We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at 'NO' other hotel than Canterbury Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at 'NO' other hotel than Canterbury Lodge”
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We came as an overnight birthday treat and my what a treat it was. My only 1 regret was that we did not stay longer. On arrival we walked to the lodge which is not far at all from the station or city centre. We could not believe our eyes as we were getting closer to the lodge. I nudged my partner and asked if we were in the right place. We were greeted with affection and kindness and our booking was dealt with such speed. The reception is amazing with a small but well decorated area and seating. The library was quaint and comfortable, a nice spot to have an evening drink or read and socialise with other guests. We entered our room and were breath taken by the décor, small room for two but extremely cosy and exceptionally clean. We had a wonderful outstanding view of the Cathedral from our window and at night the cathedral is lit up so looks spectacular through the window of our room whilst in bed. We walked around the town at night and had to use a different entrance after a certain time. We found the door and rang the bell, security promptly opened the door, we showed our pass and in we went. We spent a late night in the library to read and talk, the man on reception at night was lovely and knowledged about the area. A wonderful quiet night sleep, the bells from the cathedral were refreshing to hear in the morning and breakfast was fresh and hot(continental only). On leaving we had regrets to go but vowed to come back. Well done all at the lodge for making our stay one of the best yet.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fossilblip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    309
    67
    20
    10
See reviews for
163
675
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Masham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The location is what makes this hotel superior to a Travelodge - the rooms and breakfast are pretty much the same. It's a pity, because better service could match the location, especially a good range of cooked breakfasts - there seemed to be plenty of staff in the kitchen, so hardly any extra cost for the hotel to provide this.
We were also disappointed that a wedding party in the nearby conference centre were allowed to make noise until midnight on Sunday - spoiling the tranquility and atmosphere. Also, parking should be made available within the precinct - there seemed to be plenty for staff and wedding guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Great Place to stay . The place with impress everybody , not just the spiritual, with its peaceful location withing the Cathedral Grounds . At night - when you return and the Cathedral grounds are closed - you need to ring a doorbell so they let you in through a medieval - fun after a pub crawl

Liked:
- spacious pleasant rooms - nice use of wood everywhere to match the cathedral environment
- well designed window ledge so you can just hang out and look at the cathedral from you room at night
- good wiFi

Disliked:
- limited options for healthy food at Breakfast and very weak coffee

Tip:
Book the parking option on their web when coming by car. all the directions on the web are helpful - it is still difficult find once on "Burbank" . Ask around once in the correct street rather than drive around aimlessly through the pedastrian area

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scaftworth
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed one night on business/leisure.
Excellent location & £65 per room per night including continental breakfast & parking & entrance to cathedral & 10% off restaurant bill, meant cheapest/best stay in Canterbury (ever).
Normally stay in Abode, which is a good hotel, but poor parking arrangements, noisy at night, & expensive at £95 + £5 parking (if you can get in which is a lottery) + £15 breakfast etc

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidrboyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

You can believe all the previous reviews of the lodge. This is a unique experience to stay within the grounds of the Cathedral. Book early and be sure of a free parking space by the hotel. No restaurant except for continental breakfast that was adequate. Many restaurants nearby. Modern design, in sympathy with the location, fairly new building, well maintained, clean, and very comfortable standard. Very good value for money. Includes free access to Cathedral. Canterbury is a beautiful city well worth visiting. If you are on a tight budget there is a cheaper annexe.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan49Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My husband and I have just returned home feeling PRIVILEGED to have spent a three night break at the SPECIAL and UNIQUE Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. The Lodge is located within the Cathedral precincts and therefore very secluded and safe whilst only literally a step away from the city centre shops, cafes, superb restaurants and tourist information office. The plan of the lodge and décor of the rooms are sympathetically designed and decorated so as not to detract from the significance of the location and everywhere is clean. We were greeted on arrival by a very welcoming lady on reception called Steph who was always happy to be our concierge and a friendly ear for our city adventures. Breakfast in the Refectory at the Lodge whilst continental is ample. Other bonuses of being a Lodge guest is free unlimited entry into the Cathedral and discounted meals at the very superb Deeson’s restaurant, Strada and the Thomas Becket pub all just outside the precinct gates. Parking in the Cathedral precincts is not as limited as you may think and we had no problems parking during our stay once pre-booked. It was lovely being able to bypass the queues of visitors during the day to the Cathedral and experience the romance of the Cathedral close-up after dark.
Sorry, but I really should highlight a minor point about the Lodge: the shower is awfully compact and my own personal preference is I would have preferred a vending machine at breakfast for lattes rather than coffee poured into a cold pot then into a cold tea cup creating a tepid morning brew – but that’s just my preference as I am sure the majority of guests will enjoy being served coffee and tea in the appropriate pots.
A very special place indeed and EVERYONE should stay at least once at the Lodge because NOTHING COMPARES…

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, and it was great to be able to park our car in the Cathedral grounds and leave it there whilst exploring Canterbury. The setting is spectacular, and the lodge buildings are really lovely. The decor and fittings are really elegant throughout the hotel , and our room had a window seat to maximise the Cathedral views.

Wi-Fi access worked well for me in our room, and the reception staff were all very pleasant. There is no lounge but a comfortable library room.

The open and airy restaurant room is for breakfast only, which is a nicely done but a fairly basic buffet offering. There is a charming garden with lovely views and mature walnut and mulberry trees amongst the plants.

The whole place has a serene feeling, so a great venue if you want to chill-out!

There is no bar, room service or dinner facilities. This was fine for us, and adds to the character of the place. Perhaps this is a disadvantage for solo travellors that like to eat-in.

We hugely enjoyed our stay here, and would come again without hesitation.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing