We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived after a long journey from France having never visited Canterbury before to a hotel with the most amazing view of Canterbury Catherdral. The welcome we received at reception was good; informative and polite, and we were given specific details about the parking and access to the hotel which was very helpful. The room was fine, but I was disappointed to find that the cleanliness in the bathroom was lacking- dusty towel rail and side, mouldy-looking grout and, worst of all, hairs in the shower tray and on the shower wall, which was off putting to say the least.
The view from our room was spectacular, especially with the cathedral lit up at night, and we took a peaceful stroll around the grounds that evening.
I think this hotel benefits from its beautiful surroundings, as I would definitely stay again just for the convenience of the location and how lovely Canterbury turned out to be!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay here in Canterbury. We are indeed lucky to enjoy such splendid views, for which the building was designed to take full advantage of.

I am concerned to read your comments regarding your bathroom, and can assure you that an inspection will be carried out. I hope that this did not detract from your otherwise very positive stay here, and hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you here in the future.

With kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had a hard time locating the hotel. Rachel in reception was very helpful and patient. Make sure you reserve a parking space inside the cathedral grounds other wise parking is far.
Room was a nice size, clean, and comfy. Bed too soft for my taste.
Very recommended

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S_1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had troubles locating us, and recommend that guests who are unfamiliar with Canterbury print off the directions document given at time of booking if possible. If you have booked through an external provider please do not hesitate to contact us if you require further directions. I am pleased that Rachel was able to assist you, and all of our Receptionists will be more than happy to do so.

Due to our situation inside the Cathedral Precincts, parking spaces are limited and need to be booked in advance. However, please be assured that the nearest public car park is situated on the outer wall of the Cathedral Precincts, very close by. Parking permits offering reduced pricing on public parking are available from Reception. We do recommend that guests drive into the Cathedral Precincts to check in and collect their permits; the Reception staff are happy to give a more comprehensive map and directions to outside parking.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you here again,

With kind regards,

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was going to give this a four rating, but the way I feel today, so tired, it's lucky it's getting a two. First the good points.

The hotel is located in the grounds of the cathedral, right in the centre of Canterbury. So you get to park your car inside the wall and look around the cathedral and grounds for free (entrance fee is £10.50). The quality of the building and materials is high, oak instead of pine or MDF. The use of its own garden is nice and peaceful. Of an evening we sat in the library and chatted in comfy chairs. Very relaxing.
Breakfast was good, slipping up only on the citrus fruit tasting slightly 'fizzy'. this is usualy as a result og new food being added to the previous day's leftovers. The rest of the food was really nice. Where you eat your breakfast is lovely and bright. At all times the staff are helpful. I would employ all of them.
The rooms are small, possibly too small. Think of a student room and you won't go far wrong for size. OK for one person, but two, well, no, it's just meant for one person. The bed was far too small for two people. Again it reminded my wife and I of being students. However, being in our forties, we like a bed you can lie flat out on in your own space and get a good night's sleep. And this is where I am now, shattered because the bed was too small to get much sleep.
The whole place is quiet.

Room Tip: Stay on your own, not as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlyderFawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our unique location within the Cathedral precincts. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, this will be shared with the team.

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t sleep very well. Please be assured that all Double Bedrooms in the main Lodge and Burgate Annexe have standard 4’6 double beds. However, it may be of interest that our Twin Bedrooms have two standard single beds which can be zip and linked together to create a wider king-sized bed. Our Receptionists will be happy to discuss bedroom options with you at the time of booking.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the Cathedral Lodge for a more relaxing stay,

With kind regards

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The location is perfect for the Cathedral and city centre. The room was very good - my only minor quibble is that the shower had seen better days. But it was clean. Staff were friendly; breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Exshrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review here. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; however if you are able to contact us to let us know which room you stayed in we would like to investigate your comment regarding your shower.

With many thanks,

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Worked well for us for an overnight visit to Canterbury. The hotel is in the Cathedral precincts and our room had a good view. Fortunately parking in the precincts was also available and included in the price, as was entry to the Cathedral. We took advantage of a special offer so this represented excellent value. You cannot help feel this is primarily a conference centre rather than a hotel but it is comfortable, the accommodation adequate and the the staff friendly. The hotel arranges discounts at local restaurants as it does not serve dinner, but the breakfasts are good. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martingpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review, and for recommending your experience to others. We aim to offer a comfortable stay to all our guests, whether leisure or business, and hope you will agree that the hotel strikes the right balance of this.

I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of our restaurant discounts and your pass to the Cathedral. It would be a pleasure to host you here again.

With thanks and kind regards,

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge in May 2014 and had a wonderful few days. The Lodge is also an International Student Centre and Conference Facility, but has lovely accommodation, which can be booked separately, without any particular link to the Cathedral.

Where we stayed, in the older part of the accommodation, a view of the Cathedral was not guaranteed, but when we entered our room, there was the majestic building, bathed in sunshine, towering over the low roofs of the Conference Centre.

The room and en-suite were clean and more than adequate. The staff were helpful and accommodating, without being obsequious, just striking the right note - really lovely.

Breakfast was fantastic from start to finish. Perfect in every way. The best breakfast I have had for a long time. We stayed for four nights and breakfast was superb each morning.

Guests were given a pass for entry into the busy Cathedral whenever they wished and we had to use the pass to gain entry back into the Cathedral Precincts at night. It became a highlight of our stay to walk through the gate at night, into the quiet of the precincts and sit on a bench, admiring the beauty of the floodlit Cathedral, with hardly anyone else around.

I would recommend a stay at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge unreservedly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

What can I say, what a fantastic review! Our accommodation in our Burgate building does not guarantee a Cathedral view, however I am delighted that you were able to experience this, and that your stay overall met all your expectations.

I do hope that you are able to return here soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Situated inside the Cathedral precincts with stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral is this friendly, down to earth lodge, surrounded by calm, attractive gardens. It's a modern conference centre with accommodation, owned by the Cathedral authorities. The rooms have simple, traditional decor but are very light and clean, with good bathrooms. More like a very upmarket and comfortable hall of residence than a formal hotel, it has a quiet, relaxed atmosphere with charming, helpful staff. There's a lift to each floor, free wifi and parking available if you book (you'll need a clear map to find the tiny back street entrance to the car park). There's a cosy library/sitting room with comfy sofas. An excellent buffet/cooked breakfast is provided in a light and airy refractory. Ask for a room with a view of the Cathedral - it"s spectacular. We sat in the garden enjoying the wonderful private view in the evening, after all the tourists had left. At around £110 a night B&B for a double room with view, it's good value and includes free entry to the Cathedral, otherwise £10.50 per person. As it's right in the heart of Canterbury, there's a wealth of restaurants close by. Try Deesons Restaurant just outside the Cathedral gate - a very popular and informal British bistro style restaurant.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ShanM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback here. Your comments speak for themselves, so let me just thank you for this comprehensive appraisal of your stay and your experience of the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you here again on your next visit to Canterbury,

With thanks and kind regards,

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £96 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing