We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and quiet with a great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet with a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here to experience something a bit different and i'm glad we did. It costs a bit more than we would normally pay, but obviously the central location and the stunning view go some way towards explaining the cost. The room was very clean and had everything we needed with very comfortable beds. I really enjoyed the breakfast, there was plenty of choice in the buffet area and we were soon asked for our order for cooked breakfast. Portions are rather small, but this is made up for by the amount of cooked food available on the menu. I particularly enjoyed the kipper. There is also a lovely private garden to relax with a coffee afterwards. We paid extra to park on site. Although we were given directions, we still found it very difficult to find the entrance. My only small quibble was the i was quite surprised that upon arrival when we asked at reception about cathedral opening times (as you can enter the cathedral for free if you stay there) the person on reception did not know either when the cathedral closed or when it opened the next day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that breakfast was well received!

Please accept my apologies regarding the confusion of Cathedral opening times. We have recently employed some new members to our Reception team, who are still undergoing training. Access to the Cathedral and Precincts is a highlight for many of our guests, so it is most useful that you have drawn attention to the need to strengthen this knowledge for our new colleagues.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    302
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
155
649
41
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

As many have previously stated, the views from the room are fantastic and the location (if staying in Canterbury) is simply unbeatable. For these two reasons I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it - however, I honestly feel the hotel was average. It was clean, functional and well presented and the staff were very friendly - the room was one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in, and had a standard double bed - I was surprised at how small they were. The ensuite had a shower (no bath). I felt the hotel could have sold itself a bit more - having stayed there the night, I'm still not sure if they serve dinner in the evenings, and I'm unclear about the alcohol situation. There is no bar, and it wasn't until the following morning, I read in the guest info that they serve limited drinks in the library - yet they have a fantastic garden area, but unsure if you could take drinks in there? I think with a few extra touches, this could be a great place to stay- accepting the size of the rooms.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location within the Cathedral precincts. I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review and for forwarding your concerns – feedback is greatly appreciated and is monitored in order for us to continually improve the service and facilities we provide.

All bedrooms in the main Lodge offer en-suite facilities with showers as standard, however if a bath is preferred you may wish to consider a room in our adjacent Burgate annexe (value accommodation) next time, as some of these are equipped with a bath.

Although our restaurant is not open on a daily basis for residents (we cater for pre-booked groups), to compensate for this we have negotiated discounts in several nearby establishments for guests. Our Reception team provide a list of these restaurants & cafes upon check-in and the discount can be obtained upon production of your Cathedral Lodge pass.

You are absolutely right that drinks can be ordered from Reception and served to the communal Library area and when the Campanile Garden is not in use by a private function, guests are most welcome to take refreshments into this space. I do apologise if this was not made clear to you upon arrival, however as you mention this information is contained within the welcome pack in the bedrooms and should you have enquired at Reception, and our team would have been only too pleased to advise you.

I do hope that you are able to return when you next stay in Canterbury.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very comfortable room with lovely window seat and cushions; good shower, access to a beautiful garden - good to stay somewhere which isn't a bland hotel, is relatively small, and has nice personalised features, especially at the very heart of a city full of tourists.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

great place to stay we got parking inside the grounds as well small fee $5.00
make sure you get good instructions as to how to get in we arrived a little late and didnt realise at first you can drive down the streets of central canterbury but once in great place It was really good being right there and able to walk out the gates into the town anytime felt very safe
We had a great room with a view of the cathedral breaky was standard english we had been away for a while so a little sick of bacon eggs and sausages no ones fault though maybe a big hotel could get a little more creative

Room Tip: ask for a view and very clear directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndajane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to find that you enjoyed our location within the Cathedral precincts. Our breakfast does include a wide Continental offering, so I do hope that you were able to find a suitable alternative to the cooked option.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very warm welcome despite a late-evening arrival after a transatlantic flight at this lovely lodge on the grounds of the incredibly historic Canterbury Cathedral. The first glimpse of the Cathedral lighted at night was awesome. Easy to book reservations via internet. Spacious, welcoming room with two single beds which could be pushed together if needed. Comfortable chair and seating area, and three huge windows which opened. View of the magnificent Cathedral and lovely grounds right outside this ground-floor room. Nice modern bathroom, good toiletries provided, plenty of good towels, invigorating shower. Carpeting, TV, phone, all the usual amenities. I also could detect the faint aroma of lovely fresh new wood within the building.
I had a wonderful night's rest, as it was almost totally silent. Comfortable bed and linens, and the curtains shut out the light. Had I slept late enough the next morning, after my long flight, I would have bee awakened by the sound of the Cathedral's morning bells - I did hear them faintly, later when I was up, and it was beautiful.
There is a generous and varied English breakfast included with the room, but I did not have anything to eat on this trip, so can't rate it. It sure smelled good, however!
The Canterbury Cathedral itself is about a two minute walk out the back door of the Lodge, and the stay at the Lodge includes admission to the Cathedral, a nice extra!
Front desk ladies were extremely helpful, welcoming, warm and friendly, and courteous. I needed a cab to another lodging when I checked out, and they made a call and had a very nice taxi and driver there for me within minutes.
I highly recommend this peaceful, new bed and breakfast and look forward to another stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewWorld2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review – love the title! We always look forward welcoming guests to the Lodge so it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

I do hope that you had a pleasant onward journey and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I great place to stay. Staff were incredibly helpful over the phone when i was lost driving around Canterbury, and then a very warm welcome at Check in. Parking right outside the door also. The room was very pleasant and even a budget room still had views over the Cathedral. Security at night were very helpful as the gates shut at 9pm and the breakfast staff were great!!

All in all a wonderful stay, will definitely stay again some time

Room Tip: I went for a budget room which was slightly cheaper as it didnt have views over the Cathedral. Coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James-Chelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I am pleased to hear that our Reception team were able help you navigate here!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The star of this place is being within 20 paces of the Cathedral door. In the evenings the Cathedral and grounds are your own private garden! The staff, facilities and rooms are classy and homely. A fabulous place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location within the grounds of the historic Cathedral Precincts. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and we do hope that you will be able to return one day.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing