We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing location next to cathedral. Staff very polite & helpful. Room size & amenities were great & view couldn't have been better. Breakfast the next morning was really tasty & generous portion size. The free cathedral entry & local eateries discount really made this a perfect stay. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 9NMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are always pleased to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and your recommendation is greatly appreciated!

Many thanks for your kind comments and we do hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    309
    67
    20
    10
See reviews for
163
676
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had an awesome stay at this excellent hotel. We had an amazing view of the cathedral and the room was nicely appointed. The staff were extremely friendly, especially the manager. Would very much recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EandC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for the succinct review! Your recommendation is much appreciated & we do hope that you are able to return one day.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Came here on a Friday night for one night. Booked into a value room for 2 with breakfast for just under £90.

By far the best location in the whole of Canterbury as it's in the grounds of the cathedral, for which you get a pass for the stay this is normally around £10 each and as we were going to see the cathedral it already saved us some money by staying here.

Check in was very easy and the staff were excellent, very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

The room was a "value" room and surprisingly very good quality, everything you could need an want from a hotel room, clean, newly decorated or very well looked after, wifi access, flat screen tv and a comfortable if a little small double bed, the only issue was the bathroom door which needs to be rehung and shaved as it was stiff to close. Still canterbury likes to have wonky doors. I have stayed in hotels that charge twice as much and the quality is not that far off in my opinion. Very quiet and restful sleep was held.

We had access to the grounds of the cathedral 24 hours so was great to wander around practically alone, which was outstanding to have this magnificent piece of medieval architecture to ourselves.

The hotel does not have a bar or roo service, but you can sit in the drawing room/library and the staff can bring you whatever you need. I almost felt like a lord of the manor, large leather sofas, floor to ceiling books and very attentive staff.

Breakfast was amazing considering it was all included, options of cooked breakfast and vast continental selection on offer.

I could not fault the hotel, staff or service and if coming back to canterbury this would be my only choice for a place to stay

Room Tip: Had room 316 looking out onto one of the shopping streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for leaving such delightful review! It is wonderful to find that you had such an enjoyable stay and your comments will be so useful for future guests that might be considering booking a value room, to read.

Thank you for making us aware of the issue with the stiff bathroom door – I have flagged this up with our team, who will investigate further.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you return to Canterbury.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Loved this, it's in the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, so you couldn't be more central. The rooms are modern, spotless and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. Cannot fault it, but the location makes it very special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C.Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Such a lovely review! Many thanks & we’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us in the grounds of the Cathedral.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed for two nights to celebrate a special anniversary, and this hotel and its staff helped to make the occasion very special indeed. Obviously, its location sets the tone to a certain extent, but our welcome was cheerfully sincere, and while the routine of check-in was meticulously followed, the receptionist offered information throughout which we subsequently found useful. Just as an example, when we asked for a recommendation of where to eat in the evening, she gave a choice of three, with reasons for trying each, and then trumped the lot by handing us a list of eateries offering discounts to hotel guests. Rooms are clean and adequate, and certainly don't need central heating if you leave the towel rail on! Breakfasts were excellent, starting with really good orange juice (something by which I judge all hotels), very good coffee, and a great selection of food. I am a bit of a kipper addict, and was not disappointed. Mine were cooked in butter and herbs, elegantly presented, and so good I had order one again on the second morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are so pleased that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us and delighted that we could help to make this a memorable stay for you. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to team.

With congratulations & kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Lodge for 2 nights 12-13th April. This was to mark a very special occasion and what a great choice. The location is beautiful and to have the view of the cathedral first in the morning and last thing at night is certainly a sight to behold. The room was very clean with great facilities. The only down side was a very noisy shower. The breakfast is fantastic and great selection. The staff could not be more helpful and overall a truly fantastic stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge! It is wonderful to read that you had an enjoyable stay and your kind comments are much appreciated.

Please do accept my apologies for the noisy shower – if you would like to contact a member of our Reception team to advise of your room number, we will certainly investigate this further.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in Canterbury for a Christmas escape, and chose the hotel for its central location. It's at the heart of the city, but a walled surround leaves the lodge untouched by the hustle and bustle. We initially had concerns about noise from the cathedral bells, but it wasn't a problem, and the views over the building were magical.

The room was on the small side, but perfectly adequate as a place to sleep, and was well equipped with luxury toiletries.

The hotel has some great discount deals with local restaurants and shopping outlets, be sure to check them, we weren't alerted and missed a huge 25% saving, ooops!

However, the friendly and helpful staff made our stay, with special thanks to the fantastic breakfast waiter, who really went out of his way to make us feel welcome.

If we were in Canterbury again we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fneepette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

It is wonderful to read that you had an enjoyable visit with us and I thank you for taking the time to post a review!

We usually provide information such as the discounts we have negotiated for our guests when they check-in, so please do accept my apologies if this was missed – we will ensure that this is flagged up with our team to avoid future disappointment.

We do hope to see you again if you return to Canterbury.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing