We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This lodge is part of the cathedral precinct and has the benefit of being very central to Canterbury but is lovely and peaceful. B&B only but with 35 lovely rooms and an excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiversdaleGrasmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for the kind review of your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location within the Cathedral Precincts and do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    303
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
157
660
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is quite unique in its setting by the cathedral. Rooms are not large but are perfectly comfortable and clean. Very good breakfast service. Completely restful and quiet, which must be very unusual in the middle of a busy town. Do book your parking ahead as there are not many spaces within the cathedral grounds, although there are plenty of parking spots a short walk away.
The range of discounts available in local restaurants and the cathedral shop are a very tangible bonus.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithc519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I am sure that they will also prove useful for future guests seeking a recommendation and helpful advice for a stay in Canterbury.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

One of the best hotels of its class. Great staff, rooms of a top standard, breakfast first class.... and a wonderful location. I really cannot fault it. Will make it my hotel of choice from now on in Canterbury.

PS Do note if driving to take the first right into the grounds as you drive at Burrgate, it is not obvious.... otherwise you have to drive round again

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to post such wonderful review! It is always a pleasure to welcome guests here to the Lodge and we look forward to your return.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

It is hard to imagine how there could be a better place to stay in Canterbury than at the Cathedral Lodge, on the Cathedral grounds. Even if the location weren't enough, the excellent breakfast, the lovely rooms, the fine service and comfortable facilities, including a fascinating library, would do the trick. The city is so amazingly rich in history and beauty and culture and the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a perfect place from which to enjoy it. It added enormously to a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Canterbury and our location within the Cathedral Precincts! Many thanks for your kind comments and we are so pleased that we were able to help to make your visit a memorable one.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I really can't fault this hotel! I've been here 3 times now! The hotel is based within the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral. It is clean, tidy and modern. The rooms are clean, stocked (with iron, ironing board, fan, hairdryer, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser and tea and coffee facilities) and are really comfortable. The views from the rooms facing the cathedral are awesome. The breakfast is cooked to order and there is a good choice of food to choose from. There is free wifi and free entry to the Cathedral, and there is the availability to park in the grounds (although you have to arrange it early as the spaces get full quickly). They have a library/lounge with a huge amount of books in it. The overall feel of the hotel is peaceful and safe, and even though you are really near the high street, you don't feel like you are when you're there, I certainly feel rested every time I've been here. The staff are pleasant, friendly, polite and helpful. They even provide a list of recommended places to eat or drink nearby (some even have a discount if you show your card) on your first stay. They cover pretty much everything you need. Whether you are on a pilgrimage to the Cathedral or in Canterbury for business or pleasure, it is an excellent place to stay - I would DEFINITELY recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't know about the value rooms as I haven't stayed in them, but the main hotel rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a fantastic recommendation & providing some great advice and insights for first time visitors.

We do hope that you are able to return for visit number 4 in the not too distant future!

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A really lovely stay, excellent room with great views of the cathedral, lovely breakfast and friendly staff. Recommend parking inside the grounds if you can especially if you got out in the evening - makes you feel special getting the doorkeeper to open those great wooden gates for you to drive in!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gaxtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Such a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we do hope that you are able to return to stay one day.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The biggest and most obvious advantage that Canterbury Cathedral Lodge has over any other hotel in the area is that it is within the Cathedral grounds (called the Precincts). If the Cathedral is one of your main reasons for visiting Canterbury, the hotel's location is more than a convenience. It means that, as a guest, you have access to the Cathedral grounds at times when the rest of the world is locked out. Being a guest also gives you tickets into the Cathedral, while others must pay. And there other perks, such as discounts at certain shops and restaurants.

But the hotel has merits aside from its superb location. It is a fully modern hotel, with a lift (elevator), wifi, and up-to-date electrical and plumbing. And every room looks out onto the Cathedral. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the included breakfast is abundant and cooked to order, and the rooms, though not huge, are large enough, and many offer king-size beds (called super kings in the UK), which are not so easy to come by outside the US.

We had the bonus of being in Canterbury on Easter Sunday, so we attended the Easter service in the Cathedral at which the Archbishop of Canterbury gave the sermon and conducted the liturgy. But even without that rare gift, Canterbury Cathedral Lodge gets two enthusiastic thumbs up from these two American pilgrims.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyAndWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Easter period and your kind comments are much appreciated. The team here delight in sharing such a special location with our guests, so it is wonderful to read that we get the ‘thumbs up’ from you both!

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing