We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Privilege to Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Privilege to Stay Here”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday and the whole experience was wonderful.

Fantastic location and very worth paying the extra for parking 'on site'. To be able to just wander round and, on the Sunday morning stroll over to the morning service in the Cathedral surrounded by such history was very special.

Welcoming greeting from reception and the room was perfectly adequate for our needs. Not the top end of hotel luxury but a warm and clean room reflecting a functional purpose. Not much hanging space or drawers but this didn't matter to us. The bathroom was good with large fluffy white towels. Wonderful view when opening the curtains!

Lovely breakfast with friendly atmosphere. All the staff friendly and helpful.

One very very minor observation: the refectory could do with some appropriate blinds! Sitting in front of the big windows in full morning sun it was blinding and somewhat hot. Choose your table accordingly!

A memorable stay and we'll return.

Room Tip: The bedrooms on the 1st floor (numbered 200+) gave a lovely view of the cathedral and would probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badgerisimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It’s wonderful to find that had an enjoyable visit and your comments are greatly appreciated!

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    318
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
166
688
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a lovely little hotel with the Cathedral views as a beautiful bonus. We stayed for one night, booking two rooms, one within the main hotel for my mum and one close by in the other building up some stairs. The price of the room up the stairs was cheaper to reflect this, but we were very happy with it.Friendly, helpful staff, clean, well decorated rooms. It was in an ideal location to visit my son at the university nearby.We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 47SandraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and it is lovely to find that you and your Mum enjoyed your stay with us both in the main Lodge and our Burgate annexe.

We do hope to see you again when you next visit your son.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Lovely hotel, helpful staff great parking spot in the grounds of the Cathedral. Cosy modern rooms. Breakfast was delicious, lovely atmosphere in breakfast room. We did not visit Cathedral even though entrance is included in price of hotel room. Too much else to do in Canterbury, the view of the Cathedral was stunning though, especially beautiful at night.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank stixy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

It’s is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and I do hope that you are able to return and perhaps visit the Cathedral next time.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We only stayed the one night. The room had a fantastic view of the Cathedral, and we had no problems with the room. Very clean.
The breakfast was served by very attentive staff and promoted local produce, very tasty.
All staff we met were professional and courteous, we will definitely be back again soon for more than one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Les1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed the local produce we use and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.

Many thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A fantastic hotel with contemporary, stylish rooms offering fabulous views of the cathedral. Public areas and grounds are tranquil and well presented. The service is efficient, attentive and friendly. Breakfast choice was great and food quality excellent. We opted for the 24 hour parking permit which allows stays in any car park around town. The only slight negative is that there are no baths, only showers, in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: All lodge rooms have views of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mackem64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are delighted to find that you enjoyed your visit here.

You are absolutely correct that the vast majority of our rooms have showers; however for future reference you may wish to book a bedroom in our adjacent Burgate annexe and request a room with a bath at the time of booking.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

What an experience, the room looked out onto the cathedral and gave views of the cathedral especially at night. The room was clean and well presented, no complaints there. Breakfast was very good served by attentive staff. At night when the grounds are secured there was no problem gaining access.
All in all an excellent stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ajg162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

What a review! Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay – many thanks.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

the lodge is a beautiful place to stay and visit both the cathedral and the town, our room was facing the cathedral and gave us a magical view of the cathedral in the sunshine and illuminated at night. at night the lodge is very secure where the access to the cathedral grounds is locked, but attended too by security staff.
Breakfast was held in a fine sunny room each morning and the service and attention by staff was first class; food wasn't too bad either.
Being within the cathedral grounds made us feel very special, especially when attending the Christmas services.
its difficult to fault the lodge in any way, but attention to the windows in our room was long over due, especially where one window couldn't be secured shut. not sure why it hadn't been attended too but was a shame to spoil the perfect location.
cant wait to go back, perhaps for a longer stay next time.
(sorry ticked the swimming pool rating below in error. there isn't a pool, but I cant remove the rating)

Room Tip: a room facing the cathedral is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to spend time with us over the festive period and we are so pleased to find that you had an enjoyable stay. Your review is greatly appreciated and I will certainly forward your comments to the team regarding the window, to be addressed.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing