We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I had to stay here at short notice for one night on 18th August due to a mix up at a nearby hotel.
The receptionist could not have been nicer or more helpful. She is a credit to the establishment and a great ambassador for them.
The room was more than adequate, similar to a premier inn. Bed extremely comfortable and with plenty of room to work at a desk.
Iron and board supplied in the room without necessitating room service.
Breakfast good and service efficient .
Staff on check out were likewise friendly and easy to seek advice from.
Good discount deals with local restaurants on offer.
Mention also to the security guards at the gate to the precincts. They were a delight to deal with, helpful and professional .
A surprising place to stay on business.
Ou drawback was wifi not working and only one spare socket I could locate for use.
Well done

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank dcweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had a 'faultless' experience with us and will pass your kind comments on to our Reception team.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced a problem with the WiFi. Please be assured that we will always try to rectify any problem as soon as possible, therefore any guest experiencing a problem such as this should contact Reception to ensure we are aware of this. I am pleased that this did not affect the enjoyment of your overall stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge soon,

With kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a trip to Canterbury staying at the lodge, this is within the grounds of the Cathedral and gives you unlimited access to the Cathedral too. The lodge is very comfortable and clean, relaxing with friendly helpful staff. Breakfasts are tasty and plenty and lots of choice, although you must ask for exactly what you want on yr plate, as you will only get what you ask for ie if you want scrambled egg with toast say so and how many slices as you will only get the egg if you just ask for scrambled egg! When you walk out of the lodge the Cathedral faces you and no you are not disturbed by the 'bells' these do ring but at reasonable times and not before 8 am. When you leave the grounds you are in the centre of Canterbury with its' varied shops, cafés and restaurants.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from reception or the lift if you want total quiet from people traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to host you here and we hope you will return again soon.

with kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed overnight for a friends wedding reception which was being held at the Lodge. The location was perfect, room was lovely overlooking the courtyard with views of the Cathedral and had everything needed, although the bathroom was quite small with only a shower rather than a bath. Reception staff were good and provided some ideas for lunch in the centre. Breakfast in the morning was nice with a choice of menu. A bonus is that you get to go into the Cathedral for free!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding reception, and hope you will come back to stay with us again soon.

With kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived after a long journey from France having never visited Canterbury before to a hotel with the most amazing view of Canterbury Catherdral. The welcome we received at reception was good; informative and polite, and we were given specific details about the parking and access to the hotel which was very helpful. The room was fine, but I was disappointed to find that the cleanliness in the bathroom was lacking- dusty towel rail and side, mouldy-looking grout and, worst of all, hairs in the shower tray and on the shower wall, which was off putting to say the least.
The view from our room was spectacular, especially with the cathedral lit up at night, and we took a peaceful stroll around the grounds that evening.
I think this hotel benefits from its beautiful surroundings, as I would definitely stay again just for the convenience of the location and how lovely Canterbury turned out to be!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay here in Canterbury. We are indeed lucky to enjoy such splendid views, for which the building was designed to take full advantage of.

I am concerned to read your comments regarding your bathroom, and can assure you that an inspection will be carried out. I hope that this did not detract from your otherwise very positive stay here, and hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you here in the future.

With kind regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had a hard time locating the hotel. Rachel in reception was very helpful and patient. Make sure you reserve a parking space inside the cathedral grounds other wise parking is far.
Room was a nice size, clean, and comfy. Bed too soft for my taste.
Very recommended

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S_1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had troubles locating us, and recommend that guests who are unfamiliar with Canterbury print off the directions document given at time of booking if possible. If you have booked through an external provider please do not hesitate to contact us if you require further directions. I am pleased that Rachel was able to assist you, and all of our Receptionists will be more than happy to do so.

Due to our situation inside the Cathedral Precincts, parking spaces are limited and need to be booked in advance. However, please be assured that the nearest public car park is situated on the outer wall of the Cathedral Precincts, very close by. Parking permits offering reduced pricing on public parking are available from Reception. We do recommend that guests drive into the Cathedral Precincts to check in and collect their permits; the Reception staff are happy to give a more comprehensive map and directions to outside parking.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you here again,

With kind regards,

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was going to give this a four rating, but the way I feel today, so tired, it's lucky it's getting a two. First the good points.

The hotel is located in the grounds of the cathedral, right in the centre of Canterbury. So you get to park your car inside the wall and look around the cathedral and grounds for free (entrance fee is £10.50). The quality of the building and materials is high, oak instead of pine or MDF. The use of its own garden is nice and peaceful. Of an evening we sat in the library and chatted in comfy chairs. Very relaxing.
Breakfast was good, slipping up only on the citrus fruit tasting slightly 'fizzy'. this is usualy as a result og new food being added to the previous day's leftovers. The rest of the food was really nice. Where you eat your breakfast is lovely and bright. At all times the staff are helpful. I would employ all of them.
The rooms are small, possibly too small. Think of a student room and you won't go far wrong for size. OK for one person, but two, well, no, it's just meant for one person. The bed was far too small for two people. Again it reminded my wife and I of being students. However, being in our forties, we like a bed you can lie flat out on in your own space and get a good night's sleep. And this is where I am now, shattered because the bed was too small to get much sleep.
The whole place is quiet.

Room Tip: Stay on your own, not as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlyderFawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our unique location within the Cathedral precincts. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, this will be shared with the team.

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t sleep very well. Please be assured that all Double Bedrooms in the main Lodge and Burgate Annexe have standard 4’6 double beds. However, it may be of interest that our Twin Bedrooms have two standard single beds which can be zip and linked together to create a wider king-sized bed. Our Receptionists will be happy to discuss bedroom options with you at the time of booking.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the Cathedral Lodge for a more relaxing stay,

With kind regards

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The location is perfect for the Cathedral and city centre. The room was very good - my only minor quibble is that the shower had seen better days. But it was clean. Staff were friendly; breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Exshrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review here. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; however if you are able to contact us to let us know which room you stayed in we would like to investigate your comment regarding your shower.

With many thanks,

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £98 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel and conference venue situated in the inspirational grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in the heart of the city of Canterbury, Kent. Renowned for stylish and comfortable hotel accommodation with stunning views of the Cathedral and a superb conference venue for meetings, conferences, events and wedding receptions. The Cathedral Lodge offers the best located hotel accommodation in the city. Guests enjoy going to bed and waking up the next morning enjoying the wonderful view of the Cathedral from their bedroom window. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing