We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The star of this place is being within 20 paces of the Cathedral door. In the evenings the Cathedral and grounds are your own private garden! The staff, facilities and rooms are classy and homely. A fabulous place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location within the grounds of the historic Cathedral Precincts. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and we do hope that you will be able to return one day.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

For me it was an amazing experience to be staying in Canterbury Cathedral Lodge within the very precinct of historic Canterbury Cathedral. My husband and I couldn't fault the service: from the actual phone booking, to the receptionist on duty guiding us by phone to the hard-to-find street of Burgate, the friendly welcome, attentive breakfast staff, and Reception's responses to our intermittent questions over the couple of nights we were staying there. The young women at reception were charming.
The Lodge is modern with an exterior of lawns and gardens and an interior that is modern, quiet and cosy. It has a library for use of guests.
We were on the first floor with awesome views of the cathedral, which looked particularly magical at night. Our room was delightful - light and airy (always a plus for me) and tastefully finished, with a bolster cushioned window seat that encouraged one to ponder the view of the cathedral, 2 comfortable single beds, a TV, a long desk and wardrobe. The en-suite bathroom was large and had heated towel rails. There were complimentary tea-, coffee- and hot chocolate-making facilities and biscuits.
We were fortunate to have free secure parking right outside the lodge and directly opposite the cathedral.
A bonus is that if you stay at this lodge you have unlimited, free access to the cathedral, and when the precinct is closed to tourists at night, guests of the Lodge still have access to the cathedral grounds.
Breakfast provides a wonderful choice of muesli, cereals and fruit (cooked and fresh); and cooked meals. Jams are from local producers.
Other meals can be obtained from one of the town's many restaurants and cafes that are within walking distance of the Lodge.
A more safe, secure, magical place would be hard to find.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when visiting Canterbury. Your thorough review and kind comments are greatly appreciated and it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit and our facilities within the Cathedral Precincts.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

30 members from Brecon NADFAS used the Canterbury Lodge Hotel as our base for a very successful Kent holiday in May 2014.
I can do nothing but praise every aspect of it. We dealt with delightful staff from the receptionists (one of whom handled the whole booking) to the charming waiters and waitresses, who could not have done more for us.
The situation is gorgeous with every room having a view of the Cathedral, which is safe and quiet at night. The food was excellent and the dinners were particularly good.
Furthermore, it was so convenient to be able to walk out on one's own without needing a coach to shop, go the Marlowe Theatre, have quiet suppers nearby in the myriad of little lanes adjacent to the hotel.
CAnterbury was the perfect venue for touring Kent and we went from Chartwell to Dover and Walmer Castles, from Sissinghurst to Great Dixter and above all, we had a marvellous day in the Cathedral and City, culminating in Evensong in the Cathedral one beautiful evening.
Full marks to everyone and thank you! We had 30 very happy members on our return.

Room Tip: They are all good, though better views of the Cathedral from the first floor rather than the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bumble100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a glorious review. It was an absolute pleasure to host your NADFAS group and so lovely to now read that you enjoyed your time both in Canterbury and throughout the rest of the county.

I will be sure to share you kind comments with the rest of the team.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This is the most magical, beautiful place to stay if you like History or just fancy somewhere different and interesting to stay.

After parking within the grounds of Cantebury cathedral, we were given a pass to gain access into the private grounds and Cantebury Catheral itself.

There are no restrictions on the time you can come in and out of the presink or the Cathedral .

Cantebury is a vibrant buzzing place to stay , ideal for shopping or a perfect base to travel the surrounding area.

The Lodge is a bright , comfortable, place to stay, the staff are friendly the rooms are well equipped and decorated to a high standard. The breakfast was served in a lovely breakfast room , with patio and a good choice of continental and/or cooked breakfast absolutely great .

There is also a private library serving tea and coffee, full of books about kent and the Cathedral history.

Honestly , couldn't fault this hotel, the only thing that I would change is that we stayed there only one night !!

This place is not for you if you like bars and resturaunts serving pretentious meals and drinking , but if you like a really different, classy place to stay and are interested in the heratage of Britain, it's perfect .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADObrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

It has been an absolute delight to read your review! We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the historic City of Canterbury and your stay with us in the Cathedral Precincts.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments and we do hope that you are able to return for longer next time.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The setting and location of The Canterbury Lodge on the grounds adjacent to the historic and awe inspiring Canterbury Cathedral, makes this the perfect place to stay for pilgrims and others wishing to rest and/or explore their faith at the Cathedral. The friendly service at the front desk and in the restaurant is absolutely genuine. Jane Turnbull handled our 20 reservations for May, 2014, and her efficiency and attentiveness to every detail is only outclassed by her sincere desire to do everything that can possibly be done for the comfort of those staying at The Lodge. Kudos to Jane and her very efficient and friendly staff!

The relatively new building is very clean and inviting. The rooms are comfortable, well ventilated, all en suite, well lighted, and very functional. Our shower was a stand alone, single person shower, with a strong stream and plenty of instantly hot water. Unfortunately, the shower stall itself did not have any safety grips (handles) and its floor was slippery, an issue that could be easily remedied with a rubber shower mat.

The kitchen and staff were excellent. Meals were deliciously prepared and served with a smile. A full breakfast was available, made to order from a comprehensive menu. Continental breakfast items are also available.

The gardens at The Lodge were lovely, especially at this time of year (late May). The roses were especially spectacular. The gardens provide an excellent place for reflection and prayer.

The value of The Lodge is excellent, especially since VAT, a full English breakfast and free Cathedral entry, a £10.50 value, is included in the price.
.
Our group of twenty all agreed upon departure that they wish they could have stayed even longer. Thanks to everyone at The Lodge for providing such a fine experience and for paying such close attention to all the details of running a very fine place.





















































Click here to Reply or Forward

Room Tip: Location, location, location, along with terrific service and great value make this the perfect plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesKWinc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive and positive review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you all here and your kind comments are greatly appreciated by all of the team.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our group came to Canterbury mainly to visit the Cathedral and the location of the lodge is excellent. Rooms are comfortable with nice amenities. Breakfast and dinner are served by very friendly staff and food quality is good. Would be excellent for retreats with their very nice gardens offering very tranquil and peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apple_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you stayed with us whilst visiting the Cathedral. Many thanks for taking the time to leave such positive review; your comments are much appreciated.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We got married here last year and came back for our anniversary - it was another perfect stay! Everyone is so friendly and it is a lovely place. Can't wait to go back again - we have already booked our next stay. It is the perfect location!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Congratulations on your recent anniversary! It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay – thank you for choosing to celebrate with us once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £96 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing