We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Venue, Amazing Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic Venue, Amazing Staff”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had our wedding reception at Canterbury Cathedral lodge. We booked it in February 2013 which is when our experience began. We had Catherine Lucas as our event coordinator. Catherine was absolutely amazing, she happily helped us throughout the whole process even when changed the wedding date and changed the arrangements many times. She answered my endless emails and made the whole process stress free. I cannot thank her enough.
The actual day was even more perfect. It was everything we had wished for, It went without a hitch. The staff were very helpful and attentive and couldn't do enough for us.
We stayed for 3 nights in total in the Burgate Flat which has 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room and bathroom. The flat was much bigger than expected and very comfortable.
Our guests were all very happy with their rooms too and the breakfast was lovely!
Canterbury Cathedral lodge is simply perfect. Perfect setting, lovely rooms and food, and extremely friendly staff. Overall we were extremely happy with our time there, we were overwhelmed with the service we received throughout and will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseJPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
To the Happy Couple,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your experience with us! We are delighted that you choose to celebrate your special day with us and it was an absolute pleasure to help you arrange your wedding reception here.

With very best wishes for the future, from Catherine & the whole team at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    318
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
166
689
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My only complaint about this stay is that it was only for one night and I wish I could have stayed longer! Rare to find a hotel about which you have no quibbles but this is one as the hotel is well located (that's an understatement for the actual site!) and very comfortable. Well thought out rooms with extra touches and serving staff in the restaurant who are obviously silver service trained. Now I've just got to find an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroleburrows9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again when you find an excuse to return to Canterbury!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

As well as being perfectly situated for the cathedral and historic town, being able to park right outside is an added bonus. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and had an outstanding view of the cathedral. Even though our breakfast was a little haphazard with mine arriving after my partners was finished, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R1ch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I do apologise for the late arrival of your breakfast on this occasion, however we greatly appreciate the kind recommendation and are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and location.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Lodge on a recent trip to Canterbury. The Lodge affords great views of the Cathedral especially at night. Our room was spotless and well appointed. We had an excellent breakfast and would recommend anyone thinking of visiting Canterbury and the Cathedral to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuggsieHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your kind comments! We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests and are delighted to find that you had an enjoyable stay here.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Works Christmas do was held at this venue, which is in the centre of the Canterbury Cathedral buildings, stunning and awesome.

One or two little things at the start: drinks were served in the foyer - no seats, I am disabled and use a walking stick. I was very uncomfortable. The foyer was also way too small for the crowd of people who were invited.

The dining room was prettily decorated and the tables were nicely set. The service was military and impressive, managed by one tiny but forceful woman who knew where everything and everyone was......very impressive. But the food was disappointing. Given that it is a major challenge catering for 100+ diners, and making some allowances, it was still a bit meh. My starter was lovely though - nice soft blue cheese, lovely sharp green apple and a truly delicious dressing on the salad. Main course salmon was flavourless and the brussels and accompanying veg were like eating blotting paper. Cheesecake dessert was also mediocre but not unpleasant. I wanted to like it, but couldn't.

Best thing about the evening? Seeing so many people I liked enjoying themselves, and the food didn't really matter!

Top tip: it is shallowly impressive to have hand lotion in the toilets.There was none. A quick and easy way to impress.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Christmas party and we are delighted to hear that you and your colleagues enjoyed the venue.

We are always happy to provide occasional seating during a reception when requested and I am sorry to hear that you were unable to sit down on arrival. Should you have mentioned this to a member of the team we would of course have been pleased to provide seating.

We have received many positive comments throughout this festive season and we were therefore disappointed to read your concerns, but will certainly take your feedback fully into account when preparing next year’s menu choices.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A lovely hotel with very friendly staff. The situation is stunning within the grounds of the Cathedral and a two minute walk to the centre of the old town.. It is lovely to be able to walk around the grounds at nights with no tourists. Our room was very spacious with twin beds and 2 armchairs in the bay window overlooking the garden. However, the walls are thin and I could hear people's tv's and someone snoring in another room. The plumbing also makes some strange sounds. Breakfast was excellent apart from my usual gripe about hotel coffee, it is rubbish, please use a Cafatiere or an Espresso Machine - all hotels that is!
Overall I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carofree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review – we are delighted to find that you enjoyed your stay with us and your recommendation is gratefully received!

All feedback is appreciated and it is one of the ways in which we continue to maintain and improve our service, I will therefore be passing on your comments regarding coffee for future consideration. Please do accept my apologies for any disturbance that you experienced. If you are able to contact our reservations team to advise of your room number, we would certainly be pleased to investigate any issue with plumbing noises.

We do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel was just fantastic. It is in such a beautiful position right next to the cathedral. From your bed at night you can see the beautiful cathedral floodlit. You have access to walk around the cathedral grounds when everyone else has gone home. The staff were friendly and very very helpful. Breakfast was very good indeed. We were recomended to go to eat at several nearby places only a few minutes walk into the town. The one we picked was very good indeed and we got a discount through the hotel. We left the hotel saying we wished we were staying longer and would be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the best view of the cathedral from the bed.....some beds face the other way but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing such a glowing review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to find that you had an enjoyable time here and very much look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,090 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing