We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The location is perfect for the Cathedral and city centre. The room was very good - my only minor quibble is that the shower had seen better days. But it was clean. Staff were friendly; breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exshrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review here. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; however if you are able to contact us to let us know which room you stayed in we would like to investigate your comment regarding your shower.

With many thanks,

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    305
    67
    18
    10
See reviews for
159
666
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Worked well for us for an overnight visit to Canterbury. The hotel is in the Cathedral precincts and our room had a good view. Fortunately parking in the precincts was also available and included in the price, as was entry to the Cathedral. We took advantage of a special offer so this represented excellent value. You cannot help feel this is primarily a conference centre rather than a hotel but it is comfortable, the accommodation adequate and the the staff friendly. The hotel arranges discounts at local restaurants as it does not serve dinner, but the breakfasts are good. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martingpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review, and for recommending your experience to others. We aim to offer a comfortable stay to all our guests, whether leisure or business, and hope you will agree that the hotel strikes the right balance of this.

I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of our restaurant discounts and your pass to the Cathedral. It would be a pleasure to host you here again.

With thanks and kind regards,

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge in May 2014 and had a wonderful few days. The Lodge is also an International Student Centre and Conference Facility, but has lovely accommodation, which can be booked separately, without any particular link to the Cathedral.

Where we stayed, in the older part of the accommodation, a view of the Cathedral was not guaranteed, but when we entered our room, there was the majestic building, bathed in sunshine, towering over the low roofs of the Conference Centre.

The room and en-suite were clean and more than adequate. The staff were helpful and accommodating, without being obsequious, just striking the right note - really lovely.

Breakfast was fantastic from start to finish. Perfect in every way. The best breakfast I have had for a long time. We stayed for four nights and breakfast was superb each morning.

Guests were given a pass for entry into the busy Cathedral whenever they wished and we had to use the pass to gain entry back into the Cathedral Precincts at night. It became a highlight of our stay to walk through the gate at night, into the quiet of the precincts and sit on a bench, admiring the beauty of the floodlit Cathedral, with hardly anyone else around.

I would recommend a stay at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge unreservedly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

What can I say, what a fantastic review! Our accommodation in our Burgate building does not guarantee a Cathedral view, however I am delighted that you were able to experience this, and that your stay overall met all your expectations.

I do hope that you are able to return here soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Situated inside the Cathedral precincts with stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral is this friendly, down to earth lodge, surrounded by calm, attractive gardens. It's a modern conference centre with accommodation, owned by the Cathedral authorities. The rooms have simple, traditional decor but are very light and clean, with good bathrooms. More like a very upmarket and comfortable hall of residence than a formal hotel, it has a quiet, relaxed atmosphere with charming, helpful staff. There's a lift to each floor, free wifi and parking available if you book (you'll need a clear map to find the tiny back street entrance to the car park). There's a cosy library/sitting room with comfy sofas. An excellent buffet/cooked breakfast is provided in a light and airy refractory. Ask for a room with a view of the Cathedral - it"s spectacular. We sat in the garden enjoying the wonderful private view in the evening, after all the tourists had left. At around £110 a night B&B for a double room with view, it's good value and includes free entry to the Cathedral, otherwise £10.50 per person. As it's right in the heart of Canterbury, there's a wealth of restaurants close by. Try Deesons Restaurant just outside the Cathedral gate - a very popular and informal British bistro style restaurant.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback here. Your comments speak for themselves, so let me just thank you for this comprehensive appraisal of your stay and your experience of the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you here again on your next visit to Canterbury,

With thanks and kind regards,

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is the perfect place to stay in Canterbury, if like us, you want to enjoy the Cathedral and it's surrounds. Perfect if you want to attend services or if you don't. If you are lucky enough to secure parking within the precincts then that is a bonus. It may be a little expensive, especially as it is only B& B, but it is worth it for the convenience, and to be able to wander the precincts when everyone else has gone home. The breakfast choice is excellent and the service friendly
They do host outside functions, of which there were two during our stay, but it didn't detract, One had a disco for an evening wedding reception, but it finished at a reasonable hour. We were there during a thunderstorm , which was spectacular!

Room Tip: As far as I am aware, all rooms have a Cathedral View and come with all the usual excellent faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. We are indeed lucky in our location, and I am so pleased that you were able to take full advantage of this during your stay.

Functions are indeed held here, and I am pleased that you were not disturbed by these as we aim to give a comfortable experience to all parties staying or celebrating here.

Finally, we couldn’t agree more regarding the thunderstorm – the view of the Cathedral from bedroom windows with the storm overhead was indeed spectacular!

With many thanks,

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked this hotel as we were attending a friends wedding just outside of Canterbury that didn't have any accommodation. This appealed as it was in the centre of town so we thought would be easy to get to and for taxis. Unfortunately it was quite difficult to find using sat-nav even with the giveaway of the cathedral looming over you. When we did check in early (which we were grateful for as we had wedding clothes to change into on a very hot day) we then got a taxi booked for us and had to move our car as there was no room inside the grounds due to graduations going on (and you couldn't advance book this either online). The receptionist gave us a ticket so we could use the local car park...the taxi driver followed us here but there was no space so he showed us another car park which we had to pay for and also made us late to the wedding which was embarrassing but I guess couldn't be helped.
We got back to the room in the early hours (again the taxi firm were good and knew an easier entrance where you had to push a bell for security to let us in). The room was very hot even with all the windows open (which was noisy due to someone playing a radio until 1.30am below us) and also the thunderstorms that hit at about 4am!! The bathroom was huge and had a decent shower. Breakfast the next morning was lovely with hot and cold options however but we were too tired to take advantage of the cathedral visit we could have done.
Would love to visit again under less time pressured and cooler circumstances!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room in the hotel unless you don't mind noise/no wifi and climbing stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. I am sorry to hear about your problems locating a parking space. Unfortunately during Graduations week the Cathedral is indeed a very busy place, both inside the Cathedral grounds and generally in the city. Fortunately this does only affect the city one week out of the year, however I am sorry that this affected you on this occasion.

I am pleased to see that you are able to check in early, which we will try to do if the bedroom has been cleaned. I am disappointed by the comments regarding the heat of the room; whilst it was a very warm evening I hope that you were able to use the room fan, as every bedroom does have a fan included. Should you have any problems using this, Reception will be happy to help.

I do hope that we will have another opportunity to host you, and that you can then take time over your Cathedral visit.

With best wishes,

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Despite living in Kent, I had never been to Canterbury until I treated my girlfriend for her birthday as she's aways wanted to go to the Cathedral. Though the price of the rooms may be a little pricey, you certainly get what you paid for!

We got room 214 which looks out to the Cathedral, though I'm not sure if every room or most rooms do the same. The view was amazing and as it's summer, the fact that it stays light for later means you get to enjoy the wonderful view for even longer.

The staff are all very friendly and guests are free to look in the library and take an apple from the front reception. The bedroom was pristine and the beds are so comfy!

Breakfast the following morning was delightful as well. They have cute little jam jars, the butter is made pretty, you get teapots for hot chocolate, fresh apple juice, various selection of cereals and/or cooked breakfasts. Again, all the staff were lovely and friendly.

If I was to find any sort of fault with this place it would be that the shower is a bit small and for some reason the water went cold for a brief second on a few occasions. But that really is very minor as both my girlfriend & I enjoyed our little stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoshoChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. What a lovely idea for treating your girlfriend – I am so pleased that the stay was everything you had hoped for and they she enjoyed this gift.

Your comments on our breakfast have been passed on to our chef, and thank you for taking the time to give us this positive feedback.

We will ensure that the water temperature in the shower of 214 is checked, and I hope that this did not detract from your overall experience here.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the next special occasion,

With best wishes,

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing