, you can ring a door bell and a ward will let you in to the grounds, to walk the lodge.

Room Tip: If you come by car, you can make a reservation for a parking space on the Cathedral Grounds up front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Praise indeed! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciated the time taken to leave a review to assist our future guests.

We do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    316
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
165
685
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Had a short break in the lovely city of Canterbury which was topped of by staying at this exclusive little hotel (within the grounds of the cathedral).
Slightly daunted by having to enter the grounds via a little, easily missed, side street but was overwhelmed by the fantastic welcome we received when checking in.
The room was warm, clean & comfortable with fantastic views of the cathedral.
I don't think I could use this hotel for a romantic break (being so close to HIS house!!).
Breakfast was nice (lots of local Kent produce).
Only downside was the bell ringing early (7ish) in the morning but an additional upside was able to wander round the cathedral grounds exclusively after dark!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemelGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a glowing review! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us whilst visiting Canterbury and do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Delightful location within Cathedral precinct. Lovely view of cathedral from our room (and all rooms?); newly cleaned stone 'glowing' in afternoon sun, and superbly floodlit in evening. Room very comfortable, certainly not large but by no means cramped. Toiletries, tea/coffee etc provided. Would prefer to have net curtains (or equivalent) for a little extra privacy in room. No restaurant but so many good places to eat nearby, including several offering discount to folks staying at Cathedral Lodge. Excellent English breakfast. Parking available in precinct too (at a reasonable charge) though we opted for 24 hour permit to city car parks which lasted us longer the next day. Very helpful staff. No lounge but there is a comfortable library available. Small garden area must be delightful in warmer weather! Hotel guests get free entry to Cathedral, a saving of several pounds.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of cathedral (I think). Upstairs ones probably nicer. All rooms have showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCfromSoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for leaving such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and you are absolutely right that all of the bedrooms in the main l Lodge have a view of the spectacular Cathedral.

Our restaurant does cater for pre-booked groups and at certain times of the year also for individuals, for example festive lunches & dinners, Mother’s Day and other such events (which we advertise on our website). We are also pleased to have arranged the discounts you mentioned at several city centre restaurants for our guests.

We have to agree that in summer the Campanile garden is indeed quite beautiful!

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

What an amazing treat to drive onto the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, park across from the Cathedral, and the enter the Lodge! We arrived very early so our room wasn't ready but we were welcomed, given our key, and oriented to the area. When we returned later our room was ready. The rooms are compact but very well organized and very clean. We were on the first floor. Our room faced the front of the Lodge, a garden, and beyond - the Cathedral. What a view! The room was well supplied with toiletries, coffee/tea maker, and towels (no face cloths, bring your own if you like them). Even though we were near the lobby, there are doors between the lobby and guest hall ways so it's very quiet. The breakfast room was lovely. Breakfast was very good. The buffet was ample and fresh and eggs or kippers could also be ordered. The staff so friendly and helpful. My only suggestion - the windows need sheer curtains in addition to the light blocking ones. I would have appreciated the little extra privacy while still admiring the special view. This is a minor wish considering the uniqueness of this place. While the gates are locked to the public at 9 pm, we only had to show our pass and we were allowed back onto the Cathedral grounds to wander at will and absorb the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zogrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit and I am so pleased to find that you had an enjoyable stay. Although we have no plans at the present time add sheer curtains to the bedrooms, we have noted your comments for consideration next time we are due to refurbish.
We do hope that you are able to stay with us if you return to Canterbury again.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My daughter was sitting exams the following day and I was very worried that we would have a disturbed night as we have experienced at another hotel in Canterbury. I could not have been more wrong. Wonderful room with a 180 degree view of the Cathedral. Great night and really fantastic breakfast. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us when visiting Canterbury and for taking the time to review your experience here.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time and I do hope that the exams went well!

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were staying in Canterbury for one night so consulted Tripadvisor. There was no contest; it had to be Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. The rooms were small but well appointed and the view out of the window at night of the floodlit cathedral was magnificenct. We went out for dinner and on our return had to ring a bell and enter the precinct through an ancient door. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was good. All in all a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebedee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are pleased to hear that Trip Advisor proved to be an effect tool when choosing where to stay in Canterbury and delighted that you had an enjoyable visit. All feedback is greatly appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to review your own stay with us.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattituck, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

While the rooms are not large, and there is little storage space, our 1 night stay at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge was comfortable and enjoyable. We stayed overnight prior to a cruise departing from Dover and it was convenient to the port. The staff was friendly and helpful and the Cathedral is beautiful. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out to the Cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us prior to your cruise and hope that this proved an enjoyable start to the holiday.

Many thanks for your recommendation and if you return to Canterbury we do hope to see you here again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,082 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing